Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Easy One-Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Easy One-Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    199 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 199

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2009

      I made these and served them about 4 hours later. They were not good and although the birthday boy was gracious, he agreed that they are not a "redo". I used the icing from Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes) which was very tasty. Basically, everyone was eating the icing instead of the cupcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I just finished making this recipe and your "Vanilla Buttercream Frosting". A good baker I am however the cupcakes (outside of being unhealthy w/the amt. of shortening used) did not have any flavor to them. I was thoroughly disappointed. It's been a long time since I've made cupcakes from scratch and sorry but these didn't cut it for me. I had to throw them away,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I was very excited to try this recipe after seeing all of the wonderful reviews but I didn't have the best luck with my attempt. They came out more like corn bread though I didn't mind that too much. Some of my cupcakes overflowed the muffin cup and on taking them out the tops came right off! LOL!! Maybe I baked them too long? The flavor was just ok for me. Although this recipe now restores my faith in 'One Bowl' recipes. I tried a different one bowl recipe from a cookbook and they came out awful, dry and texture-less . So now I know they don't all come out that way. This was a nice recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      I use a lot of Kittencal's recipes, and they're usually spot on. The recipe definitely didn't work, but I was able to salvage it and make something delicious. Initially, batter was way too thick - almost doughy, so I checked the reviews to see if anyone else had noted it and realized I should start reading reviews before I start cooking! Since it hadn't gone into the oven yet, I added about 1/4 cup of vegetable spread, and 1/4 cup of liquid (I used eggnog, since many reviews said it needed something). That batch didn't rise and came out looking like dense mini cornbread, but the flavor was pretty good from the 'nog. I added 1/2 cup of milk and eggnog to the batter so that the batter was more loose, like a cake batter. I thought it didn't leaven properly the first time, so I added 1 tsp of baking soda as well. Viola! I have the most amazing, delicious, fluffy eggnog cupcakes ever! I think the best overall fix is to add the baking soda, 1/4 c of butter/margarine, and 1/2-3/4 cup milk/cream/eggnog to loosen up the batter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      Oh my goodness where do I begin! These cupcakes are horrible and do have a yorkshire pudding type of problem as others have noted. I have tried these on 3, THREE, separate occasions and followed the recipe exactly and they came out horribly. They fall, run over, and never come out like a true domed ideal cupcake. I use the correct cooking temperature, filled them 1/4 of the way (not even half) to ensure they wouldn't run over, aluminum lined cups in cupcake tins, and I have done everything possible short of praying for these to come out right but they haven't. There is something truly wrong with this recipe. Please, skip this cupcake. I have wasted much money and frustration on this garbage of a recipe. How it ever got to be rated so high is beyond me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      These are very good cupcakes and incredibly easy to prepare. They rose evenly and had a good vanilla flavour. I did two batches - one with butter and the other with vegetable oil and they were both good. Easy cleanup and would have given 5 stars but thought they could have been just a tad moister but maybe that was just me??? I added a couple of pictures. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I made these as written and they were a little too sweet for me. Next time I'll add a 1/4 cup less sugar as suggested. I added some extra half and half because the batter seemed thick. The texture of the cupcakes was beautiful. I got 19 cupcakes plus one tiny one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      YUMMY!!! KittenCal said "one bowl" so I went even easier and threw EVERYTHING at the same time into a blender and hit the mix button! I used stick margarine in place of Crisco or Butter since there was a debate. They came out PERFEECT!!! A great vanilla base for your favorite icing to be the star!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I found these cupcakes a little too dense and a little boring for vanilla cupcakes. I suppose my standards should be lower when searching for plain cupcakes, I don't know what I excpected. They still tasted good though, and dissapeared in a couple of days, even with my additions of chocolate chips etc. to make them more interesting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I didn't really care for these cupcakes. I thought the flavor was okay, but I ended up not using them because of the dense texture. My preference leans more towards the lighter, fluffier cupcakes. They were very easy though. Also, I never had this happen before, but the color from the cupcake liners was actually sucked off the liners and into the cupcakes. I've used these liners before and since without this phenomena happenning, so I am assuming it is something in the mix, but I have no idea what! Possibly the shortening? I don't normally use shortening so maybe this happens normally with shortening based batters. Anyway, very strange.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I must have done something very wrong!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I followed this recipe to a T and the cupcakes came out dry and actually kind of stale-tasting. They were better with lots of frosting, but I was hoping for more of a moist cupcake. Other reviewers noted the cupcakes came out rather greasy, and mine weren't greasy at all--instead, they were more like a magdalena cake consistency. I'm sorry, Kittencal, these just didn't work well for me, unlike many of your other recipes which I have made in the past and which have been phenomenal!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Just whipped some of these up. Love the flavour, but felt the large amount of baking powder interfered with the taste. It left that sort of powdery aftertaste on your tongue. Will play around with it, maybe use a mix of soda/powder and see. Definitely an easy recipe though, much better than folding in egg whites! ;-) I also added the seeds from a vanilla bean for more flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Quick and easy recipe. I was expecting the cupcakes to be more moist and tender - but well liked by my work colleagues, served with cream cheese frosting. Thank you for the posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      These are tasty, I made them as mini cupcakes. I wasn't overly impressed with the flavor and texture. I feel like if there was more of an actual cake texture and fluff I would have enjoyed these more. Either way--they worked. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      Excellent recipe and wonderful flavor! Do not over beat the batter, or your cupcake will turn out flat instead of crowned. I had to mix less than the directed time. Thanks for a lovely treat, KITTENCAL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      They are great just made them I am topping them with a strawberry cream cheese icing I will submit a pic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      I'm not so sure these ARE cupcakes in the traditional sense. They remind me A LOT of an old fashioned "cake" my grandmother used to make. Not at all like a popular cake, but a cake made before the invention of the lubricant we now pass off as the "edible" crisco. We've always made these as muffins, and then added flavors and fruits as we wanted -- never icing as they aren't cupcakes. Oh, and we try not to use crisco, but rather butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      Easy, moist, yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Even though it didn't turn out how I thought it was, I love cornbread! We just ate them without icing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Easy One-Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (965 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.2
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    33%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 22.0 mg
    7%
    Sodium 193.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    67%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites