Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Easy Tuna or Chicken Noodle Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Easy Tuna or Chicken Noodle Casserole

    Average Rating:

    146 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 146

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2010

      This was very good. I did not add the Parmesan cheese, pimientos, or green peppers (everything I hate) and it was still very good. I used left over chicken. After simmering the sauce for 15 min. I should have known better than to put it in the oven for another 25 min. By simmering it, it thicken up pretty good and then by baking it, it got extremely dry. Still good mind you but for leftovers I will add more milk. Just adding the hot noodles after simmering would be just right for eating or else not simmering sauce just put in oven for 30 min. I will make again but will adjust the cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This was delicious no suprise with it being Kittencal's recipe.... Instead of piemento and bell pepper I just stirred in a cup and a half of frozen peas and carrots b/c it was what I had on hand. I also used whole wheat macaroni also all I had but the sauce and flavor profile was exactly what I was looking for. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This was very easy and very tasty. I doubled the noodles and used 1 1/2 pounds of cooked chicken. Next time I will be sure to make a little more sauce as it dries out a bit in the oven (when using so many noodles and so much chicken). Very, very yummy. My husband asked if we could have it again this week. Never had a request for the same meal twice in one week before! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Super recipe!!! I added extra mushrooms but did not have the pimiento or celery. It tasted great and the kids loved it. I also used bread crumbs mixed with melted butter and sprinkled on top. A super easy and fast recipe that will be in my meal rotation from now on!!! Thanks Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      This is delicious. I used frozen peas instead of a green pepper, and I used milk and light sour cream. The first time I made it, I forgot to mix the butter with the noodles, so I melted it and mixed it with townhouse crackers and parmesan cheese for the topping, and it was really good. I would recommend cooking the onions till they're tender first and then mixing everything else in with them when you're making the sauce. I'm making it again right now and I added some chopped tomatoes just because I needed to use them up...I'm sure it will still be amazing! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      I don't really care much for Tuna Casserole. Have made it a few times, however my family enjoys it. So I found this recipe. OMG, soo! tasty. I didn't have any parmesan cheese so I used two sliced of swiss processed cheese. Used a bit a celery, the onion, red pepper, which I sauteed, then I used these yummy Carr's Cheese Melts for the topping, since they were the only kind of crackers I had in the house. Very, very good, Will definitely be making this on a regular basis. Thank you Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      This is a delicious, but so quick to make, tuna casserole. I sauteed the celery, onions and used fresh garlic. Also, I grew up on the tuna casserole with peas so I added those. I loved the flavor of the sauce with the soup, sour cream and milk. This is one tasty casserole! I loved it. Thanks for yet another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      This is the classic tuna noodle casserole that I grew up eating. I loved all of the add ins, like the pimientos, because they added a lot of great flavors. The only thing I did differently was to substitute bread crumbs for the crushed Ritz crackers. Thanks for the lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      I had a tuna casserole craving and how can you miss with a recipe from Kitten? This was EXCELLENT. Made exactly as directed minus the pimento which I didn't have, next time I will. Used light sour cream also. DH, isn't always a big fan of casseroles and even he said it was the best he'd ever had, high praise indeed! Oh! I also didn't have Ritz crackers, and used crushed ripple potato chips instead, they worked very well. Thanks Kitten, the next time I get the craving I'll know where to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Very good and simple to make. I hate celery so I excluded that and used a red bell pepper instead of green. We love garlic so I used the lower measurement of the powdered garlic and added a minced clove. I also wound up using about 10oz of tuna, which made it more hearty for my high metabolism hubby. Instead of crackers I topped it with crushed cheddar sticks, which added a nice little tangy finish. Will make again and tweak with other options like mushrooms or peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Made as directed with the following changes: Left out pimiento, added 1/2 cup of peas, added 5 mushrooms (4 oz) sliced and sauteed in butter, and I substituted buttered bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese in place of the crackers for the topping. This is so much better than my bland old tuna casserole recipe. This will be my go to recipe from now on. I think next time I may try this without the green pepper - I'm not used to that ingredient in my tuna casserole. This was really wonderful today as hubby was sick as well. Always a great comfort food. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      It turns out a bit dry after baking. I'm not sure how to make it creamier. The flavor is okay. Perhaps the parmesean cheese makes it dry. I'm not sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      The only veggies I had on hand were onions and peas, so thats all I used.I thought all the flavors mixed well together. I would make this again. Especially for potlucks.
      Another recipe to add to my favorites from kittencal. :) (Everytime I make meatballs I use the one you posted. It's been about 3 years!~)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      As if this needed another review..but this was so good. I was craving the classic from childhood and found it. I did leave out all the veggies, did not have parmesan, and forgot to butter the noodles and used two cans of tuna and it came out exactly how I remembered my mom making! I too wanted to add peas but didn't have any buy will next time. Thanks again for another winner Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      YUMMY! Best tuna casserole I've ever had! Next time I'll add more pimiento and green pepper. I also used green onions. I topped with crackers but will try the cheese as others have suggested. Thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      This was delicious! I made exactly as directed except I added two 5oz cans of tuna. Turned out really creamy, and the Ritz crackers gave it a nice added flavor on top. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I agree with Cheff #396380 - why look elsewhere? The only changes I made were that I used fresh garlic and I sauteed the vegetables before adding the cream of mushroom soup, milk and sour cream. I didn't have pimento but I did have most of a red pepper that I chopped fine. I think I might add some kick next time - crushed red pepper flakes or hot sauce. I didn't add salt because there's enough in the soup. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Easy and delicious. Used 1 can of tuna and a leftover grilled chicken breast. Also substituted some veggies and used regular macaroni noodles instead of egg noodles. In other words, you can't go wrong with this one. I usually won't eat tuna, but I'll be putting this dish in my repeat performers rotation! Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This was so much better than the "normal" soup can recipe. I usually shy away from them. But, I did saute my mushrooms, onions, and red bell peppers prior to adding the remaining ingredients. I used left over grilled chicken breasts and added a few seasonings to our taste and we loved it. The crackers definitely add to the flavor so next time I think I'll bake it in a 9x13 pan and use more crackers so everyone gets a taste not just those who scoopy from the top. My husband loved it and he's generally not someone who enjoys a casserole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      this was delicious! we had two servings each at dinner. i added quite a bit of chopped fresh mushrooms, used whole milk and substituted italian bread crumbs for the crackers on top. i will not do that next time as i think the bread crumbs didn't quite work (may have been better if i had buttered them so they would have crisped up, i think i put too many bread crumbs on as well). anyway, next time i will do the crackers as called for, and i think i will brown the onions and mushrooms in butter and add peas (in exchange for green pepper probably) as some other reviewrs have suggested. thanks for the great recipe, it is so versatile too. i look forward to trying with rotisserie chicken which i imagine will be very rich and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Easy Tuna or Chicken Noodle Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 691.0
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    44%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 90.0 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1114.2 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 24.0 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites