Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's French Bread/Baguette (Kitchen Aid Mixer Stand Mixer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's French Bread/Baguette (Kitchen Aid Mixer Stand Mixer

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2009

      I wish there were more stars to rate with.....after trying the buttercreme frosting recipe {which turned out divine} I thought I would give bread making one more try and OH MY am I glad I did. The bread was wonderful; I cut the recipe in half but now am wishing I had made the complete recipe for 2 loaves. How yummy with butter right out of the oven. This will be my Baguette recipe from now on; no more buying them. Thanks once again for such a delicious recipe and the instructions were written out so well; so easy to follow. Saderbee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This is a really great bread recipe. It is easy to follow and I really liked how it was all stepped out (great for a first time bread maker like me). I would never have believed I could produce such great loaves! The only part that confused me a little was the rolling & seaming. Thankfully my chef husband came home in time to put me on the right track. The seam is on the long edge and means to "stick it down" as it were. I found the crust on this bread delicious. Next time - another tip from chefy - is to include bread improver or a little bit of vinegar in with the flour. Haven't tried it but he swears it will make it even fluffier! Hard to believe it possible though as these were very light and fluffy and great hot buttered with soup! Thanks so much for another super recipe Kittencal. Hope you like my pics, shame about the green tinge (we have fluorescent lighting in the kitchen). :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Thanks for a great recipe. This was truly the best French Bread I've ever made. Very easy to make and an amazing taste. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Thank you for yet another great recipe. I really like so many of your recipes and this one is fantastic. Also, thank you for the details that you include with the recipe. It really helps novices like me to ensure that my technique is correct and that the outcome is a good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      THis recipe used ot be called Fabulous French Bread and it was a recipe for baguettes. I lost the recipe and for 2 days was in such a bad mood. These baguettes are the best, just the best baguettes I have ever made. There aren't enough stars for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I needed a good bread recipe to go with my homemade spaghetti dinner, and this is the one I chose. It was so good! You didn't stir me wrong Kitten. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Kitten, I really am happy with your bread recipes. I can't believe how this bread rose perfectly. I divided the dough into 4 smaller loaves, but other than that followed this recipe exactly. The result was the BEST french bread I have ever made. You truly understand the art of bread making. (I am a true novice at bread making so I truly thank you for your recipes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      As advertised, quite possibly the BEST plain white homemade bread I have ever tasted. Perfect in color, texture, and flavor. I don't have a bread hook so I used the old flatten and fold kneading method, and my loaves might have looked even better in the bigger pan Kitten recommends. But everyone who looked at or bit into this loaf expressed amazement. Made for April 2008 Flour Power Photo Forum event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Absolutely the best French Bread I have ever made!!! WOW! was this recipe excellent! Fellowed the recipe exactly as stated. It has the best texture and flavor. I usually use a bread machine for french bread but NOT anymore!! This recipe is the # 1 one I will use from now on. Thanks so much Kittencal for sharing this fabulous bread recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I've never made bread before and decided to give it a try. The first time I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour. Yeah, that turned out more like a weapon and less like food. This time I used bread flour and followed the steps exactly. The outside is beautiful. The inside is a gummy mess. It looks almost like playdough. I know there is something wrong w/ me and not the recipe b/c everyone else is getting excellent results. Could someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? I would love to make this bread for my family! It looks so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Truly fabulous! I have never made bread EVER, I followed the instructions exactly, my husband was so impressed! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Thank you for this recipe, Kitten! There is not much I can say on this except :) It was simple enough to make following directions as listed. I did experiment slightly by simply shaping a small loaf instead of jelly-roll style. Only difference could be the rolled loaf was a little "smoother" in appearance. Definitely will keep this recipe within reach to make again! ~Buddha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Excellent French Bread with a wonderful flavor. My dough was very stiff with the 5 1/2 cups of bread flour but it was easy to work with and tasted wonderful. thanks Kitz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Great recipe. This was the best bread I've made. Didn't last long enough so I guess I'll have to double the recipe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's French Bread/Baguette (Kitchen Aid Mixer Stand Mixer

    Serving Size: 1 (1279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1607.0
     
    Calories from Fat 341
    21%
    Total Fat 37.9 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3505.8 mg
    146%
    Total Carbohydrate 273.6 g
    91%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 38.3 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites