27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It hasn't even simmered yet, but I can tell it is AWESOME!!! I was complaining about all the steps while I was making it, but I won't be making another sauce ever!! YUM YUM YUM!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook from scratch September 10, 2008

YUMMM!! We are all Italian here, so we are quite picky on our sauces, and this is definitely a winner! I love the taste of the wine in the sauce. I didn't use the sausage, just ground beef, as I'm not crazy about ground sausage in my sauce. We all loved it, including my mom :) Thanks Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeIIa August 09, 2008

I didn't use the red pepper flakes as we don't like them here. We found the sauce too sweet using 3 tsp. of sugar also. I don't know what all the hype is about this sauce. Real Italian sauce isn't even supposed to have oregano in it. Oregano is for pizza sauce. I had to add more wine, about 1 c. during the cooking time, as I cooked mine longer than the 2 hrs. to thicken it up some, as it was too thin for us. We like thick meaty sauce. It was good, but not the best flavored sauce I have ever tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Maven May 14, 2008

We loved this ! This is different than other pasta sauces I have tried. It has a little bit of a bite to it. Others I use have a sweeter taste. What a wonderful change of pace. Thanx Kittencal for another fantastic recipe, didn't change a thing, as there is never a need to with your recipes girl !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle March 09, 2008

SUPER recipe Kittencal! I'm in the middle of cooking this as I type this review and my very skeptical husband (who only seems to want his family's traditional tomato sauce) took a bite and said "WOW is that great!". The flavors in the sauce are incredible. I added extra garlic (love it so can't help myself) and extra crushed red pepper. I also added more mushrooms and dropped in some of your parmesan meatballs as well. I used a dry red Zinfandel wine and I think the wine you choose can make or break your sauce so pick something that you'd like to drink to add to this. This will definitely be a staple in my house. I was tempted to double the sauce to freeze for future use but was afraid to in the event my family didn't like it....and now I'm sorry I didn't. We LOVE it!!!! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl February 23, 2008

This really was fabulous, even though I discovered at the last minute that I had run out of Worcestershire sauce and had to substitute soy sauce!!! Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 23, 2008

This was a real hit with the two guys that I cook for, my husband and Number One son. They thought that the flavor of the sauce was perfection. The sausage was there but not over powering. It wasn't too much tomato and the thickness was just right. It went well with the thin spaghetti. It was like eating out. It was a snap to make. Well worth the effort. I served home made French Bread with it which very nicely complimented it. Thank you for posting this and I will be checking out your other works.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monamoonpie December 11, 2007

We loved this sauce! I still have some saved in our freezer for next time we want spaghetti. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ericadawn November 06, 2007

This was the BEST pasta sauce I've ever made. Absolutely wonderful. I followed the directions except omitting the pepper flakes (personal preference), and increasing the sausage to 1 pound. Wonderful recipe. I let it sit for 24 hours in the fridge & it tasted so good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YumYum4TheTumTum! September 24, 2007
Kittencal's Delicious Meaty Pasta Sauce