12 Reviews

Great healthy soup. Had all the ingredients on hand. Easy and delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Imagenie April 13, 2010

KITTEN OH KITTEN********** This soup is top of the ritz excellant.. how I haven't seen It before is a mystery .. The flavor, texture, taste of soup is beyond description. The only thing i didn't use was spinach... We don't like spanich at all.. I would give this a million stars if I could.. Nita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl April 10, 2010

Good, basic soup. Made as is, leaving out only the cayenne. It was tasty with some bread for supper. Thanks! Edited to add: Actually even better the next day as leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 February 28, 2010

This is a very tasty soup. I liked adding the potatoes to thicken it up. I made as written, except forgot to put the Parmesan on the table to top it. :) I will try it again with some egg noodles, as suggested. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey February 08, 2009

The soup was very tasty but I will try cooking it without the spinach (I used a whole package) next time because mine didn't look as nice as the photos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DJoy July 31, 2007

Very yummy indeed, and just the thing on a cold winter's night. I cooked as per recipe using Kittencal's Best Homemade Chicken Stock (which is fantastic by the way), the only difference was that I added more vegetables, as I had a a pack of soup stock vegetable's waiting to be used in the fridge, and this was just the thing to use them up with! I also used some tiny little noodles I had bought last week (the type that come in chicken noodle soup packs) The family don't usually like soup, but I noticed they were hovering around the pot when I was making it, because the smell was so good when it was cooking and DS kept asking when it would be ready, so that was a good sign to start with!! They loved it, so thick, so warming and so delicious. Perfect served with crusty fresh bread or rolls!!! YUMMMY!!!!!!!!! Thanks Kittencal, will be making this again and again during winter!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme July 14, 2007

Hi Kit, I made this last night and oohhh it was Delish. Brought some to our neighbors and they liked it a lot. It's perfect with rice. Loved it!!! Thanks you so much , Kit for sharing some of your recipes. Glen of Coolidge, Arizona.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karadale April 26, 2007

Yum yum! This soup is so warm and cozy. I wish I wouldn't have mashed up the potatoes though. Next time I'll leave them diced. I used the whole 10 oz package of spinach. YUM! I also skipped the oil, not necessary in my opinion. Just a pinch of cayenne for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear March 16, 2007

This is "clean out cupboards and fridge/freezer month" for me. I go away on holidays and my kids duplicated staples that I already had in my cupboard... add more stuff to the freezer. What am I going to do with 5 different jars of prepared pasta sauce???(uggg!!!) This, is why I love Zaar so much!!! Odds and ends ended up in this soup. I didn't have any thyme, so I used coriander. I used a mix of Maggi and Knoor chicken stock....finished up my garlic, so probably had more than 2 T....half a package of spinach....5 cups of cooked chicken (got bag of frozen cooked cubed chicken from Costco...works well in casseroles and soups but awful in anything else...won't do that again!!!!).... approx. 3 T lentils and 1/2 cup elbow macaronni. I did use 1 tsp of cayenne, but had to add more water to tone it down...it got a little too peppery. I eye balled the flour, mixed it with cold water until smooth, then added some of the hot soup to the flour/water mix and then into the pot. I added the heel end (hard part) of some parmesan cheese to the pot so it would melt down and give it a nice cheesy flavour (parmesan cheese heels can be frozen and added to soups and stews). This turned out to be a wonderful, thick, "rocked with flavour" soup...just the way we like them!!!! I would truly recommend this recipe. Thanks Kit for another winner!!! P.S. Do you ever leave your kitchen...curious minds are asking??? I hope not because we are all benefiting from it! Keep on rolling those 5 stars recipes out!!! Abby

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl February 11, 2007

I really enjoyed this soup... I made it exactly as per the recipe -I used 1/2 pkg spinach, the chicken broth in a box, and everything else as written... I DID add some egg noodles, but found them a little too soggy, so won't use them next time. I'll definitely make this again... Thanks, Kittencal...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellyrph February 07, 2007
Kittencal's Hearty Chicken Soup