53 Reviews

Give them time -- they're terrific! I made them exactly according to the recipe. After a week, we cracked open a jar and the consensus was that they were too salty and not enough pickle-y. After another week, the pickley-ness has improved dramatically. They're crisp and crunchy and taste like pickle barrel pickles from the deli. Mmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goldie21047 August 07, 2015

Absolutely delicious!! I have a great crop of cucumbers from my garden this year & this recipe has saved me! The ratio between salt and vinegar is perfect. The pickles come out crisp, briny and are refreshing!! I added jalapeño to several jars and couldn't keep those in the fridge!! Have been searching for the perfect balance of flavors & this simple recipe is a winner!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie G. July 18, 2015

Really Great. Nice and crisp with just the right amount of garlic and dill. I used seedless cucumbers qne the worked just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bill mayes October 24, 2014

I tested this recipe and another called "spicy refrigerator dill pickles". This one was horrible. Salty and nothing else. These aren't really pickles, they're just salty cucumbers. If you'll notice, the people giving these good reviews altered the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennySmith August 16, 2014

I made Kittencal"s easy refrigerator kosher garlic dill pickles last year and am making them again this morning.<br/><br/>They are fantastic! So much easier then canning. Thanks Again for this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonbrine13_8901834 August 11, 2014

I'm revising my previous review as the pickles tasted better the next day, day 8. They're still a bit salty for me but the hubby likes them. I had also added some red pepper flakes. In the next batch I'm trying a bit more vinegar and a less salt and some sugar, we'll see.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awesomes July 27, 2013

Amazing!!! I am a pickle lover, and when I read that someone said they tasted like Claussens (my fav pickle ever) I had to make these! They are just like them, so tasty!!! I am one happy girl! I made them last night and I cant stay out of the jar. Thankfully I made 3 jars so I will definitely wait to try some after 7 days or longer too. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emerymay September 15, 2012

Yet another fabulous recipe from Kitten. My husband is a food snob......so particular. He loves these pickles! We all do. On my second batch right now. Had to get a bigger pickle jar....thanks Kitten

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahamil June 21, 2012

Fabulous recipe! I, just like some other reviewers doubled the vinegar as well as adding the brine hot. 1/4" thick slices surprisingly were still crunchy without adding alum or grape leaves. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dwayne220 May 24, 2012

I love these!!!! Made just as written and found them to be delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 August 20, 2011
Kittencal's Easy Refrigerator Kosher Garlic-Dill Pickles