Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Fried Cabbage With Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Fried Cabbage With Bacon

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2012

      Just one more fantastic recipe from Kittencal! I didn't have bacon so used some ham chips and butter instead. Had to leave out the pepper flakes cuz DH isn't crazy about them. Used water and brown sugar, but not as much sugar as it called for. Oh My Goodness - this is by far, the best cabbage I have ever cooked! Have another head of cabbage, going to try Kittencal's sausage n cabbage recipe later this week. Yum Carol - you out do yourself every time! Thanks!

      Update 10/7/12 - cool fall day perfect for this recipe again! Used ham chips again but did have some bacon grease. Added some slice up polish sausage while onions were cooking, then removed them and added back just as cabbage was finishing up. OMGoodness - hubby can't get enough! Thanks Carol!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Really good, and other than the chopping, really quick and easy. I did leave out the pepper flakes, as I was making this for the in laws and they don't do spicy anything. My husband tried it, but still doesn't care for cabbage. Used white sugar, and like another reviewer, might cut it in half, or leave out entirely next time I make this. Used a thick cut apple wood smoked bacon. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      What a great recipe. Thanks to Kittencal, everyone thinks I can cook. I just didn't put in the garlic, as we don't like that. I fixed it for our New years day dinner, with Kittencal's crock pot ham, and also her roasted potatoes and carrots. Soooo good. Thanks Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Wow another great recipe! Thanks Kittenkal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      This was sooo good, yum bacon makes it awesome! The only thing I did different was instead of chopping the bacon first, I cooked it then crumbled it afterwards before adding it back. The sugar gives it the perfect sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Made this for my "Southern Boy" exactly as written. I had to cook it a bit longer than the recipe suggest, as SB likes it that way. I, on the other hand, had never fried cabbage, nor tasted fried cabbage, and I was very pleased with the results. SB said, "This is the best fried cabbage I've ever had!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Yummy! Loved it! There's nothing like fried cabbage and bacon. Mmmmmmm! Thanks, Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      I have to laugh, this recipe was made for one of KK's forum events, "Go For the Green". I have made 2 separate cabbage recipes in one week! I must say, though, both were equally wonderful recipes! With the leftover half head of cabbage from the first one, I made this, adding bacon with a few other ingredients. This is very, very good Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      My family loved fried cabbage but we have never made it with the bacon. So good. I really liked the flavor in these. I made this for our St. Patrick's Day dinner. Great addition, thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Great recipe, Kitten. We celebrated St.Patrick's Day with this, adding deli corned beef to the cabbage and bacon. I left out the brown sugar since it didn't seem to go with corned beef, but I'll add it next time around when the cabbage goes solo. A cold potato salad worked well as a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Delicious and easy, a winning combination in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      WOW..this is SO GOOD! I just had some left over cabbage that needed to be used, so I made this work loosely with what I had on hand. I used a bit of bacon grease, and sauted the garlic and crushed red pepper. I added a bit of hot water with scant tbsp brown sugar and tbsp powdered ck broth. Added some "real" bacon bits and fresh black pepper. I could not stay out of this, and look forward to make thing the entire recipe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Oh YUM! Never had fried cabbage...actually only ever had cabbage boiled or in coleslaw. This was very tasty and a nice diversion from our regular veggies. Kids liked it but were not crazy over it, DH and I gobbled it up. Made exactly as stated in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Very good. I left out the bacon and only used 1 tsp. brown sugar. Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      I have been craving fried cabbage like my Mom used to make. I tried this and I thought I was in heaven or back at my Moms. Thank you for a great recipe that I will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This was amazing, actually made it a week or so ago and forgot to rate it! I used very thick cut apple wood smoked bacon. Tasted so good, we could not get it from bowl to mouth quick enough. I think cabbage is my new favorite veggie! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Wonderful!! Love the addition of the brown sugar and peppers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Excellent. We enjoyed this for lunch today. I just kept my bacon in the pan. I used full amount of garlic and doubled the red pepper. I used water insted of chicken broth. Very nice Kittencal. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      this is just like my sweet and sour cabbage recipe. very tastey and easy side dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This was very good. :) I will add it to my list of meals. Very inexpensive and very tasty too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Fried Cabbage With Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    39%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 121.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites