22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love easy to do dishes that taste great. I reduced the mayo and the sour cream to 1 cup each and only used 1 1/2 teaspoon of seasoning powder since the parmesan cheese is already salty. I also combined half broccoli and half cauliflower. The next time, I will grate the cheddar cheese. Great recipe. Thank you for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB May 11, 2007

This is extremely good. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I felt it had too much sauce for the amount of broccoli. I actually thought the leftovers were better because the sauce firmed up a bit from being in the fridge. If I make this again, I would be sure to cut back on the sauce ingredients.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookfor5kids hubs September 25, 2012

Could barely taste the broccoli-and so heavy! When we steam broccoli we mix sour cream, mayo, seasoning salt and lemon juice-which we all love-so I was sure this would be a winner,but it was just too much..too bad because I usually find kittencal's recipes a success.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blachly5 November 26, 2011

I should have read all the ingredients and instructions 1st, before I forged on and made the dish- it was TOO MUCH creamy stuff/ cheese/ high fat. Plain old broccoli with butter and lemon is better than this. And, way easier, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riverbuf September 25, 2013

This was good and it did get eaten but nobody touched the leftovers. One service was enough. It was too something for me, I can't quite put my finger on what the something is but it was. Maybe too tangy or too heavy, not sure but I didn't really care for this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haras00 December 02, 2011

Hi all. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I changed the recipe based on other reviews and it worked. I needed to double the recipe. Filled up a 13x9 pan (double layers) of broccoli to ensure I had enough. Used just one cup of mayo, 1 cup of sour cream, a 1/2 cup of no salt butter, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, 3 teaspoons of salt, 1 tsp of fresh ground pepper, 2 1/4 cups of shredded blend of mozzarella & mild cheddar, medium onion chopped tiny and sauteed in butter to soften. Never added the parm cheese as I got busy and forgot. So even though I doubled the recipe, I was able to reduce all the sauce and it came out perfect and not mushy at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHMalloy November 27, 2011

Sorry. I really wanted to like this but it was way too rich for all of us. We ended up tossing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom December 29, 2008

Very good! I think next time I'll saute the onions before adding to the mix, and probably shread the cheese instead of cubing. Thanks for another winner, Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffsmom March 05, 2007

This was fabulous, everyone asked for the recipe in addition to wanting to take home thier share of the leftovers. I made it almost two days ahead and it was still great. It looked so good coming out of the oven I practically had to fight the family off with a spatula. The only thing I changed was I sauted the onion because I wanted to be sure there were none of the crunchy bits my husband can find in any dish. Thank you for another great one Kittencal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 December 27, 2006

It's worth the calories! This recipe turns broccoli into comfort food. Try this one on those who say they don't like broccoli...I'll bet they'll like it. I think this would work with amny different vegetables. I will have to experiment. Thanx for suggesting this recipe, Kit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 15, 2006
Kittencal's Creamy Broccoli Casserole (Make-Ahead)