204 Reviews

OMG, this is the best cupcake I have ever tasted. It did tasted strange but it was good....... <br/><br/>YUM YUM YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mineplex6 October 20, 2014

They are great just made them I am topping them with a strawberry cream cheese icing I will submit a pic

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
estjohn3 June 10, 2014

I'm not so sure these ARE cupcakes in the traditional sense. They remind me A LOT of an old fashioned "cake" my grandmother used to make. Not at all like a popular cake, but a cake made before the invention of the lubricant we now pass off as the "edible" crisco. We've always made these as muffins, and then added flavors and fruits as we wanted -- never icing as they aren't cupcakes. Oh, and we try not to use crisco, but rather butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica S. June 11, 2013

Easy, moist, yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennwigand May 24, 2013

Even though it didn't turn out how I thought it was, I love cornbread! We just ate them without icing...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessieSnow March 02, 2013

i did it and it tastes so good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EleniMMM February 18, 2013

It is almost exactly like the Amy Sedaris Vanila cupcake recipe except she uses butter,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookie_fairy October 26, 2012

I WON !
Grange Lodge #798 had a cupcake contest on April 3, 2012 and I won! I used this recipe exactly, however the secret is to use a ceramic muffin pan. Just put the paper liners with the
batter 3/4 high, in the pan and bake. The pan kept them moist and in the other pan I used, which was metal, the cupcakes were dry. I guess I will try the last reviewer's updated version and see how they turn out. The recipe is so easy, using ingredients that are in the pantry; that I think it is worth it to get this recipe right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smokey Garguillo April 05, 2012

April 4 2012: I noticed reviews were getting bad for this recipe that I have used and loved for years. I got worried so I dug out the recipe I printed in 2007 to compare. The recipe has been changed. It used to have 3.5 tsp of baking powder, 1 cup half and half or milk, and 3 eggs, maybe that changed the texture.

Ohmy OH...MY! I just made these with the choc. buttercream icing....YUMMY! So easy to make and so delicious! Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinouStars April 04, 2012

I thought theses were great. The only things i changed were: Change the shortening to vegetable oil. Add one cup of Milk. Add two tablespoons of Vanilla. Use Splenda.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheBodybuildingChef February 22, 2012
Kittencal's Easy One-Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes