Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Grilled Cheese and Tomato Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Grilled Cheese and Tomato Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2009

      was very good i also added a few slices of avacado

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Thanks Kittencal for posting. We made this for a quick , cozy lunch and it was delicious. Everyone wanted more than one sandwich. Instead of American we used cheddar and instead of putting the butter on both sides of the bread we put mayo on both sides (just family personal taste preference) reserving the butter for just the pan. Thinly sliced tomatoes are great and on some sandwiches we added some ham. Another winner! Enjoy! ChefDLH

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Here's another I eat at least twice a week for breakfast. Delish! I add pickled jalapenos too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I have been making my grilled cheese like this for years, only without the mayo. I decided to try it with and it was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Very yummy grilled cheese sandwich! We used white whole wheat bread, 2 slices sharp cheddar cheese, and sliced the tomatoes thinly. LIked the mayonnaise a lot on the sandwishes. Served with Andi of Longmeadow Farm's Tomato Soup and fruit cocktail for lunch today. Made and reviewed for KK's Top 25 tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      simply perfect kit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I've been making this one for years...Love it. It is also sooo good with Provolone cheese! That is probably my favorite way to make it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I love grilled cheese with tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      I've been making this sandwich for some time now, but just a bit different. I skip the mayo, just use enough soft butter to cover the bread to toast it in the pan without using any additional and putting the tomatoes on after its been grilled. I use a nice sharp cheese and the combo with the tomato is delicious! Made to go with your Kittencal's Thick and Rich Creamy Tomato Soup (Low-Fat Option) and dinner was simple and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      5 stars

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I added salt and dried basil. It was outstanding! I am not a big tomato lover so I was hesitant to try this but it made magic in the pan! Thank you Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      Yum! I used marble jack cheese, since it's my favorite, but followed the rest of the directions exactly. This was a delicious sandwich and I'm sure to make it again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      I've been making a similar sandwich since I was a kid. I double the amount of cheese, though, and use mustard instead of mayo. There's just something I find off-putting about warmed mayo. Plus, I find mustard just blends better with melted cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I used twelve cereal bread, light mayonnaise. No butter but I used butter flavored spray. I used a slice of white cheese. I didn't like this part. I'll have to try with cheddar cheese or swiss cheese. I cooked it on my panini pan. Thanks Kit. Made for Zaar Star Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This is great! I only made one change, and that is that I used yogurt cheese instead of American! I love this sandwich for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Yummy Kittencal !! I have never had grilled cheese sandwiches with mayonaise before. WOW, these were fantastic. I used white bread, but I used the Campari tomatoes they are the only tomatoes that taste like tomatoes around here. You just can't beat Quebec tomatoes, but one has to put up with the Florida ones when there is no choice. I put the sandwiches in the panini press and they turned out fantastic. We had them with your Yum Yum Pickles (my Mum will be only getting 3 jars and not 4). Sorry I couldn't take a pic I have to find my battery charger. I will take a pic when I make these again. Thanks Kittencal for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      delicious. I made these for lunch today and just loved it. One of those things you forget about if you don't have kids, so glad to refind my grilled cheese and tomato. fyi there is a great cheese slice by kraft specifically for grilled cheeses. It has a pink cover and is extra thick, made of 3 diff cheeses and melts perfectly. Worth getting just for those days you want grilled cheeses

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This was cheesy goodness at it's best! I used 4 thin slices of tomato,a slice of Kraft and a slice of Colby-Jack...OMG! It was gooing everywhere!! :) Served with a pickle spear on the side...perfection! Thanks so much for posting!! Made in memory of your husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      Kitten-I love these sandwiches-a great reminder of my childhood! I used white bread and made enough for the neighborhood kids who were helping me in the yard. And of course, served w/ tomato soup. DELICIOUS-thank you for posting another great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Grilled Cheese and Tomato Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 439.8
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    61%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 57.0 mg
    19%
    Sodium 738.5 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes