Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Famous Barbecue Sauce for Chicken and Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Famous Barbecue Sauce for Chicken and Ribs

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2010

      I made the following subs for my friend who can't have corn products--corn syrup is in EVERYTHING just a bout. Use organic ketchup--I ran low so I subbed 6oz tomato paste and 1/4 c. vinegar. Use Koops mustard--no corn syrup For Worcestershire sauce use 1/3 c. soy + 1 Tbsp sugar + 1 Tbsp vinegar + 1 Tbsp and 1tsp Pickapepa sauce. The amounts are larger because I was doubling the recipe. This was a FANTASTIC bbq sauce. Everyone of our friends raved about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      Hands down, the best BBQ sauce I've ever had, and I've had quite a few. I had to chuckle at some of the comments that it's as good as bottled. No way....it far exceeds anything in a bottle. I followed the suggestion of omitting the oil and using a teaspoon each of onion and garlic powder. I also have a prepared mustard hater in my family, so I used a teaspoon of dry mustard instead. The next day when I went to use it, it was a bit thicker than I like, so I added a bit of water to make it more pourable. Definitely make a a double batch, because it will disappear before your eyes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      Wow!!! Top drawer...exceptional...better than any restaurant bbq sauce I have had!!! Sweet, smoky and all that you want from a first rate bbq sauce. I did make some changes though; I used 2 T olive oil, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup cider vinegar and 1 tsp liquid smoke! This was perfect for us! I am looking forward to using this on grilled cheese sandwiches, steaks, chicken, pulled pork....(and the list goes on and on!!!) Kudos Kitten for another "tried and true" recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      My family and I enjoyed this sauce very much. However, I did feel that 2tsp of pepper was an overwhelming amount, 1/2 a tsp would have been enough for me. I have a lot left over so I cant wait to try it on chicken. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I love this sauce! I had a recipe from taste of home years ago that was similar. I have been trying to find it forever and finally decided to look in here for inspiration. I doubled the vinegar because I love it super tangy but I'm sure it would have been just as amazing with 1/4 cup. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Amazing sauce. My kids LOVED it. When they say a dash of cayenne, make sure it is only a dash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      This was a very tasty BBQ sauce. Just the right sweetness. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      I love, love, love this recipe! I made a huge batch and canned it so we could have it at a moments notice. Easy and tastier than anything you'll buy at the grocery store!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      This is one of the best BBQ sauce recipe I have found. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Two words say it. Damn Good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Got to add another 5 star review for this recipe. So good! I didn't have the liquid smoke so I thought I'd see how it was without it and then add it if necessary. Kittencal was right though, you don't want to skip it! If you do you'll be missing out on all the great things everyone is saying about this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      There's not much I say that hasn't already been said. During the hour long simmering down though, you do have to stir constantly. Though this may be b/c of my cheap saucepan. Still, even with the burned pieces, this recipe came out very nicely. Kittencal's amazing. Everytime I do a best of search, her name comes up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This sauce is excellent! It's a little spicy, a little sweet, smokey and super thick! I used dried onions and garlic (I had no fresh) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I have used it on ribs and chicken so far and love it on both. My friends have used it on their burgers and said it was wonderful there as well. For reference, you really DO have to let this sit in the fridge for a day. Don't worry, its WELL worth the wait. Thanks Kittencal, I just LOVE all of your recipes I've tried!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Good stuff. I used red onions and hot garlic for a bit more none chili powder kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      awesome kittencal, doubled the recipe for 3 pork shoulders! Didn't change a thing, and I am making it again for 3 more pork shoulders for the fourth of July party- thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I made up the sauce to use on country style ribs at my mom's house. It was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      What a great BBQ sauce. Made it as directed with the exception of NOT packing down the brown sugar and it was plenty sweet for us. Make sure to let it sit overnight. The flavor is SO much better then when it is first made. Another wonderful recipe Kittencal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Excellent sauce! I made this a few weeks ago but dinner guests cancelled. I froze it and used it last night on ribs. Our mouths were doing a happy dance :) Thanks Kittencal

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2014

      Best BBQ Sauce I ever made. I didn't follow exact but really you cant go wrong with this one. The key is liquid smoke, gotta have it or it won't work. I have made sauce before but didn't have the smoke and wow what a difference. It literally tastes like right off the shelf just better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      I've made this barbecue sauce many times and loved it. This time I had to change it up. Reason...my husband is not allowed salt anymore so I've been playing with all sorts of recipes. I omitted the salt and used NO Salt ketchup. I found a low sodium worcestershire sauce. Liquid smoke has barely any sodium. This somehow was even better than before. Please do not omit the liquid smoke. It really does make the difference. Thanks again Kittencal for another incredible recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Famous Barbecue Sauce for Chicken and Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (1123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 805.7
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    27%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3367.4 mg
    140%
    Total Carbohydrate 151.1 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 134.6 g
    538%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes