59 Reviews

AMAZING! I had a craving for burgers, so I made these today. Light, fluffy rolls. So yummy. I will be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Culinary Creationist January 03, 2012

De-lish. Exchanged buttermilk for whole milk. Sooo good with our pullpork sandwitches. Hubby had 2. Not so sure if thats a good thing or not. Will be making them again and again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking 24/7 January 01, 2012

My go to recipe! Light, sweet, chewy crust - perfect! I do split the shortening amount with butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kngblack December 18, 2011

These are gorgeous and wonderful! I substituted butter for the Crisco just because I like butter and skipped most of the first rising b/c I forgot to start them early enough. It didn't seem to matter. We had them with pulled pork as sandwiches and they were fantastic! This will be my "go to" burger bun from now on. Can't wait to try them with whole wheat flour!

I have to add to this review. I've made these buns many, many times since this review. I usually substitute at least one cup of whole wheat flour for some white and they still turn out soft, delicious and perfect! Every person who has tried them loves them - my dad always wants extras to go home with him. Excellent recipe, Kittencal. As always. :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 October 21, 2011

15 minutes for cooking time was too much for mine! Great recipe a keeper :) Will try to substitute the shortening for Parkay margarine next time :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophie's cooking September 05, 2011

These are the best. Made them exactly as written and used my hamburger bun pan that I recently bought from King Arthur Flour Co. They were delicious and picture perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YeringtonGal July 20, 2011

These have a wonderful texture, much better than the store bought excessively fluffy type. I did everything by hand because I don't have a stand mixer. Also, I didn't use bread flour. The dough was a bit sticky at the shaping stage (I had added almost an extra 1/2 cup of flour earlier in the recipe), but the buns cooked up perfectly. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc July 10, 2011

Like everyone knows times are tough and money is tight. Today my 16 year old daughter and I made this recipe because it sounded fun,we were amazed at how simple this recipe was. these were the most fantastic buns I have ever made and I am going to use the dough to make cinimon rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boatsn2 May 29, 2011

These are really nice hamburger buns. Made no substitutions and they turned out great. I will make these again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 April 17, 2011

These rolls are phenomenal, and the dough is incredibly easy to work with. I've used the technique of letting the dough rest for other recipes that have soft, tender dough - works like a charm. I did substitue butter for the shortening as I was out of shortening. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stratford703 December 02, 2010
Kittencal's Hamburger/Burger Buns