Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Creamy Broccoli Casserole (Make-Ahead) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Creamy Broccoli Casserole (Make-Ahead)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2007

      I love easy to do dishes that taste great. I reduced the mayo and the sour cream to 1 cup each and only used 1 1/2 teaspoon of seasoning powder since the parmesan cheese is already salty. I also combined half broccoli and half cauliflower. The next time, I will grate the cheddar cheese. Great recipe. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      This is extremely good. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I felt it had too much sauce for the amount of broccoli. I actually thought the leftovers were better because the sauce firmed up a bit from being in the fridge. If I make this again, I would be sure to cut back on the sauce ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Could barely taste the broccoli-and so heavy! When we steam broccoli we mix sour cream, mayo, seasoning salt and lemon juice-which we all love-so I was sure this would be a winner,but it was just too much..too bad because I usually find kittencal's recipes a success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      I should have read all the ingredients and instructions 1st, before I forged on and made the dish- it was TOO MUCH creamy stuff/ cheese/ high fat. Plain old broccoli with butter and lemon is better than this. And, way easier, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      This was good and it did get eaten but nobody touched the leftovers. One service was enough. It was too something for me, I can't quite put my finger on what the something is but it was. Maybe too tangy or too heavy, not sure but I didn't really care for this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Hi all. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I changed the recipe based on other reviews and it worked. I needed to double the recipe. Filled up a 13x9 pan (double layers) of broccoli to ensure I had enough. Used just one cup of mayo, 1 cup of sour cream, a 1/2 cup of no salt butter, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, 3 teaspoons of salt, 1 tsp of fresh ground pepper, 2 1/4 cups of shredded blend of mozzarella & mild cheddar, medium onion chopped tiny and sauteed in butter to soften. Never added the parm cheese as I got busy and forgot. So even though I doubled the recipe, I was able to reduce all the sauce and it came out perfect and not mushy at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Sorry. I really wanted to like this but it was way too rich for all of us. We ended up tossing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Very good! I think next time I'll saute the onions before adding to the mix, and probably shread the cheese instead of cubing. Thanks for another winner, Kittencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      This was fabulous, everyone asked for the recipe in addition to wanting to take home thier share of the leftovers. I made it almost two days ahead and it was still great. It looked so good coming out of the oven I practically had to fight the family off with a spatula. The only thing I changed was I sauted the onion because I wanted to be sure there were none of the crunchy bits my husband can find in any dish. Thank you for another great one Kittencal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      It's worth the calories! This recipe turns broccoli into comfort food. Try this one on those who say they don't like broccoli...I'll bet they'll like it. I think this would work with amny different vegetables. I will have to experiment. Thanx for suggesting this recipe, Kit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      Kitten, you genius you! We had this for dinner last night along with some grilled salmon and a simple green salad. Delightful! The only change I made was to use 3 cloves of garlic instead of garlic powder, which I browned slightly in the melted butter before mixing it all together with the other ingredients. Prime comfort food as far as I am concerned! I can't wait to try this with cauliflower as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      Love LOve LOVE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Made this for Thanksgiving. Quite yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      This recipe is so delicious. I used Brocciflower and cut the sour cream and mayo to 1 cup each. But I added extra fresh parmesan cheese.
      So creamy and tasty. And reheats well too. My husband loved it and he isn't big on vegetable. I had just rice and this dish for supper last night and I was full and satisfied.
      I will for sure serve this when I have company next time. Thanks for this recipe. Fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      The flavour of this was excellent. I would cut the sauce back about half next time though. Very tasty, mind you, just a wee bit too much of it. I would also saute' the onion first next time.

      Thank you, Ms. Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Wow! I finally found a recipe where DH liked broccoli! This was simple, easy to throw together early in the day, and tasted great. I made this as directed except that I used a shredded 4-cheese blend in place of the cheddar cheese. This was really a wonderful dish and will be on my holiday table. Thanks once more Kit for a nice keeper. Made for Zaar Stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This was a last minute, super fast, throw together so I didn't measure anything and only had parm cheese and no nuts. This was delicious and a great "for a change" side. I can't wait to try this again and follow the recipe exactly! I agree the addition of chicken would make a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      We all loved this. I did cut it in half, and it worked well. The only change I had to make was to use McCormick's fried onions. Shame on DH for buying those - they are addicting! I think they worked out well. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Made a half-recipe today and cooked it in a smaller casserole, including some low-sodium bacon. Easy and delicious--I made a pig of myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Outstanding and may cause a heart attack. My husband and Father ate so much of it I'm scared to make it again. Don't pass this one up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Creamy Broccoli Casserole (Make-Ahead)

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 618.6
     
    Calories from Fat 471
    76%
    Total Fat 52.3 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 22.8 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 107.4 mg
    35%
    Sodium 897.8 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites