27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow!!! This was soooo good!!! EVERYONE loved this! I've made so many sauce recipes, searching for a good one, and this is the first one I've ever made that meets my expectations. Actually, it surpassed them. It's by far the best that I've tried, so 5 stars are not enough! Just wanted to mention that I've made this without the ground beef and sausage, and it comes out just as delicious! Oh yeah...and if you have kids, you may want to reduce the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp. 1 tsp. was a little too spicy for mine...they still ate it though!!;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch November 03, 2007

This is hands down my favorite meat sauce recipe. I have made it three times now and the poster is right, don't forget the salt. The fist time is made it I used kosher salt and thought it was too salty, but that could have been the beef stock too, and the chianti that comes with the wicker basket. But everyone loved it. The second time I used regular salt and a random bottle of Merlot for the wine. That was a mistake. It came out pretty meh, and I'll definitely chalk that up to the wine. This last time I used Rachel Ray's beef stock, good old fashioned salt, and a $7 bottle of chianti from the grocery store (I think it was the Banfi Superior, black label with a woman on it), and it came out fan-freaking-tactic. I don't know how anyone can call this sauce bland, but the base ingredients do make a world of difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooptender November 17, 2014

Wow, I can't believe I haven't submitted a review yet for this sauce! I've been making this sauce for over 3 years now, and it's my go-to recipe. I've contemplated trying new ones, but I always go back to this one for fear of being disappointed. It's wonderful ripened after a few days, and it's great to freeze to always keep on hand. I've also brought this to friends who are sick, and they've nicknamed it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
holstang January 08, 2014

I really liked the consistency of the sauce, as well as the way the meat was cooked into the sauce. However, despite all the herbs, I found this sauce lacking in flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC December 28, 2012

First of all, I am surprise that this recipe only garnered this few reviews as this is hands down the BEST pasta sauce. Like Dolores, I have also tried Jo Mama's World Famous and I found it to be bland and I needed to double the spices to get some flavour in it. However, I made ZERO changes to this recipe; followed it to the 'T' and it's perfect. This will be the only way I will cook pasta sauce. Thank you, Kitten, because of you my search for the perfect pasta sauce has come to an end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7Seven September 14, 2012

Hi Kitten,
Made this sauce the other day to go with a chicken parm recipe I was making,,, it was WONDERFUL, my husband just ate bowls of the sauce alone so the next week-end I made a big batch again and froze it !!!!!!! Thanks for posting

Take are,
Pollyw

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Fowler Polly W October 09, 2011

I doubled this recipe, and it turned out great - even though I was missing a second can of tomatoes, and improvised slightly. I added a finely chopped up celery stalk and a red and yellow pepper to hide a few vegetables and add to the texture. Even though it was recommended if doubling, to keep the ground beef at the original amount, I took a chance and doubled it anyway since I like a hearty sauce. Otherwise I followed the recipe. In spite of my changes I think it was one of the best spaghetti sauce recipes I have ever tried. This one is a keeper. And I have come to trust Kittencal's recipes - as always, very reliable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babinni January 15, 2011

O-M-G - - - This recipe is by far the best meat sauce I have ever tasted that has come out of my kitchen!!! The flavors explode in your mouth with each fork full. I would HIGHLY recommend this to EVERYONE!!! Thank you ONCE AGAIN Kitten...you made me proud!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Kissing Cook November 17, 2009

Wow! Delicious! Easy! Thick! Now this is another favorite spaghetti recipe. I love traditional spaghetti and have never found another recipe to enjoy.My regular Italian sauce recipe for the past 25 years, I would begin cooking at 10:00 am to be ready and thickened for 6:00pm dinner. The only change I made was adding a chopped red pepper and substituting 1.5 cups tomatoe sauce with V-8 juice. Thanks for sharing Kittencal! You are one my favorites now and shared at my dinner table regularly. From sonia@askmel.ca

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonia June 16, 2009

Made this last night, really easy to make, i used minced veal and Salsiccie sausage, and it turned out perfect, i just tried it and its truly is amazing. But leaving it in the fridge over night made a big diffrence. Thanks for the excellent recipe and I would also say to you kitten, you inspire people all over the world to cook. /Daniel from sweden

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel_ren May 30, 2009
Kittencal's Delicious Meaty Pasta Sauce