Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Hearty Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Hearty Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2010

      Great healthy soup. Had all the ingredients on hand. Easy and delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      KITTEN OH KITTEN********** This soup is top of the ritz excellant.. how I haven't seen It before is a mystery .. The flavor, texture, taste of soup is beyond description. The only thing i didn't use was spinach... We don't like spanich at all.. I would give this a million stars if I could.. Nita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Good, basic soup. Made as is, leaving out only the cayenne. It was tasty with some bread for supper. Thanks! Edited to add: Actually even better the next day as leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This is a very tasty soup. I liked adding the potatoes to thicken it up. I made as written, except forgot to put the Parmesan on the table to top it. :) I will try it again with some egg noodles, as suggested. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      The soup was very tasty but I will try cooking it without the spinach (I used a whole package) next time because mine didn't look as nice as the photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      Very yummy indeed, and just the thing on a cold winter's night. I cooked as per recipe using Kittencal's Best Homemade Chicken Stock (which is fantastic by the way), the only difference was that I added more vegetables, as I had a a pack of soup stock vegetable's waiting to be used in the fridge, and this was just the thing to use them up with! I also used some tiny little noodles I had bought last week (the type that come in chicken noodle soup packs) The family don't usually like soup, but I noticed they were hovering around the pot when I was making it, because the smell was so good when it was cooking and DS kept asking when it would be ready, so that was a good sign to start with!! They loved it, so thick, so warming and so delicious. Perfect served with crusty fresh bread or rolls!!! YUMMMY!!!!!!!!! Thanks Kittencal, will be making this again and again during winter!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Hi Kit, I made this last night and oohhh it was Delish. Brought some to our neighbors and they liked it a lot. It's perfect with rice. Loved it!!! Thanks you so much , Kit for sharing some of your recipes. Glen of Coolidge, Arizona.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Yum yum! This soup is so warm and cozy. I wish I wouldn't have mashed up the potatoes though. Next time I'll leave them diced. I used the whole 10 oz package of spinach. YUM! I also skipped the oil, not necessary in my opinion. Just a pinch of cayenne for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      This is "clean out cupboards and fridge/freezer month" for me. I go away on holidays and my kids duplicated staples that I already had in my cupboard... add more stuff to the freezer. What am I going to do with 5 different jars of prepared pasta sauce???(uggg!!!) This, is why I love Zaar so much!!! Odds and ends ended up in this soup. I didn't have any thyme, so I used coriander. I used a mix of Maggi and Knoor chicken stock....finished up my garlic, so probably had more than 2 T....half a package of spinach....5 cups of cooked chicken (got bag of frozen cooked cubed chicken from Costco...works well in casseroles and soups but awful in anything else...won't do that again!!!!).... approx. 3 T lentils and 1/2 cup elbow macaronni. I did use 1 tsp of cayenne, but had to add more water to tone it down...it got a little too peppery. I eye balled the flour, mixed it with cold water until smooth, then added some of the hot soup to the flour/water mix and then into the pot. I added the heel end (hard part) of some parmesan cheese to the pot so it would melt down and give it a nice cheesy flavour (parmesan cheese heels can be frozen and added to soups and stews). This turned out to be a wonderful, thick, "rocked with flavour" soup...just the way we like them!!!! I would truly recommend this recipe. Thanks Kit for another winner!!! P.S. Do you ever leave your kitchen...curious minds are asking??? I hope not because we are all benefiting from it! Keep on rolling those 5 stars recipes out!!! Abby

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I really enjoyed this soup... I made it exactly as per the recipe -I used 1/2 pkg spinach, the chicken broth in a box, and everything else as written... I DID add some egg noodles, but found them a little too soggy, so won't use them next time. I'll definitely make this again... Thanks, Kittencal...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      This is a different kind of chicken soup than I'm used to, but I really enjoyed it. I used some homemade chicken broth I had on hand and it tasted delicious. I also loved adding the spinach to the soup to give it some nice color and it tasted great. It's a good way to get my kids to eat some good vegetables they might not normally eat! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Very tasty..I make almost the same one except I put more veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Hearty Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (577 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.6
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    33%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 62.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 551.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 27.9 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites