Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's German Apple Puff Pancake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's German Apple Puff Pancake

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2011

      HOLY smokes is this tasty. I made breakfast for dinner..... this would be great for brunch, bfast, lunch dinner and all snacks in between! It should have it's own place on the food pyramid! Be sure to slice the apples thin so they cook all the way thru. I did and they were the perfect texture. One other note, I think the serving size is wrong, I could eat one by myself.. and almost did! ;^P To serve I inverted on a plated and inverted again on a warmed plate for serving. I think I'm gonna sneak back for another slice. Oh, and the rest of the family loved it too... the kids gobbled it up! Thanks for another killer recipe Kitten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Oh Kitten, you've done it again. Anytime a recipe has your name on it I know it's gonna be good! I used about 6 medium sized apples from our tree and baked them in 2 8-inch pans and they turned out BEAUTIFULLY! The top was divine, almost like a snickerdoodle. My kids gobbled it up! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This was great. I had made this for my children when they were little. I lost the recipe, but they never forgot it. When I found this one by accident, I made it for my husband, who has never liked anything I have cooked. (American vs. Englishman!) He said it was "lovely." I'm sending the recipe to my, now, grown up little boys. Thanks ever so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Lady, You have now idea how many of your recipes I use. I give you credit everytime. As I move to Mexico you will "come with me" I trust you! Check out my cookbook so I can share with you... Book #145062 Take care, T.J.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      Delicious! I have always wanted to get one of these when we eat at the Original Pancake House but they take sooo long. I was looking for something different and special to make and had everything in the house to make this.....except I only had 3 eggs. Still worked out perfectly, I made one large pancake in my 10" cast iron skillet and it was so easy and came out beautifully. Definitely a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      My family loves the German puff pancakes--- we call them "Crazy Pancakes." The base recipe for this pancake worked very well! I have made these German puff pancakes before from different recipes with varying success. Some puffed... Some didn't. This time, I used bread flour instead of all purpose flour because I read that it helps with the puff/rise. My kids prefer it without the apples (go figure), so I add the zest of an orange for flavor. I love the cinnamon/orange combination. I also split this recipe up into one 8 inch cast iron skillet and two 4 inch soufflé ramekins so that the kids could each have their own "crazy pancake". Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Wonderful! Very easy and not time consuming. It made for the perfect Christmas breakfast. I was tempted to add a little nutmeg, but my wife said not to mess with it the first time, so I'll try that next time ;)

      I served it with lemon wedges and powdered sugar. It wasn't too heavy or too sweet, but was just right. My family and our guests loved it (and so did I).

      One caution: when you put the pan of butter in the oven to melt at 400 degrees, it will melt VERY fast - like one minute or so (also, that there may be unmelted butter and slightly browned butter at the same time). Regardless, pay close attention and be patient for a minute or you'll end up with yucky, smoky burnt butter and have to wash your pans and start over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I used to eat something like these at Bickfords in Billerica Mass...This is as close as I can imagine, not that tough to make and AMAZING.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      My kids said this is the best pancake recipie Ive ever tried - and I try a new recipe every weekend! I baked it in a 12 inch round skillet and I used 8 pieces of cooked bacon instead of apples - we had had a puff pancake in Holland last year like this that I wanted to replicate. It is amazingly perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      This is very tasty, and easy to put together. My family really enjoyed it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      My son and husband share a birthday and love apple puffed pancakes. . .and this was by far the best pancake I have made for them. The baking powder makes it a little lighter than the conventional recipes. I doubled the recipe and put it into two deep dish pie plates. I thinly sliced the Granny Smith apples and piled them into the pie plates and they cooked beautifully. I kept the butter to 4 Tbsp per pie plate and it was plenty. I plan to take this recipe with me when I visit my parents as a special treat. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

    • on December 25, 2010

      This was delicious but not at all what I expected. I thought it was going to be puffy like a pancake but instead it was more like a crepe in the middle and a bit puffy on the edges. Everyone loved it and gobbled it down. I am not sure if it turned out the way it was supposed to but it was delicious either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      My family loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      This was sooooo yummy! It all blended so wonderfully. The cinnamon/sugar topping was crunchy and good. Will keep this in my file for my grandkids. Thanks for the yummy treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Really good although I made some changes. I used only one apple per pan (I liked the apple-pancake ratio better this way). I added the same amount of sugar in the pancake batter as the recipe suggested, but reduced sugar to 1/4 cup (2 tbsp per pan, used large grain raw cane sugar) for topping (I wanted the pancake to be less sweet to serve with ice cream or maple syrup).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Wonderful Apple Pancake! Tastes even better than Original Pancake House!! (and that is our favorite). My husband made this for breakfast this am and was pleased with how quickly it went together and cooked. He put the mix in two 9" pans, but next time would just put the mixture into one pan so it had more of the pancake goodness. Thanks for another fabulous hit, Kitten! eta: DH made this again this for Valentine's this am but used whole wheat flour bc we were out of white (and it was 5:30am). He also mistakenly mixed in the sugar instead of putting it on top. It was heavier bc of the whole wheat, but still really good and I'm happy that we've found a good use for whole wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Yummy! This pancake was delish. Followed recipe as directed using 8 inch round pans. As you can see from the pics, the pancake sorta came up the sides and cradled the apples. Not sure if this was supposed to happen or not, but was still very tasty. Something different for breakfast is always a welcome treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Nice puff pancake. I would sprinkle about half the sugar over the apples next time (I used Granny Smith and it was a bit tart), and then the rest on top. If I had used a sweeter apple, the sugar might be able to be reduced to less than 1/3 cup. Overall an enjoyable breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      5 stars all around! I had only two apples and used less sugar than directed, still absolutely fantastic. It's all gone. Every recipe posted by Kittencal is always a hit in our house! Thanks yet again, Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's German Apple Puff Pancake

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.2
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    34%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 222.9 mg
    74%
    Sodium 511.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 43.2 g
    172%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes