31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the first time I ever commented on a recipe. I've made this recipe many times. This is absolutely one of my favorites! They are just as good when I take them from the freezer and reheat them. I find letting the potatoes drain for awhile in a colander, then twisting them in a clean towel, helps drain most of the liquid. Kittencal, your recipes rock!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
javaqueen July 21, 2010

As always, Kittencal's recipes are fantastic! These were great potato pancakes. Actually followed the recipe this time...not something I do often. My husband couldn't get enough!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpleturtle April 11, 2010

Fabulous. I was looking for an hors d'oeuvre base on which to serve some Smoked Arctic Char. I had to substitute chick pea four for the flour as one of my guests has gluten issues. I honestly think the chick pea flour substitution improved them by adding a bit more of an earthy flavour. I only soaked my grated potatoes for 6 hours. (I didn't look up the recipe soon enough.) There was an awful lot of starch at the bottom of the bowl, let me tell you. I added 3 tsp of salt to the mixture. Next time I would only add 2 1/2 tsp as 3 was almost too much ( and I like salty). I made mini latkes. and served with sour cream, smoked arctic char, lemon and dill. Sublime. Excellent recipe Kitten. It is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith October 11, 2009

I must admit I could not wait overnight for the potatoes to soak. I waited about 1 hour, then proceeded. They came out nice and crispy! Thanks Kit, I really enjoyed these for breakfast with a little ketchup! I did quarter the recipe. Made for 123 Hit Wonder game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 15, 2009

Love these! Mine turned out delicious and crispy. I made just as directed and they came out perfectly. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 February 11, 2009

My family loved these! My Jewish father-in-law couldn't get enough and my six year old son was eating them right out of the grease :-) I only had 6 hours to soak them to I squeezed the starch out two times and changed the water. They were deliciously crispy. Next time I would add a lot more green onions. Awesome recipe - will definitely use again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmedvin January 06, 2009

I was wanting a recipe for hash browns and came across this recipe.. I have stopped looking!! These were fantastic, easy and the taste surpassed what I was expecting. I hardly got them onto a plate,,, they were being attacked while still cooking and no complaints about the trees (parsley) I have frozen the remainder and had some this morning. They really cooked up as if they had just just been prepared. I can certainly see myself making more of these. Thanks Kittencal for this awesome recipe... + 5 stars from my husband!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elkaybee January 04, 2009

OMG, these are DELICIOUS! My only criticism will come from my New Year's Eve guests who may not get any of them tonight! They do soak up oil, so I recommend making small pancakes, well flattened and fried in VERY hot oil. Great supplement to traditional latkes for Chanukah, or anytime.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tortoiseshell December 31, 2008

Loved these! I let them soak for 5 hours and turned out great. Only cooked half and froze the remaining. Hope they will be ok when I cook them. Loved how crispy they were. Didn't take long and served with a great BBQ steak.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 31, 2014

you call them Latlkes.. I call them hash browns. Have tried numerous times to make hash browns and never even thought of frying them in small batches. Had no green onion and used white. They were tasty,,,,BUT...what a mess they make!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 July 14, 2013
Kittencal's Crispy Potato and Green Onion Pancakes (Latkes)