Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2009

      Kittencal, I had a hard time choosing between this macaroni and cheese recipe and your easy mac and cheese recipe. I ended up using this recipe and I think this is the BEST macaroni and cheese I have ever had! I doubled the recipe and used half-and-half cream. I used a mix of mild and sharp cheddar cheese and for the first time in my life I bought Velveeta which is must for this delicious recipe! I went through over a hundred top-rated mac and cheese recipes here on Recipezaar and as usual I kept coming back to your recipes. I did top this with crushed Ritz crackers. Many thanks to you for posting this wonderful recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      This was really good. I almost skipped the garlic because I thought it sounded kind of weird, but I am so glad I followed the recipe. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I made this for my daughter's graduation party and everyone gave it 5 stars! I did use 5 cups of macaroni and it turned out perfect. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Outstanding! My DH loves mac and cheese and has had so many different kinds, he is very picky now, lol. I almost had to fight him to get some of this. I used campanelle pasta becaused that's what I had on hand and tried some Mexican Velveeta which gave it a great little kick. I also added some ham cubes that I had leftover. Very good. Thanks Kitten for yet another winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Delicious! I had to make a couple of changes, one was because you can't get Velveeta here so I used have cheese singles and grated cheddar as I read somewhere you could substitute for it this way with cheese sauces. The other change I did was just dried onions instead of onion powder because I only realised when I started I was out of onion powder. It came out really well and both of us loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      As usual, Kittencal offers us wonderful recipe! We really liked how creamy it is. My only complaint is that it had a little too much of that fake velveeta flavor. I think next time I will sub some of the velveeta for more cheddar and see what happens. Thanks, once again, Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      I made this with fat free milk, and 5 cups of pasta, and it turned out very rich and lovely. I do think it takes more like an hour to make the recipe, 30 minutes prep, 30 minutes baking time. I used 2 dashes of crushed red pepper because I can't find cayenne pepper where I live.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      The flavor is good, however, the consistency is not what I thought it would be. It is very thick and my family would not eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      After I adjusted the seasonings, this was awesome! It needed another teaspoon ground mustard and another quarter teaspoon red pepper. It's even good warmed up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Cut this in half and added some minced onions and used half n half but otherwise followed the instructions...what wonderful comfort food. Made a hit! Going into my Favorites of 2012. Thank you Kittencal for another fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      I had some velveeta that needed to get used. Kids and DH liked this but I still hate velveeta. Too gluey for me. Used 8 oz macaroni, dried onion flakes, and 1 tsp rooster sauce instead of cayenne. Maybe a little less velveeta next time, or more milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      This was good macaroni, but the garlic threw me off. I did put it in, but I think I will leave it out next time. I also used too much macaroni, so mine was a dryer macaroni and cheese and I prefer it to have more sauce. I will use less next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      It turned out great! I snacked on a bit before I put it in the oven and it was delicious both ways. Great side dish for a room of hungry firefighters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      You always have the best recipes! I ran out of time to bake it. I added smoked gruyere and jalapeno gouda. Instead of mac I made some Halushky ( http://www.food.com/recipe/halushky-428843 ). I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I love the flavor of this recipe, but the directions made a Lot of sauce. I only ended up using 1/4 the amount of cheese sauce this yielded, baked it for significantly longer than directed, and the finished product still came out much more wet than I prefer. Next time I will modify the measurements but keep the original ingredients as the sauce was tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      This got 5 stars from everyone in my family, "the BEST macaroni & cheese ever!" I think the cayenne pepper adds to the flavor. I only had 1/2 c. sharp cheddar so I added 1 c. colby jack too. I also used 1 12 oz. can evaporated milk and 1 1/2 c. milk for the half-and-half. Oh, and I used a 16 oz. pkg of elbow macaroni, didn't bother to measure. It was perfect. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Best mac and cheese I have had, everyone was asking for the recipe! I will keep this recipe always! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Yum, really enjoyed, was a little too saucy, maybe less Velveeta since the taste was very enjoyable..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      This recipe was a great success! I have never really liked homemade mac n cheese before, but this was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I finally made some macaroni and cheese that my husband deemed worth eating ('bout time!) I will add more noodles next time as I found it a bit too saucy, too. Wonderfully rich and delicious, but what else do you expect from Kittencal? Thanks for another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1266.0
     
    Calories from Fat 656
    51%
    Total Fat 72.9 g
    112%
    Saturated Fat 45.6 g
    228%
    Cholesterol 231.7 mg
    77%
    Sodium 2125.0 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 103.4 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 48.9 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes