204 Reviews

This was a very easy recipe and I followed it exactly as written, didn't overcook, etc., but they were very disappointing. They had a strange texture, not cake-like at all, and very little taste. I won't be making them again. Sorry.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ed August 29, 2008

I made these a week ago but didn't review it because I didn't want to hurt Kitt's feelings.....but since then I've noticed others posted what I was thinking so here it goes: I was really excited to make these given the great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly but was disappointed. They came out dense and not moist and were blah tasting. Sorry but I won't be making these again

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMOR DE PUGS March 14, 2008

These did not work for me at all, but I don't know why. I didn't make any substitutions, and I followed the directions as stated. But they baked oddly- they rose but not in the usual nice rounded-top the way cupcakes and muffins do. They were sort of oily and dry all at the same time. In the end, I threw them out.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta February 10, 2008

It looked like a cupcake, tasted like a cookie, with the texture of cornbread. Not a bad taste, but for sure not a cupake. I must have done something wrong, very wrong

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleflowers09 August 10, 2009

I'm not rating this either. I must have done something wrong. I made them and the dough was extremely rubbery and elastic when filling the muffin tins. After I iced them with chocolate icing they seemed tender enough but my daughter and I agreed that they tasted and looked like a biscuit. Sorry!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mika G. August 08, 2009

I have made these cupcakes twice now, and both times they were HORRIBLE, they were too tough and had no flavor! I would never reccomend these to anyone, I was vey disappointed and was shocked when both times they turned out nasty! :(

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieInOR June 14, 2009

These were easy to make but very bland.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yellow Lab Lover March 15, 2009

I've made this recipe twice and both times the cupcakes end up dense, cornbread or muffin-like. I bake often and have a great oven. Very disappointing product, given the rave reviews. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Will try improvising. Again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s_waggoner1 March 12, 2008

Not very flavorful and really greasy, but they are easy to whip up.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seph November 13, 2007

I tried this recipe twice tonight because I was sure I had done something wrong the first time, but the second batch came out just as bad as the first. The batter rose and ran over the sides but then sank in the middle...the top was hard like a muffin, and the cake was very greasy. Now that I'm reading the reviews, I see that I'm not the only one with these problems. I won't be making these again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer P. October 22, 2013
Kittencal's Easy One-Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes