46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Kittencal, I had a hard time choosing between this macaroni and cheese recipe and your easy mac and cheese recipe. I ended up using this recipe and I think this is the BEST macaroni and cheese I have ever had! I doubled the recipe and used half-and-half cream. I used a mix of mild and sharp cheddar cheese and for the first time in my life I bought Velveeta which is must for this delicious recipe! I went through over a hundred top-rated mac and cheese recipes here on Recipezaar and as usual I kept coming back to your recipes. I did top this with crushed Ritz crackers. Many thanks to you for posting this wonderful recipe!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 March 09, 2009

This was really good. I almost skipped the garlic because I thought it sounded kind of weird, but I am so glad I followed the recipe. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Ax December 27, 2011

I made this for my daughter's graduation party and everyone gave it 5 stars! I did use 5 cups of macaroni and it turned out perfect. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texaschic May 16, 2010

Outstanding! My DH loves mac and cheese and has had so many different kinds, he is very picky now, lol. I almost had to fight him to get some of this. I used campanelle pasta becaused that's what I had on hand and tried some Mexican Velveeta which gave it a great little kick. I also added some ham cubes that I had leftover. Very good. Thanks Kitten for yet another winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme October 03, 2007

Delicious! I had to make a couple of changes, one was because you can't get Velveeta here so I used have cheese singles and grated cheddar as I read somewhere you could substitute for it this way with cheese sauces. The other change I did was just dried onions instead of onion powder because I only realised when I started I was out of onion powder. It came out really well and both of us loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl January 19, 2014

As usual, Kittencal offers us wonderful recipe! We really liked how creamy it is. My only complaint is that it had a little too much of that fake velveeta flavor. I think next time I will sub some of the velveeta for more cheddar and see what happens. Thanks, once again, Kittencal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender June 12, 2013

I made this with fat free milk, and 5 cups of pasta, and it turned out very rich and lovely. I do think it takes more like an hour to make the recipe, 30 minutes prep, 30 minutes baking time. I used 2 dashes of crushed red pepper because I can't find cayenne pepper where I live.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrl March 03, 2013

The flavor is good, however, the consistency is not what I thought it would be. It is very thick and my family would not eat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kymberie December 31, 2012

After I adjusted the seasonings, this was awesome! It needed another teaspoon ground mustard and another quarter teaspoon red pepper. It's even good warmed up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmbientSunset July 09, 2012

Cut this in half and added some minced onions and used half n half but otherwise followed the instructions...what wonderful comfort food. Made a hit! Going into my Favorites of 2012. Thank you Kittencal for another fabulous recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf June 12, 2012
Kittencal's Creamy Macaroni and Cheese