Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Easy Stir and Drop Cheese Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Easy Stir and Drop Cheese Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2009

      These are great! Quick to make with delicious results and practically no clean up. I rarely go through the trouble to roll out biscuits since I can make these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Very good biscuits. Lite, moist and flavor.
      I added garlic powder and parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      This is a great and easy recipe - I loved that I didn't have to cut the butter in - so smart! They baked up beautifully - moist and fluffy inside with a nice light crust. I made a couple additions just because we prefer a little more flavor, but this recipe will be my basic biscuit from now on, regardless what spices I am in the mood to add. I baked in a cast iron skillet (warmed slightly before dropping the biscuits in) - which gave the biscuits a nice crust on the bottom. Just for a little extra flavor, I added dried shallots to the melted butter and let them sit to reconstitute while the butter was cooling, before mixing into buttermilk. I also shook a little old bay, garlic powder and cayenne into dry/cheese mix before combining with the wet. Oh - and I added a large handful of shredded Parmesan cheese along with the (generous) 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar. Mmmm. Thanks so much Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      The first time I made these, I followed the recipe to the letter and they were perfect. Fluffy, yummy, simple. My husband loves them! I just made them again, but this time I threw in some finely chopped ham and a dash of dried parsley. I also didn't brush the tops with butter, I like them a little lighter. This recipe can handle anything you throw in it haha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      Paired these biscuits with Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy and my family can't do enough for me to show their appreciation! http://www.food.com/recipe/kittencals-sausage-sawmill-gravy-with-biscuits-258508 Subbed gluten-free flour mix and added 4 tsp. xanthan gum due to a wheat allergy. Omitted the cheese for personal preference. These are our new favorite biscuits. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I just dropped a note on your website regarding these biscuits. VERY GOOD! These are easy to make and very delicious. I took your advice which you posted on your website regarding the garlic powder option. I took that option by adding 1 tsp of garlic powder to a doubled recipe (1/2 tsp for a regular recipe). Kitten you are the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      These biscuits were easy to make and delicious. The recipe made 16 biscuits, and my family of four ate them all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I am definitely biscuit challenged but with this recipe I made nice flavorful biscuits. Used parchment paper on my baking sheet and did make sure to chill the buttermilk and bring the butter to room temperature. Topped the biscuits with Kitten's Kittencal's Sausage Sawmill Gravy (With Biscuits) so didnt brush them with the butter. Wont worry about rolling biscuits out anymore! Thank you sweets for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Interesting method - worked out well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Wow, I wish I could give these 10 stars! Quick & easy to put together they produce a light texture biscuit that's melt-in-your-mouth yummy. I made as instructed and added the garlic powder. They reminded me of the garlic cheesy biscuits you get at Red Lobster but WAY BETTER!!! I will be making these often and you should too! :) Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      This biscuit is better than any you could get at a restaurant. Absolutely delicious! DH and I had these with Hamburger Soup. A great combination! Another winner KITTEN!!!! Made in honor of John for Kittencal Cookathon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Never having made biscuits before, and being from a country where we call cookies biscuits, I discovered that I had made what we call, scones! :lol: So now I know! very easy, followed the instructions to a T, I also found I didnt need to stir too long before my butter clumped. I added the garlic powder, and found these to delicious little savoury snacks. Thank you for introducing me to a new concept, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      These go together very quickly and the buttermilk gives them a very nice flavor. The texture was really pleasant as well, a little flaky on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. I used white cheddar cheese. After adding the butter to the chilled buttermilk, it almost immediately went to little pieces... the directions say to stir for 1 minute, so I kept stirring and all of the little chunks started to form one big chunk, so probably I wouldn't stir that extra minute if the butter forms pieces right away next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Easy Stir and Drop Cheese Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.5
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    55%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 33.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 438.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes