Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Easy Refrigerator Kosher Garlic-Dill Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Easy Refrigerator Kosher Garlic-Dill Pickles

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2008

      YUM!! I messed up and didn't let the brine cool before pouring over cucumbers... but it didn't hurt them at all! They are so crunchy and good!! I'm a pickle snob (very picky) and I love these! Thanks for the easy, tasty recipe! Update: I'm finally coming to the end of that first batch that I reviewed almost 2 months ago. They are still crunchy and tasty... they taste very close to Claussens only better... crunchier! And the garlic flavor is awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      I have to go along with many of the other reviewers. I doubled the vinegar in these and added a tblsp. pickling spice. They were SO good! So good, in fact, that I then made MANY more jars. I even did fresh green beans. (My sons favorite) I did find that the whole cucumbers took just too long to taste pickled, so all the extra jars were done with slices and spears. I added a pepper to some, nice flavor. I think the basic recipe is fabulous for experimenting. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      I wish I could give a non-rated review, because quite frankly, I altered my first try with this recipe based on the water/vinegar ratio, which I also felt was way off. After some research, I opted for 2 quarts of water, and used 2 1/2 cups of white vinegar. I didn't chop my dill as well as I should have, but used 3 heads in each quart jar, plus chopped fresh, plus a small tsp of dried dill. The only other thing I added was a 1/2 tsp of turmeric to each jar. This recipe then made 3 quarts. One quart I made thick sliced coins, one quart spears, and one whole pickles. I liked the coins the best. With altering the water/vinegar, I would give the recipe 4.5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      Wish I could give a better review, but I found the taste not that good. Too bitter, and too much salt. I tried a couple of other pickle recipes that turned out great, so it wasn't the cukes.<br/>Sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      I am like many of the other reviewers in that these are wonderful pickles. They taste better than the store bought refrigerated pickles I would buy. Because there are only two of us, I adjusted the recipe to make only one quart. I also adjusted the water to vinegar ratio. I also put a few slices of jalapeños for a little spicier pickle. When my friend tried one, she was truly shocked because they were so good. Thanks Kittencal for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      I hate to give bad reviews, but I agree 100% with Leezah's review. The water/vinegar ratio is way off. Not nearly enough vinegar to "pickle" the cucumbers. They just taste like salty cucumbers. I don't know, maybe they're supposed to - but that's not how I like my pickles. And they did not keep well at all. Within a month they were all slimy and mouldy (and I followed all the directions exactly.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I made these a few weeks ago and they are delicious. After about a week they were okay, but after about 2 weeks...yum. Everyone that has tried them wants the recipe. Crisp and perfect. I made the huge jar that I submitted a picture for. I did add extra garlic and dill. I also threw in a small pinch of tumeric. I followed the suggestions by using distilled water, and also made sure to go get some kosher salt. They had it at Target. I'm making another batch today because they are going so fast. I highly recommend that you try these really, really easy pickles. Love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Best Pickles Ever!!! I had a bumper crop of pickles and peppers (habenero) so I added one chopped pepper in each jar as well as extra vinegar and garlic. They came out with great flavor and a touch of heat. Still really crunchy and good dill and garlic flavor. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      Great pickles! I did modify the recipe slightly by using 4 cups of water and 1 cup vinegar, and also reduced the salt to 3 TBSP. Using a 2 qt. (half-gallon) jar I still had 3/4 cup of brine leftover. Also used extra garlic and dill and cut the pickles into spears then in half. I will be making these again....addictive...but next time I will not chop the dill up and use it whole. I didn't like all the dill weed and sediment sticking to the pickles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      i increased water to two quarts,and vingar to 2 1/2cups,these are great pickles,everyone loves them can't keep then in the fridge very long and so easy to make

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      I tasted mine after 8 days and they were good; but after 11 days, they were fantastic! I did 2 jars; one with whole cucumbers and the other with spears. The spears really took on the dill and garlic. They really made my Weight Watchers Cuban Sandwich. I can't wait to try these again!
      .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I made these on October 27th and they still don't taste like pickles, they are very weak in flavor and still taste a bit like bland cucumbers. I followed the recipe exactly, any ideas on what went wrong?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I just made these last night and couldn't wait even 24 hours to test, some of the jars looked done, I omitted the peppercorn added pickling spices and I don't think I will ever have to buy pickles again I am in love with these pickles, also added crushed red peppers to a few jars for a little spicy flavor, not bad at all. Thanks so much. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      These are really tasty! My MIL made these for us previous years but now we have a garden and make our own. We really like these pickles, they were so easy to make. My husband can't let them rest the whole 7 days before he's in them. Thanks for a great recipe for all my cucumbers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      This is a great recipe, I have used it evey year since having a garden and raising cucumbers! The difference I use for crispy pickles is to soak cucumbers after washing in ice in an ice chest for at least 2 hours but not longer than 6 hours. My pickles are a hit, family and friends all want more!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Day 6 of using recipe...Couldn't stand opening frig one more time with out looking at my pickles....So beautiful in the 1/2 gallon jars. Gave in to temptation! Brunch...1, 2, 3, pickles! I could eat the whole jar! These are the ultimate best in the world! Thank you for the recipe! I'm a pickleaholic and the store bought make my ankles swell. Our old time family recipe was good, but too much salt and little crunch. I have tried many a recipe through out the years and they didn't make my palette happy...Thank you for sharing!... p.s. Have tried several of your recipes, most excellent. Made my world stop to say thanks for all. Will try to be more 'dill-e-gent' in the future...:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      MMMMM...Drool...MMMMM. These were so good. I made them in quart jars, and adjusted the amount of garlic and dill in each, and decided the perfect amount was about 1/3C of dill and 1/4C of garlic (per half recipe). I also quarted the pickles to make them into spears so they would absorb more of the brine. So good, they were gone within three days of opening. I will not buy pickles as long as I have fresh cukes on hand! For my second batch I plan on reusing the brine left in the jars and just reboiling it (since it's already infused with the garlic and dill). Thanks as usual Kitten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I had no idea it would be this easy to make pickles out of my garden cucumbers. This is exactly the kind of recipe I needed. I left hem for 10 days and I found them to be a little salty though (and I'm a salt lover), so for my next batch I cut the kosher salt in half for my next batch -- we;ll see! I used rice vinegar so I doubled the vinegar becasue I think it's less strong. I also used white peppercons instead of black, because that's what I had. But still, it is a great recipe and just what I needed as a basis... seasonings can always be adjusted to taste. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      I'm so very glad I tryed this recipe, Kit thank you for another great reccommendation, these are just as good if not even better than the kosher dills from the store, and this is such an easy recipe. I am making more with the small cucumbers from the garden as soon as this batch is finished. thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      Here is another great recipe by Kittencal! Wonderful taste, crunch, dill & garlic flavor. I am already on my second batch of these. Thanks for doing it again Kitten! This one's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Easy Refrigerator Kosher Garlic-Dill Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (2460 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.7
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    81%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14180.7 mg
    590%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    whole black peppercorns

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites