Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Crock Pot French Dip Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Crock Pot French Dip Roast

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2011

      This was amazing! The smell in the house all day was mouth-watering. I followed the recipe exactly. When the meat was done I toasted hoagie rolls, melted mozzerella cheese and added sauteed onions & mushrooms & mild horseradish sauce. We had alot of leftovers and will be making other dishes as well. This was the best french dip we have ever had...Thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Truly delicious! Made as directed for day 1, day 2 thickened the juices and made more of a beef and gravy mixture, and tonight I am making a pot pie out of the remaining beef and "gravy". Very good and highly recommended. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This was tasty, but the 2nd time I made it, I subbed one can of beef broth for a can of french onion soup, and the soy sauce for a can of beer...yum. Served on rolls with spicy jack cheese

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      Every time I make this type of roast it comes out very dry, it was tender but dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Threw this in the crock yesterday AM on my way to work (BONUS points for being quick & easy to set up in the morning!) and came home to a yummy-smelling house. Served on Italian rolls.....daughter loved it plain, son added cheese, husband added pepperoncini and everyone was happy. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      My house smelled amazing all day while this was cooking. I shredded my meat cuz it was quickest, but will slice it next time for something diff. The au jus was nice and rich, loved it. Thank you for sharing this with us Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      Loved it...made it for my MIL's 85th birthday bash and it was a hit. It was funny, I had printed it and bought the ingredients...then I was talking to my husband asking him if he thought I should put sliced onions in it...we went back and forth and he said.."just follow the recipe" well I did, to a tee and it was fantastic! Thank you Kittencal! (It along with your Ceasar Salad recipe was eaten up in no time and people raved!) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Another great gift from Kittencal! I recently made this crock pot full of meaty joy for poker night. Tough crowd! I used a vadalia onion (cut in half) instead of the onion powder and flakes to provide onion to put on the sandwiches. I also added 5 large carrots (roughly 2 inch cut) to add to the flavor profile and provide a little something to enjoy on the side. Both came out wonderfully flavored and I feel they provide a fuller flavor to the au jus. The low sodium soy and broth kept the salt level down but happily not totally absent. A few folks added salt to their au jus. A simple option that pleases everyone. Can't take it out later, so I advise the low sodium ingredients as written. Served with a choice of swiss or provolone melted on the rolls and plenty of napkins! The sloppy smiles around the table were all the testament I needed! Football potlucks are coming. Guess what I'll be bringing! :)

      Thanks for yet another great recipe, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Wow this was really good and easy to make. I made up the "broth" the night before and stored it in the fridge and then in the morning I put the roast and the broth in the crockpot. So it only took a minute to get this ready in the morning. I followed the recipe other then I used all beef broth instead of adding the water to cover. I added swiss to my sandwich and it was so yummy dipping it in the broth. Will make again. Great easy crockpot recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      This recipe was fantastic! My family loved it! Juicy and tender as everyone else has said. This recipe is a keeper as are many of your other recipes. Thank you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This was absolutely fabulous!!! It was so juicy and tender that it was falling apart while I was trying to take it out of the crock pot. Made it exactly as directed, and used swiss cheese on the sandwiches. Won't be making it any other way ever again!!! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Cut recipe in half and cooked in a 2.5 qt crock pot. Came out great. Topped sandwich with Perfect Caramelized Onions (Easy and Versatile) and Monetary Jack cheese (Swiss would be good to!) Made for Saucy Senoritas ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      This turned out Great! I actually stuck the roast in frozen and cooked on high for 4 hours then on low for 4 hours. The roast was nice and tender and the juice was wonderful. I have leftovers and am going to try a beef pot pie with it tomorrow. I also took a little of the juice and sauteed some vidalia onions for hubby and I to put on top of ours. Really good! Made for ZWT5 for the Cooks with Dirty Faces. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Excellent!! I used fresh onion verses the onion flakes. Because it was all I had, we had this on hot dog rolls but it was still delicious! The broth is fantastic. Made for ZWT5 Dining Daredevils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Chalk up another great recipe for Kittencal! This was easy, tasty and fail proof. We put the beef on fresh buns with some Swiss cheese. Yum! Made for ZWT5 Kitchen Witches. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Another winner, Kittencal. This rocks and it will become a regular at my house. The sauce is incredible and I will use it for my fondue dipping sauce from now on as well. Your recipes rock; I think you need to move next door so I can smell what's going in your kitchen all the time! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

    • on December 14, 2008

      This recipe is fabulous! My hubby wanted to cook a roast to make beef dips with. He had one for dinner, said it was awesome! Today we got the slicer out and bagged up enough to make at least 6 sandwiches. Very affordable, very tasty, very easy; something you can let your hubby loose in the kitchen to do! Thanks for sharing, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I made this wonderful recipe in memory of John, Kitten's dear husband who passed away very suddenly. It was an honor to participate in this tribute. And just as Kitten's recipes always are, this was a winner at my house. It was very easy to put together and the dipping sauce was perfect. I love the addition of the cayenne pepper. This would be perfect for a football game gathering or card party, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I made this yesterday for a Bunco group. It was so easy and delicious! The meat was so tender I shredded it by hand. I used a boneless chuck roast and added a bit of salt, but other than that followed the recipe. My family was hoping for leftovers, but there wasn't any!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Crock Pot French Dip Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.0
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    45%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 136.0 mg
    45%
    Sodium 714.2 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 41.6 g
    83%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low sodium beef broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites