Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Hamburger/Burger Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Hamburger/Burger Buns

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2010

      This is an AWESOME recipe, I had made it several times as listed, the last time I made them I was out of milk so I substituted buttermilk, the results were even more amazing!!! I will never buy another store bought bun again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      Followed the recipe to the T, except that instead of using a stand mixer I used a wooden spoon and my hands. Came out BEAUTIFUL. One of my favorite bread recipes so far, hands down!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Lovely recipe. Haven't bought a store bought bun since I began making these. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      Kittencal, these buns ARE fabulous. Yum. My 8-year-old and I shaped these into hot dog buns and the family scarfed down all but one for dinner. They have great flavor and lovely color. Worked fine with no-trans-fat shortening and skim milk. I replaced some of the bread flour with soy flour, and opted out of the sesame seeds, instead brushing with egg white to make them shiny and then following up with some butter to make them soft. Delicious. Thanks, KC!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      These were awesome. Followed the recipe to the letter except I only added two T. of sugar as we are not fond of sweet hamburger rolls. Also, when it came to the yeast, I just added one package of yeast. I noticed that the salt is not included in the instructions portion of the recipe, but I tossed it in with the flour and such. Also, I opted to use standard flour rather than bread flour as it is cheaper to use. I mixed this with the dough attachment using my KAid stand mixer and the dough was fabulous. I preheated the oven to 200 so that my rise time was only one hour and opted to just spray the tops of the buns with PAM cooking spray rather than use the egg white (no sesame seeds added). These buns turned out fabulous. They weren't as heavy as some that I have made in the past which is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I no longer buy bread products so I will be using this again and again and again! This is a definite keeper. My search is over. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      These buns were a big hit. I followed the recipe as written except I only used one package of yeast which is 2 1/4 teaspoons instead of one tablespoon as written. Will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      Kitt, I have to tell you that you are my go to chef for recipes on this site. I probably have made 95% of you recipes and have never never been dissappointed. The buns have to be the best.....I have not rated your recipes because I am usually in the kitchen cooking or baking all day...these buns are the BEST these are the only buns I use these days. I have made them in the Kitchenaid and I have made them in my bread maker (when I am feeling lazy.lol) and always fantastic. Thank you looking forward to more of your recipes. Krystyna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      these are really good buns Thank you Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      This recipe is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you Kittencal! No more chemical-laden commercial buns for this family. That said, I am not one to ordinarily use shortening, and I won't be buying it again after I use it up (I have enough left in the pantry for one more batch). I do see, though, that reviewers have had success with melted butter, and I almost think oil might work also. I have some experimenting to do. I also think I want to try freezing some and see how they do. I am very much a last-minute cook, and I don't want the prep time to keep me from making hamburgers. This batch is nearly all gone after using them for breakfast and lunch sandwiches. The texture is still perfect even several days later! Did I mention that I love these?!?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

    • on January 03, 2012

      AMAZING! I had a craving for burgers, so I made these today. Light, fluffy rolls. So yummy. I will be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      De-lish. Exchanged buttermilk for whole milk. Sooo good with our pullpork sandwitches. Hubby had 2. Not so sure if thats a good thing or not. Will be making them again and again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      My go to recipe! Light, sweet, chewy crust - perfect! I do split the shortening amount with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      These are gorgeous and wonderful! I substituted butter for the Crisco just because I like butter and skipped most of the first rising b/c I forgot to start them early enough. It didn't seem to matter. We had them with pulled pork as sandwiches and they were fantastic! This will be my "go to" burger bun from now on. Can't wait to try them with whole wheat flour!

      I have to add to this review. I've made these buns many, many times since this review. I usually substitute at least one cup of whole wheat flour for some white and they still turn out soft, delicious and perfect! Every person who has tried them loves them - my dad always wants extras to go home with him. Excellent recipe, Kittencal. As always. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      15 minutes for cooking time was too much for mine! Great recipe a keeper :) Will try to substitute the shortening for Parkay margarine next time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      These are the best. Made them exactly as written and used my hamburger bun pan that I recently bought from King Arthur Flour Co. They were delicious and picture perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      These have a wonderful texture, much better than the store bought excessively fluffy type. I did everything by hand because I don't have a stand mixer. Also, I didn't use bread flour. The dough was a bit sticky at the shaping stage (I had added almost an extra 1/2 cup of flour earlier in the recipe), but the buns cooked up perfectly. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Like everyone knows times are tough and money is tight. Today my 16 year old daughter and I made this recipe because it sounded fun,we were amazed at how simple this recipe was. these were the most fantastic buns I have ever made and I am going to use the dough to make cinimon rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      These are really nice hamburger buns. Made no substitutions and they turned out great. I will make these again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      These rolls are phenomenal, and the dough is incredibly easy to work with. I've used the technique of letting the dough rest for other recipes that have soft, tender dough - works like a charm. I did substitue butter for the shortening as I was out of shortening. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Hamburger/Burger Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.3
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    24%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 1.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 303.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes