53 Reviews

YUM!! I messed up and didn't let the brine cool before pouring over cucumbers... but it didn't hurt them at all! They are so crunchy and good!! I'm a pickle snob (very picky) and I love these! Thanks for the easy, tasty recipe! Update: I'm finally coming to the end of that first batch that I reviewed almost 2 months ago. They are still crunchy and tasty... they taste very close to Claussens only better... crunchier! And the garlic flavor is awesome!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not-2-Sweet October 10, 2008

I have to go along with many of the other reviewers. I doubled the vinegar in these and added a tblsp. pickling spice. They were SO good! So good, in fact, that I then made MANY more jars. I even did fresh green beans. (My sons favorite) I did find that the whole cucumbers took just too long to taste pickled, so all the extra jars were done with slices and spears. I added a pepper to some, nice flavor. I think the basic recipe is fabulous for experimenting. Thank you so much for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hubbycooks January 15, 2011

I wish I could give a non-rated review, because quite frankly, I altered my first try with this recipe based on the water/vinegar ratio, which I also felt was way off. After some research, I opted for 2 quarts of water, and used 2 1/2 cups of white vinegar. I didn't chop my dill as well as I should have, but used 3 heads in each quart jar, plus chopped fresh, plus a small tsp of dried dill. The only other thing I added was a 1/2 tsp of turmeric to each jar. This recipe then made 3 quarts. One quart I made thick sliced coins, one quart spears, and one whole pickles. I liked the coins the best. With altering the water/vinegar, I would give the recipe 4.5 stars!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeandMsJones September 17, 2010

Great pickles! I did modify the recipe slightly by using 4 cups of water and 1 cup vinegar, and also reduced the salt to 3 TBSP. Using a 2 qt. (half-gallon) jar I still had 3/4 cup of brine leftover. Also used extra garlic and dill and cut the pickles into spears then in half. I will be making these again....addictive...but next time I will not chop the dill up and use it whole. I didn't like all the dill weed and sediment sticking to the pickles.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyberchef August 21, 2013

Wish I could give a better review, but I found the taste not that good. Too bitter, and too much salt. I tried a couple of other pickle recipes that turned out great, so it wasn't the cukes.<br/>Sorry

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby July 29, 2013

I am like many of the other reviewers in that these are wonderful pickles. They taste better than the store bought refrigerated pickles I would buy. Because there are only two of us, I adjusted the recipe to make only one quart. I also adjusted the water to vinegar ratio. I also put a few slices of jalapeƱos for a little spicier pickle. When my friend tried one, she was truly shocked because they were so good. Thanks Kittencal for another great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmolsen1_7822432 July 28, 2011

I hate to give bad reviews, but I agree 100% with Leezah's review. The water/vinegar ratio is way off. Not nearly enough vinegar to "pickle" the cucumbers. They just taste like salty cucumbers. I don't know, maybe they're supposed to - but that's not how I like my pickles. And they did not keep well at all. Within a month they were all slimy and mouldy (and I followed all the directions exactly.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalB September 02, 2010

I made these a few weeks ago and they are delicious. After about a week they were okay, but after about 2 weeks...yum. Everyone that has tried them wants the recipe. Crisp and perfect. I made the huge jar that I submitted a picture for. I did add extra garlic and dill. I also threw in a small pinch of tumeric. I followed the suggestions by using distilled water, and also made sure to go get some kosher salt. They had it at Target. I'm making another batch today because they are going so fast. I highly recommend that you try these really, really easy pickles. Love.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeffreyj0125 August 07, 2010

Best Pickles Ever!!! I had a bumper crop of pickles and peppers (habenero) so I added one chopped pepper in each jar as well as extra vinegar and garlic. They came out with great flavor and a touch of heat. Still really crunchy and good dill and garlic flavor. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Crack Corn December 04, 2009

i increased water to two quarts,and vingar to 2 1/2cups,these are great pickles,everyone loves them can't keep then in the fridge very long and so easy to make

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickiprudhomme August 07, 2011
Kittencal's Easy Refrigerator Kosher Garlic-Dill Pickles