Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Extreme Chocolate Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Extreme Chocolate Brownies

    Average Rating:

    234 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 234

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2011

      nothing short of amazing. I have not made one Kittencal recipe that hasn't been great. Have you written a book yet? If so I want to buy it, I'm sure all your classics will be in there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Wow, I can't believe this great brownie!! I thought I had the perfect brownie but I do believe this is at the top of the list. I do not like cake - like brownies but those soft and chewy and this fits the bill. I omitted 1 cut of chocolate chips at the end and added 1 cut walnuts. Very moist and rich! The office ate them before 10:00 a.m. You will think they are not done when you put a toothpick in them for it will come out wet, but they are done and when cool set up perfect. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      These were great! I didn't have enough chocolate chips, so I halved the recipe, used an 8x8 baking pan, and reduced the bake time to 30 minutes. I always thought you had to use cocoa powder for brownies, which I never have on hand, so it was nice to know you can use chocolate chips instead. I reduced the sugar like the recipe stated and the brownies were just sweet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Once again, thank you Kittencal for a great recipe. I like this recipe but it did turn out a little "cakey" for me, but it could have been because I substituted two things! I didn't have vanilla, so I used molasses, then I ran out of pure butter so I used butter AND vegetable oil. So, I think if I followed it to a "T" it would be great! However, even with the subbing, they turned out super moist, and delicious. I did cut the sugar, and the choc. chips, because I don't like super sweet stuff.
      Next time I will still cut the sugar, but I will use all of the choc. chips, I will also just melt all the chips - as my chips just sank to the bottom, and did not melt.
      Anyway, I will be making these again, with the right ingredients! But just so you know, this recipe IS very forgiving, and easy to make, and even easier to enjoy!
      Thanks Kitttencal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      I followed the recipe exactly and found these brownies to be more like a cake than brownie texture. They were more sugary than chocolaty.. I just all-around wasn't happy with them. They weren't gross but they weren't what I was looking for. This was the agreement among my group of friends, who were surprised since I usually have the yummiest baked goods to offer them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      These were very very good and DH devoured them in 2 days. I gave them 4 stars instead of 5 because we couldn't get the middle to set up properly and I think it might have been because of all of the chocolate chips (added 2nd time). The edges were great. It was a bit too sharply chocolate for me (and I LOVE chocolate), so I might try adding less chips if I make it again. Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I made this for a Christmas Eve party, and I *liked* them but didn't *love* them, hence the four stars. The recipe was great and I made it exactly as stated (baked the first batch for 35 mins and the second batch for 32 minutes to try to get them a little more moist) - but they came out more like little chocolate cakes than brownies - which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but just not what I wanted! I guess the four eggs should have been a clue! Anyway, one interesting thing, as a few others have said here, they were about 1000 times better the next day and the day after that - so keep that in mind - much less cakey and much denser and richer. Still, I have always used the RZ recipe for "Whatever Floats Your Boat" brownies (no. 32204) and will stick with that one for thinner, more gooey brownies, but if your prefer a chocolate-cake brownie, then do use this Extreme version - but make it the day before serving for sure. I didn't get any oooh and ahhs on Christmas Eve, but by the end of Christmas day these were all gone!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      Dry, cakey brownies, will not make again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Another winner from Kitten! Made three times to get them right (first two were my errors). Third time was the charm! My DH practically passed out from chocolate nirvana. Used coffee in place of the water. The only challenge for me is testing for doneness when there are lots of chips incorporated.I inevitably hit a chip every time I try to test so I never know for sure when they are done! I guessed the last time and they were just a little too wet for my taste, but the boys gobbled them up. Will make again and again. Thanks, Kitten, these are smashing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Hands down, best brownies ever! What a wonderful recipe, thanks Kittencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Excellent brownies! I made them for a Humanities class I am taking, and they may have gotten me an A...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I made this recipe for a bookclub meeting, and they were completely devoured. I followed the recipe exactly except the second step of chocolate chips was changed to a mix of semi-sweet chocolate, peanut butter chips, and butterscotch chips. I also used some walnuts in them, but I think I'll leave that out next time. My oven cooks hot, so I only baked for 35 minutes. They were extremely gooey when my husband and I dug in for the initial tasting. After letting them set-up over night, however, they were the perfect consistancy: kind of cakey on the outside with a fudgy center. They were so moist and chewy that everyone even asked if they were fudge. Unlike some other reviewers, I did use all four eggs. I can't imagine these being any chewier. Those who said these were cake-like overbaked them. Be careful to take them out and just let them set even if the toothpick isn't completely clean. This is a recipe that is definetly better after a day or so. One last thing: I used unsalted butter, which I believe is necessary for all serious baking. Try to find it instead of the margarine for a more clear taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      FANTASTIC BROWNIES!!!!!!!! They were nice and thick and fudgy. We all loved them. I live in Colorado so I did add two tablespoons of flour and made a slight indent with my finger into the leveled 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. Kittencal you sure do have wonderful recipes, thank you for sharing another great one :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      SO delicious! Best served with cold glass of milk :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      I guess you have to work hard to get nice brownies.. these brownies are really really good!! to date the best I have made (and to be very honest my most loved so far had been Betty Croker's.. I know boxed.. but they were just the right amount of crispy-fudgy-not too sweet for me).. I made them with a bit less than 1 cup of sugar, used good quality dessert chocolate for the mix, and did 50% peanut butter chips 50% chocolate chips. <br/>My only issue here is the process.. I needed to wash 1 pan + 3 bowls + electric whisk + whisk + spatula (at least) for this recipe.. so as I said a good thing that you need to invest a bit of extra effort on, even if it is really worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      These brownies were amazing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

    • on September 17, 2013

      These were really good. The middle did not bake as well as I would have liked. I think that the 2 cups of chocolate chips was too much. Next time I will try 1 cup and probably use the mini chocolate chips. I did enjoy how long these lasted which wasn't long with a house full of teenagers. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      AMAZING! Kept well sitting out for a couple days, too. Our goto brownie recipe! My only caveat is that the edges cook WELL before the center. I read on here this may be because of the chocolate chips. I will need to try with melting them all, next time, to see if that helps. Keep an eye on 'em in the oven and if anyone has any suggestions for a more even cooking, please let me know. (I DID try to cover them while cooking, but it didn't help.)<br/><br/>Edited to add: I've made these several times since. Here are my thoughts:<br/><br/>1. Don't over cook or cook until they look "done." If you do that, it will end up like a very dry cake with all of your chocolate chips on the bottom somewhat dry and slightly burned.<br/><br/>2. Instead, cook the brownies in a LARGE pan (they really rise from all those eggs!) until they no longer shake like jelly in the middle when you shake the pan. Once it's firm enough not to shake, leave them in another minute or two and then take them out! THEY WILL NOT LOOK DONE! But, once they cool, they will firm up into very fudgy ooey gooey brownies that are absolutely heavenly.<br/><br/>3. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      Oh my goodness... What a wonderful recipe! I just made these for a gathering of women and their children for this afternoon, and I'm almost afraid to take them. :) I doubled the batch and used 4 - 8x8 disposable, aluminum cake pans (one pan to keep for hubby and I). After they cooled, (before tasting), I went ahead and sifted powdered sugar over the top of all pans... YIKES!!! The mom's are gonna kill me for serving this to their kids! Soooo rich, but delicious!!! I wouldn't change a thing to this recipe. Mine looked very thin, separated into the 4 pans at the start, but baked up beautifully (and I'm not a good baker). Thank you for posting this awesome recipe. (Made for "Name That Ingredient" tag game). P.S. I did not use any nuts, for fear that some of the children may be allergic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Extreme Chocolate Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (1583 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.5
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    48%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 29.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 90.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes