202 Reviews

These were weird. I followed the recipe exactly. They had a very cornbread like texture. And to my surprise, even a bit of a cornbread taste! ....like a vanilla cornbread. They still tasted alright, just strange. If someone gave me one, I would probably eat it. However, I do not intend to make them again.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Birkkae August 18, 2011

I made this recipe yesterday and they were so horrible I threw them away. They were hollow, greasy, looked like bad yorkshire pudding. Made them again today because DH said I had to have done something wrong. Same results. I was sure it wasn't me because I am a mis en place kinda cook. I thought since it was Kitten they would be perfect. Save yourself the grief and try a different cupcake. DH is trying to take a photo so you can see todays disaster. I am so sorry. We were trying recipes for a wedding shower for 125 people and thank goodness I didn't give the recipe to the helpers. Sorry Kittencal.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent October 26, 2011

Like the past two responders, my cupcakes too turned out strange. I followed everything to the tee, but my cupcakes tasted like cornbread too! =( oh well..On to look for a new vanilla cupcake recipe

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lg.mouriski88 September 25, 2011

Before making this recipe, I sorted the reviews by rating and read and best and worst three pages. I figured the good reviews outweighed the bad and decided to try them anyway, and I'm sorry I did. As another reviewer said, these manage to be dry and oily all at once. The cake isn't fluffy but more mealy. I used extra vanilla and even scraped a vanilla bean into the batter based on some reviews saying these were bland, and although that helped a bit, these still didn't have much flavor. The only good thing about them is that they're an excuse to eat frosting.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natalie058 April 01, 2010

I was really disappointed by these, especially since they are the top-rated cupcake recipe. The taste was just ok, the etxture was weird. They didn't taste like cornbread to me, but the texture was similar. Also mine didn't really rise. I didn't have a mixer so I just mixed by hand, I wonder if that's why they didn't rise? Anyway, I won't be making these again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea G. September 22, 2011

I was laughing at a review that said these tasted like cornbread and decided to make them anyway because they got an overall 4 star rating. I'm not laughing anymore. These do taste like cornbread! Why is everyone giving them more than one star! I didn't want to sign up to make vanilla cornbread muffins for desert :(

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Runawaybaker May 28, 2011

i made these and they taste a lot more like cornbread muffins instead of a vanilla cupcake. i wouldn't recommend this to anyone who wanted a cupcake. i would however definitely suggest this to someone who has a disorder where they can't eat nuts, seeds, or coarse grains, like cornmeal, as a substitute for cornbread. it tastes almost identical.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
finecookingfrenzy May 17, 2011

Giving 2 stars since the cake part was SO bland. I followed the recipe to a tee and still bland. It tastes ok with frosting on top but eating the bottom alone is just gross!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMom08 March 30, 2010

the taste was ok, but the texture was horrible. They came out extremly dry. Definetly will not make these again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sch30 January 27, 2010

This was a decent vanilla cupcake with not much cleanup. I think it had more of a corn bread consistency then a cake (I don't know how else to describe it).

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny May 06, 2010
Kittencal's Easy One-Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes