Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Hamburger/Burger Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Hamburger/Burger Buns

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-59 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2007

      Thanks Kittencal, for a great recipe with clear directions and wonderful results. I cannot believe I really made fresh home made hamburger buns. They turned out great and from now on I'll be making my own, next time I'll try to shape them like hot dogs. The crust was perfect with such a light fluffy center. Ate one fresh from the oven and can't wait to serve these to the family. I followed the recipe exactly, even holding back on the temptation to add more flour when I saw how sticky the dough was. So glad I did as I'm sure that's what makes them so light and fluffy. I didn't have sesame seeds to sprinkle on, but next time you can bet I'll make sure I do. I wasn't sure about the right size of ball for the dough so tried a couple of differant sizes, but from now on I'll know just how to go with that. I think the size of a baseball works for me. Thanks again for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      FABULOUS is right! I just pulled these out of the oven and immediately ate one with butter...yum! Then I made hot ham & cheese sandwiches with them for lunch and they were soooo good! Tonight we are having them with Crock Pot Cola Barbecue Pork Roast, can't wait for that either! I followed your recipe exactly except I used unsalted butter instead of crisco and it worked great. I used almost a 1/3 cup more of bread flour and baked them for the full 22 minutes and they were perfect. I loved the dough, what fun, easy dough to work with. Kitten, I just might be your biggest fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Hi Kittencal, I finally got around to trying these buns to top our burgers. I use all bread flour and a mix of water/fat free half and half for the milk.I mixed the dough in my bread machine. The dough was slightly sticky as you stated so I resisted adding any addt. flour. My buns turned out really airy inside with a "bakery style" exterior. Thanks for another terrific recipe, Kitz. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      Kit, you have fabulous buns! ;) :D These are really great and so much cheaper than the store bought ones that just go bad on top of the counter. The whole troop will actually eat these even if there is no burger or weiner included. I have no idea how many dirty glares I get to avoid now when the minions get a 'hot dog bun' PBJ sammich! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Fantastic buns! I made these 2 days ago to put our turkey burgers on. Since then, any time my hubby wants a snack (he snacks a lot, lol), he slices one of these buns in half and toasts it up and puts butter on it. He can't stop eating them!! I better be getting my butt to costco for the BIG sack of flour so I can keep making these. Being so impressed with these buns, tomorrow I will be trying out your Soft White Bagette-Style Bread #121941. Thank you Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      These are the best homemade buns I've ever made!! I substituted Spelt Flour for regular and honey for sugar and they are sooooo good! It makes a beautiful dough and very nice looking bun. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Wow, these buns are wonderful Kitty. So soft and tasty. They look so professional that my family thought I got them from the bakery. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      When the buns are this good, I don't even need the burger! This was a great way to break in my new KitchenAid mixer! Perfect for a sticky dough that I didn't want all over my hands. These buns rose beautifully and I had to eat one as soon as they came out of the oven. Just great. Thanks, Kit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      Thank you Kitten, once again you came through for me with a wonderful recipe. These buns were easy to prepare and would not change a thing in the ingredients. I did however change the shape a bit to make into square dinner roll size that I served with Almost White Castle Hamburgers, Cheif Doozer's Almost White Castle Hamburgers. What a hit, delish! Thanks again, it's a keeper. Leslie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I loved how beautifully this came together.The buns were very good.I used bread flour.Next time I will try using half of bread flour and half of plain flour.We had these with vegetarian chiken style burgers.Simply yummy!I also made the eggless mayonnaise from this site(#34260), and it was fabulous with the burgers.Thanks for the recipe,Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      I really enjoy these buns. Very light texture and very easy instructions.I'm making them tonight for sloppy joes. Next time I will try the onion sound great. p.s I'm making these on a regular basis as well. Thanks so much kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      OK here's another 5 star rating and I'd give more if I could. These are great! Not only are they great for burgers/sandwiches but they are just great to eat by themselves. I'm sure I'll make again. Thanks Kit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      Very good, merci beaucoup !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Thank you for this great recipe! I made them into hot dog buns which we had with tofu wieners. They're soft, fluffy, and sooooo good! I used whole wheat bread flour and a bit of all purpose unbleached. I shaped them into 12 rolls and will go with 14 next time since they were quite big. I don't own a large mixer so did everything by hand. The dough was very easy to work with. With a bit of shine from the egg white and the sesame seeds sprinkled on top, they looked fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      These were perfect as a burger bun. They were sturdy enough and not too squishy. They had a nice bite and texture. Not so great for just a roll as they didn't have any real stnadout flavor - but as a base for a burger or hot dog it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      I cannot believe that I actually made my own hamburger buns! Using my new KitchenAid mixer, with the help of my grandaughter, it was SO easy. The buns were soft, tasty - I made 8 which were just the right size for 1/4 pounders. I used 1% milk, added chopped fresh-from-the-garden chives to the dough & skipped the sesame seeds. Half a dozen were used for burgers & the last 2 went into hubby's lunch today. Thanx again Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      Great recipe! Who would ever think I would be making my own buns, I don't want store bought anymore, these are so good and fresh and not all the additives of bought buns. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2005

      A great recipe, makes a great number of rolls, simple and tasty. I love working with the dough, its beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      I got a "sneak preview" of this great bun recipe! Very good, indeed, K! I love how simple they are to whip up and bake ... and, with ingredients I keep around anyway. I made mine a little larger, and got about 13 (a good baker's dozen) neat burger buns ... They came out nice and soft, and they even make great garlic bread to have with spaghetti! You dreamed up a winner in these hummers, K! I plan to make them on a regular basis ... Thanks for sharing, Hon ... They really are good! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Hamburger/Burger Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.3
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    24%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 1.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 303.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites