Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Garlic Croutons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Garlic Croutons

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2013

      Kittencal is the best! Thank you for a great recipe! Easy and sooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      OMG these are amazing and so easy to do!!!! I made these for my French Onion Soup tonight. Will be making these again and again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      Made these with Kittencal's Caesar salad, Julia Child's Steak au Poivre and baked potatoes. <br/>Unbelievably easy to make and so yummy!<br/>Update:<br/>I have been using this recipe to make homemade garlic bread to accompany lasagne or pasta by brushing the butter mixture onto bread and baking as instructed. So much better than the frozen, store-bought variety. To gild the lily add mozzarella, parmesan, &/or provolone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      Fabulous, Fabulous, Fabulous! Quick, easy and tasty. Served them on top of Tomato Bisque soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2014

      Turned out good. There are easier ways to make crutons though, that give just as much flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Oh how yummy. Made to use in a Caesar salad. Tasted one and it will be hard to stay away and not snack on them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      AWESOME!! The amount of butter called for in the recipe, brushed 9-10 slices of bread. (I think I was too generous with my brushing at first!) I added finely chopped fresh rosemary, no parsley, freshly ground black pepper, fresh thyme and garlic (about 4 or 5 cloves) and let sit for the suggested 30 minutes. Had to almost slap my grandkids hands to have enough for your (also awesome) tomato soup! I think real butter is the key to this! Thanks so much for posting!! It will be used over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      One word . . . AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      Great recipe! I used the only bread I had - whole wheat loaf slices. Doubled the amount of fresh garlic too. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      I'm never buying croutons again. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      Kittencal, you are consistently my favorite cook on Food.com - thanks for this! We used some leftover artisan loaves and they are extraordinary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      SO amazing. I used fresh garlic and let it sit like you said, and used sourdough bread. Oh man, I could snack on these ALL day! They didn't take quite as long to cook for me as it stated in the recipe, more like about 15 or so min. Made with Kittencals caeser salad, and man, I will have these 2 recipes in my fridge/pantry at all times =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Easy and versatile. I've found 25 minutes to be to long, but I may be cutting my cubes smaller. I've used this several times now and it really comes in handy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      So simple and easy to make such fresh-tasting croutons. We never use the store-bought variety as they are just too hard. These were crunchy and flavourful, my husband ate many right out of the oven. Perfect companion to your Cesar salad recipe. Thanks for sharing another winner Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Very good and easy to do. Absolutely makes a salad! MUST try homemade croutons on your next salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      You are the recipe Diva! Made the croutons with the rest of a loaf of # 333128 Flax and sunflower bread. To retain the healthy benefits spritz with olive oil, sprinkled on some Italian herb blend. Baked at 350 for about half the time listed and perfecto. Great on salad or soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Great croutons! I scaled the recipe down and used some stale hot dog buns, fresh garlic and left out the parsley. Stored the rest in the fridge. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      These croutons are absolutely wonderful! They barely made it onto the Caesar salad, my whole family descended on them like vultures and ate them straight out of the pan (I'll admit, I was right alongside them!). I used fresh garlic, and skipped the parsley, as I used some homemade rosemary salt that was very flavorful. Thank you so much for a total party-in-your-mouth recipe, I'm off to go make them again for a dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Oh my God, these were out of these world. Absolutely divine. I used fresh minced garlic & fresh parsely instead of what the recipe calls for. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Absolutely delicious. I don't normally eat croutons at all but these are different because they are not extremely hard like most of them. I used the seasoning salt and some dried parsley. I kept the crust on a few slices to vary the colour. So yummy tasting and excellent with a few on top of soup. Nice that they could be frozen and taken out as needed. Your right Kitten they have to be watched in the oven, they do cook quickly. Thanks Kitten for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Garlic Croutons

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 108.4
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    56%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 16.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 195.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites