Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Famous Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Famous Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    203 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 203

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2010

      I had to make this recipe with my mom(I am 11) for a horse rescue program I work with. They were having "EAT WITH YOUR HORSE DAY." We made this for everyone and they loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      This is excellent, and well it should be, 'cause the dressing (with the exception of the garlic powder) is the same as the KFC copycat coleslaw. My favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      I had never made coleslaw before and knew Kittencal was the go-to recipe! I got TONS of compliments on this and someone told me it was better than a certain local restaurant coleslaw that they loved. I wanted a creamy coleslaw because I was also serving bbq pork sandwiches and I threw it right on top. MAN was it so good. It's my go-to recipe and what I'll always make! (I did use the bagged claw instead of cutting my own because I do love my shortcuts). Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      I must admit that pretty much everything of yours that I try deserves at least 5 stars, Kittencal - this will be the only coleslaw recipe for this family from now on. Only changes I made were lower fat Hellmann's, 160 ml can evaporated milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 and I added some horseradish and Dijon mustard. Wonderful recipe, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      I knew your recipe would be a winner and you didn't disappoint me at all. Excellent coleslaw! I only used a scant 1/3 cup of sugar though as I didn't want it to be too sweet, but so so sweet to my taste. Absolutely delicious.. Couldn't have been happier with the way it turned out. Happy Cooking! THANK YOU!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !! I can't leave anything alone! THANK YOU!! Grpa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Wonderful coleslaw. I had to use bottled lemon juice (would have been better with fresh) and used homemade mayonaise. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Carol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      This is fabulous coleslaw! My husband is not a coleslaw fan and he really enjoyed it. I doubled it for two batches and there was more than enough dressing. I can see that allowing it to refrigerate overnight is a must. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar--I don't think 2 tblsp. of sugar is needed but if you like it with a little extra sweetness, go for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Like everyone said this tastes just like KFC or even Applebee's coleslaw. I was lazy and didn't feel like shredding the carrot and cabbage so I bought one of those coleslaw mix bags in the produce section. I didn't take into account that the purple cabbage they toss in that mix would BLEED purple and turn the whole dish purple. Still tasted perfect, just a funky color. Keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      I have loved everything I've made by Kittencal, but this recipe wasn't stellar for me. It wasn't very 'wet' and didn't have a very strong flavor after sitting 12 hours. It seemed overly sweet for me as well. I made an extra half batch of dressing, using stronger flavors and no additional sugar to add to the coleslaw. It was ok, but nothing I'd repeat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      This is the best cole slaw recipe . I have made it so many times and my son and my husband love it. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Wow, what a delicious creamy coleslaw! Like another reviewer, I made this to go on top of pulled pork sandwiches. It was my first shot at making both the sandwiches and the coleslaw. I knew your recipe would be a winner and you didn't disappoint. Funny, I actually made my own slaw as the grocery store was out of creamy coleslaw. So glad they were, otherwise I likely wouldn't have gotten to try your recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2014

      This is quite literally the most delicious coleslaw I have ever tasted. I crave it! I am from Texas and I know my Barbeque and my sides. When we cook out, my DH makes the most amazing Barbequed ribs you have ever tasted and I make this coleslaw and my BBQ Macaroni Salad. These Pacific Northwesterners don't know what to do with themselves! We always have requests for this delicious, easy recipe and there are never any left overs! Great job! It's the perfect tangy to sweet ratio and doesn't taste like mayonnaise. You nailed it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2014

      Excellent! <br/>I was a bit sceptical to try it; however, when I did...OMG! I was so surprised how good it was.<br/><br/>Delicious!<br/><br/>Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2014

      Made this for a 4th of July bbq- didn't find celery seeds here in Malta, so I used celery salt and just didn't add the salt from the recipe. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      No words needed. Hands-down AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      I made this for my son's graduation party last night to go along with pulled pork and grilled chicken. I got rave reviews. I used the stevia equivalent of the sugar to keep it sugar free. Best coleslaw I have ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      I used a bag of coleslaw mix, halved the recipe, no onions, chopped coleslaw mix into little pieces like KFC and this was just as tasty as theirs. Thanks for the keeper. Kittencal, you are one of my favorites on here. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

      Very good recipe! Love the addition of a little garlic powder. The sweetness was perfect. I used a bagged slaw and added some red onion. I have never had a bad Kittencal recipe. Thank you for the great recipes!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      This was perfect. ..nothing I hate mor than store bought coleslaw all vinegarie this was creamy. I used two prepackaged coleslaws for convenience cuz family was coming...made it night before and it was perfect and delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      Great recipe for Coleslaw. Best ever in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Famous Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.7
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    45%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 9.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 253.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes