356 Reviews

Kittencal, I absolutely appreciate your recipes. You definitely know what you're doing and have good taste and instincts when it comes to food. One thing I'd suggest for your Greek Salad is to let your chopped tomatoes, onions, cukes, and peppers, spend a few hours bathed in the dressing in the fridge, tossing periodically. Then introduce those much more flavourabe veggies to the lettuce, feta, and olives when serving. Thanks for being an ever trusted recipe resource. Cheers,

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DNRBlueliner May 18, 2010

The first time I made this recipe it was a 3 star recipe for me.
I just changed the directions it a bit and it was a five star recipe!! Here's what I did:
I mixed the basil, oregano, pepper, vinegar and oil and poured over the onions and let them sit for 1-2 hours. And sprinkled the sugar and salt on the tomatoes and let them sit for a few mins before tossing them into the salad. I mixed everything together (along with the onions, and their oil/vinegar). It was one of the best greek salad i ever had!!
Thank you kittencal for a fabulous recipe!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's December 21, 2010

This is a nice salad and comes very close to the one I often order in a local restaurant. I added a bit of chicken to ours to make it more of a meal. Dh really liked the dressing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer February 03, 2011

My family all loves this, and it's often requested at parties. Like others, I leave all the veggies in the dressing for a couple of hours. The leftovers are even better the next day.<br/>I realize 'original' Greek salad doesn't have lettuce, and it doesn't need to be included if it offends your sensibilities.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 December 09, 2013

Very nice, but the original recipe has no lettuce or lemon...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danae T. October 06, 2013

As the recipe states, this IS the best Greek Salad on the planet.............. I made this for a crowd and everybody loved it. I wish I could give it more then 5 stars. I did add parmesan and made it the night before. I also allowed it to sit at room temperature before serving. Thanks so much for sharing such a lovely recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice September 11, 2010

I made this today leaving out the Romaine and instead turned it into a pasta salad using tri-color Rotini. It was fabulous and the dressing was out of this world. A definite keeper! I love Greek food and worked in a Greek restaurant for years and the dressing was very authentic and tasted fresh and wonderful! I'm going to make it with the romaine next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee October 27, 2003

I've tried many recipes for Greek salad & this is definitely THE BEST! The only thing that I did differently was to use a combo of romaine & head lettuce. Thanx for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady October 06, 2003

I followed the recipe to the letter. I thought it was quite good, but it didn't "knock my socks off." I am still looking for the perfect Greek salad that I had in Greece. Maybe Arbequina olive oil (Italian, mild & fruity--my usual choice for salads) is too mild for this recipe. I think I'll try it again with a Greek OO. Or maybe it's my distaste for sugar, which I don't normally use, I'm very sensitive to the taste, I thought it could have been omitted entirely. I'll try it again without sugar. I absolutely agree with other reviewers to marinate the red onion & cucumber for a good hour at room temp. before adding the remaining ingredients. That's a must for me...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annwhal March 17, 2015

By far the best greek salad I've ever had. However, I could not imagine using an entire cup of oil. I did not use 3/4 cup, or even 1/4 cup. I only used 1 tablespoon. Also, since I wanted to keep the calories down, I added fewer olives and less cheese. This reduced the fat even further. I added maybe half a carrot for extra vitamin A and some quartered artichoke hearts because I like them. No changes at all, otherwise. Also, I was unclear whether I was supposed to add all of the dressing to the salad. I did, but it seemed excessive so I poured off most of it. As per Scotch Bob, I did marinate most of the veggies in the fridge with the dressing before putting everything over the lettuce and adding olives and cheese. I did include some parmesan cheese. I was not concerned about it's being authentic Greek or not. I would definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend February 28, 2014
Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad