59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmmm Fantabulous!!! =] I veganized them and used whole wheat flour! So good! I completely screwed up some steps but the recipe was very forgiving of my mistakes lol =] I can't wait to make these again!! I'll probably double the recipe and make the buns bigger--haha ;) Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little.miss.vegan May 03, 2010

Not that you need another 5 star review, but, these buns are wonderful. I bake bread all the time but this is the best hamburger bun recipe that I have found. Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pelicangal May 03, 2010

Another great one kittencal! Made these to go with the first grilled burgers of the season, and they were a hit, such a nice soft dough, they turned out beautiful. I didn't have sesame seeds so topped the buns with parmesean and that worked very well. I think this would work great for adding other things to the dough as well, such as herbs and cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickleLover March 28, 2010

They came out very good. I used flax seeds instead of sesame seeds though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mithrilbalrog December 07, 2009

These are good, really good. However, it took me three attempts before I realized that in step 3, I had to add in a lot more flour than I thought the recipe called for. Made them today, and used 5 cups of flour total (so a cup and a half more than the recipe lists). Is everyone else adding this much more???? I still got 13 buns out of it, so I think I'm on the right track.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amymalphurs August 16, 2009

These turned out very well. I didn't put sesame seeds on them because I forgot about them. Next time I will try them. But even so these buns turned out really light and airy. I wasn't sure what the malt powder that was mentioned in step 2 was, but I did add vital wheat gluten at 1 tsp per 1 cup of all purpose flour. I will definitely be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann March 16, 2009

Hi Kittencal, These are so beautiful I could hardly hold onto mine after it came out of the oven we dove right into one chewy soft bun with a nice nutty flavour! It is about -20 here and they just didn't rise at all. After baking they popped right up and were shiny and looking very professional with the sesame seeds! I will use more egg white and sesame seeds making sure to cover the sides as well. I did use a very heavy organic whole wheat flour maybe that was part of the reason the rising was somewhat silted. The buns were fabulous and will be made forever in our home! Thanks for posting Kittencal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo February 27, 2009

Wonderful Soft,Tender & Light Hamburger Buns. We enjoyed these tonight with our Jalepeno Cream Cheese Burgers. Will definitely be making again. This recipe was very easy to make using my Kitchenaid mixer and dough hook. I did do a few things differently. I used 2 TBS Butter and what was needed in Shortening to make up 1/4 C melted (since I didnt have buttered flavor Crisco). I also left out the egg white,1 tsp water and the sesame seed and just made the buns plain but did butter the tops with melted butter. I used all purpose flour with no problems. Thank you Kittenkal for the wonderful bun recipe. I will be keeping this in a permanent file :) Much better than any ole store bought bun! Oh one other thing: I skipped the instruction about letting the dough rise again after making the bun rolls and placing on the greased pan. I just went straight to the oven with them without a problem and this made 8 good size buns for us. I suppose I could make 12 if I were making smaller buns :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B-J-Burrell December 29, 2008

This recipe is great - i followed it more or less (cant really understand cups, but felt my way) and the dough was so sticky it was quite hard work and messy - it is so cold (snowing today) i thought it would never rise, and had very low expectations for the end result but... guess what ... absolutely delish - so light, tasty and moreish - unbelievable! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hbeardon December 15, 2008
Kittencal's Hamburger/Burger Buns