15 Reviews

Sounds yummy. If you're like me and sensitive to salt, I suggest that you combine the broth with the worcestershire sauce and onion soup mix very carefully. I find it easy to get overwelmed. I mix my own onion soup mix and have discovered that it is mostly dried onion with beef boullion and the beef boullion is what can get you. I would probably add the worcestershire(for flavor and dried onion and maybe seasoning freely until it tastes good and add dried boullion only if the broth seems weak. I have been fooled by seasoning before and if it is too salty, I cannot eat the dish. Beef is wayyy too expensive to waste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marion01 March 12, 2014

I've made this twice now... added 2 tbs. of Wylers beef seasoning for richer flavor, omitted the mushroom (I don't like them), substituted garlic powder for 2 tbs of minced garlic (from a jar)... added the garlic and onion to the pan when browning the meat and cut the oil in 1/2. There's only 2 of us so I only used a 3 lb chuck roast too. this is now the ONLY way I'll make crock pot chuck roast & veggies... Added bonus.... After having a bowl at lunch the next day, still had about 2 cups of beef 1 large potatoe and 1 cup of gravy left, plus the carrots, onions celery... so tonight, 3 days later, I made some vegetabe soup... added 1 1/2 cups of beef broth, 1 cup of spicy V8, 1 stalk of celery, 1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes, 3 tbs of fresh onion, 1 small potato, and 1/2 cup of frozen mixed veggies (peas and carrots).... boiled everything for about 10 min, then simmered for 10... it was AWESOME and didn't need any extra seasoning...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DJ February 21, 2013

Love this recipe! I have actually made this several times, and keep forgetting to review! This is a great dish to dump in the crock pot before work and eat at the end of a long day! If you should have any leftovers try Kittencal's Beef Pot Pie! Great way to use them up! Thanks Kitten for another winner!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom February 09, 2009

This is such a simple recipe to make. The meat was so moist and tender. I did all the prep work the night before, I let the meat sit in the broth mixture, flipped it in the morning then add the veggies and it cook for about 11 hours. I made this as directed but used Campbells double strengh beef broth and 1/4 cup red wine. I did cut the meat back to 2 1/2 lbs and realized I need a bigger crockpot because I couldn't fit all the veggies in and some where a little crunchy. DH actually like the crunchy veggies but ask for the meat to be seasoned a little bit more. I did pass this recipe along to my Mom and will be a regular in our house. Thanks for such a simple and delicious recipe. Made for: In Memory of John and Support for Kittencal Cookathon December 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Porfavorcorona December 08, 2008

This is such a great weekend dinner in the winter! Wonderful leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI January 22, 2014

This was delicious. I love the smell of dinner cooking as I come home from work.
Thank-you. This was the first time I had ever made a crock pot roast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunscour October 14, 2012

Another out of the park recipe from Kittencal. This is the first time I have ever had fork tender pot roast. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wxbeauty1 March 11, 2012

This was eaten (and enjoyed!) by my worldly 7 year old, a very picky 5 year old, and a 1 year old! My 1 year old was screaming and jumping up and down for more. I'd say that is a success and keeper! We'll be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly K January 24, 2011

Five stars all the way! Simple but delicious. It was so moist and juicy. Can't beat it Kit. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn December 02, 2009

Sprinkled the roast with red wine vinegar then sprinkled with pepper and garlic powder and then dredged in flour before browning. Definitely include the wine. We loved it last week enough that is was a request for this week again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dude Chef April 21, 2009
Kittencal's Easy Crock Pot Chuck Roast With Vegetables