Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Greek Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Greek Couscous

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2013

      This is awesome! I thought I had the olives and feta but found out last minute I did not. I added some capers instead and it turned out delicious. I will definitely be making this often. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      This was excellent. I omitted the olives because we don't like them and it was still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      This was incredible! Great side, great warm or cold. Went very well with Cedar Plank Salmon with Lemon-Dill topping (#174649). Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      I made this vegan with veggie broth and no feta. It was very good and agree that it tastes better on days 2 and 3. We had it as a side salad one night and then used it as a wrap filling another night. Since I didn't use the salty feta, I used the salty kalamatas and it worked out well. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      This was super yummy! I'm always looking for new unique sides and I wasn't disappointed with this recipe. I made a full recipe and it fed 4 and had enough leftovers for lunch for the entire week so, be warned, the quantity is large! I also used block feta and cut into cubes which I liked better than crumbles. I recommend using regular black olives... we used kalamatas and they were WAY too strong in this for our tastes even chopped up.

      Update-4/11/2012- I've since made this recipe MANY times. I've also made it with veggie stock to make it completely vegetarian and taken it to many a potluck. It's always one of the first things gone and the longer it sits, the tastier it gets. Lots of flavor and fun to change out the "add in" ingredients. The dressing is really flavorful and adding the oregano in with the couscous gives it great flavor. Thanks for another great recipe Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      This was excellent! I swapped freshly grated Parmesan for the feta and Kalamata olives for the black olives. Omitted the onion and chick peas. Added diced sweet bell pepper. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Thanks Kittencal for a really great tasty recipe. I didn't have Chick Peas on hand but used a can of Mixed beans instead. (Red Kidney Beans, Chick Peas, Romano Beans, Black Eyed Peas) I only made half the recipe and it gave me enough for four generous portions. I served it with baked porkchops. It was a nice addition to our meal, I will be making it again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      This was very easy to make and yummy! A nice couscous side to my BBQ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Needed something fast for dinner so I made this and served with carrots&brussels sprouts side. I used vegetable broth and some garlic salt, and otherwise lowered the amount of olive oil. Okay, maybe it could have used some more seasoning, but left as is it had a fresh and clean taste. If you can afford the extra calories, add a bit more cheese:) I didn't, if only because I couldn't find low-fat feta in the store that day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Very good, and very forgiving if you keep a couple things out or make substitutions. I had this warm as soon as it was mixed, and cold from the fridge later on, and it tastes great both ways. I agree with the 4 servings if this is the main dish (which is how we have it), but would be about double that if used as a side dish. Thanks Kittencal, you have yet to disappoint me :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Thank you for fixing my couscous recpe! I've been making this for years (except I replace the tomatoes, olives and chickpeas with scallions, yellow or red bell pepper and pine nuts or pistachios) - but I could never get the cousocus itself to be flavorful enough even with garlicky chicken broth - your lemon dressing was EXACTLY what I was missing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Another winner from Kittencal! My husband and I really liked this salad. I only used half a small red onion and I sweated the cucumbers with the salt, saved the water that came away and used it as most of the 1/4 cup of water called for in the recipe. I think, however, that this recipe serves 8-10. It made about 9 cups of salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      One of our favorite Greek sides! We make as stated except for leaving out the onion (I'm not a fan of onions) and it is delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Very good. Had leftover couscous, so I used that and followed the rest of the recipe. The family really like it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Delicious! I love this couscous dish. I made it exactly as the recipe states; it turned out great with lots of flavor. It is a lovely little side dish or nice meatless main. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      My mom just made some couscous and we were thinking of stuff to add to it, so I found this recipe on recipezaar. We substituted fresh basil for dried oregano, we didn't have tomatoes or cucumbers, we had blue cheese (not feta), added black olives, we didn't add the onion (personal taste), but we did have some chickpeas. She mixed up the dressing per these directions. We Loved It!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Awesome dish! Great flavours & real easy to make. Not sure if this is suppose to be served cold, but I wanted the dish served warm so I left it on the burner @ low while I prep'd the rest of the meal. Didn't change any ingredients (just omitted olives, not a fan) & enjoyed it all, however, I found the red onion alittle overpowering to the other ingredients so I think I'd cut that back abit next time. p.s. as a side dish, I found this made closer to 8 servings for us. Everyone enjoyed this dish & it will definately be made again, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This stuff is excellent!!! I am making it again tonight for a special birthday dinner. Thanks for this one! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      I had never had couscous before so I didn't know what to expect... WOW was this DELICIOUS! I could not stop myself from eating it, and my husband (who has had couscous many times before) said it was the best he'd ever tried. The only thing I changed was I left out the cucumber because I don't like it. This one is definitely a keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Greek Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (384 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.0
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    29%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 16.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 938.5 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites