165 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these with diced Smoked Ham and Aged Garlic White Cheddar. I cut the salt in half because the ham was salty. The eggs were giant and fluffy, which was delightful, and tasted great, though the ham made them slightly watery. You cannot taste the baking powder at all. DH loved them and suggested we try them several ways, perhaps with sausage or with fried country potatoes & parsley flakes stirred in like my Mom makes.

For those having trouble, I think the key here is that you MUST whisk the eggs quite a lot to get air into them (I like to zap them in a blender or food processor for 30 seconds if I'm making a larger batch), then you MUST let the whisked eggs rest 5-7 minutes in order for the baking powder to begin to take effect. Then the butter must be hot enough (sizzling) to finish activating the baking powder. I realize Kit's instructions are very clear on this, but I have made these so many times that I don't look at the recipe anymore, and if I forget even one of these important steps, I just get ordinary, dry, crumbly eggs. Also, I find that adding the cheese before the eggs are cooked leaves them runny, so I like to cook the eggs until they are about 30 seconds from done, then fold in the cheese and remove from heat.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Chef Lael January 08, 2011

BLESS YOU! I had NEVER been able to make scrambled eggs well even though I have been making them twice a week for 25 years....... until NOW! My family LOVES these eggs! Only other secret I would add- if all my family is awake :), I put the eggs in the blender first to whip them up- the volume is tripled- and makes eggs go much farther- good if you have a big family!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merried April 18, 2010

The best eggs ever!! I will always make ours like this from now on. I did use 1/4 t. baking powder and they are yummy with milk or whipping cream. My two year old didn't like to eat eggs until she tried these. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!!!!!!! I will say I found the baking powder is the easiest to mix in if you add it to just the milk (or whipping cream) then add the eggs and salt n pepper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrypalm8 May 24, 2010

Wanted to add this to my previous review...... For those of you less experienced cooks, no. Baking soda is not an acceptable substitution for the baking powder. It toughens the eggs and gives them a slightly greenish hue.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liebermom December 22, 2009

I felt silly using a recipe for scrambled eggs, but these are really so much better than my usual of throwing together some eggs and milk. I will use this recipe from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW July 19, 2014

The fluffiest eggs I have ever made. Even with my dietary modification it worked. I had read baking soda before tagging this recipe, when I realized it was baking powder (which we do not use because of corn or cream of tartar) I thought my typical substitution wouldn't work. I use baking soda and organic apple cider vinegar for the similar effect. I used canola oil as I didn't have butter on hand, Carnation evaporated milk as that is what was in the refrigerator, sea salt, plus the rest of the ingredients, no cheese. Made for All Aboard the L-O-V-E train! 1/23 - 2/14

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 25, 2012

Kittencal does it again. So perfect every time. I even used the tip from another reviewer to blend and WOW. A+

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha wanna-be Melissa May 06, 2010

These are GREAT fluffy eggs and I'll definitely make again but with a tad less salt next time. Thanks! Edited to add: Don't make the mistake of using baking soda instead of powder...not so good! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* October 13, 2009

These are the best scrambled eggs I've ever made. I've made them several times and they always come out perfect. I just use water, no milk, and I don't always use the cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PdxBarb July 12, 2009

Absolutely my go-to scrambled egg recipe. Just make sure to slide them out of the pan and onto the plate before they are "done" so that they're not overcooked. The baking powder is the hidden hero, helping to fluff the eggs up. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev September 01, 2008
Kittencal's Fluffiest Scrambled Eggs