Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Average Rating:

    496 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 496

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2010

      I liked the overall flavor of this frosting, as well as its consistency, but mine came out really grainy. I usually use whipping cream-based recipes, and that could be the issue, but really I suspect it's my fault. I totally forgot to sift the sugar and cocoa together, and I'm betting that effected the texture a lot. Kitten, you know I love you, and I will use this again...and next time, I'll be sure to follow ALL of the directions!!! LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Update - I recently made this with a mixture of half and half and milk, and used 3/4 c. cocoa. Very good! I also added a bit of salt, like 1/8 tsp and would highly recommend it (you probably don't need to if you use salted butter but I used unsalted). I made this with 1% milk and 1/2 c. coco. I think I"ll try 3/4 c. next time for fun. Perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Made this to top some cupcakes i made for my friend's birthday. Got rave reviews, thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Made this to top a chocolate cake and it is so good! Easy to make too! I used 1/2 cup cocoa and about 1/2 cup of whole milk. I've not had a piece of the cake yet, but I licked the beater when I was done making the icing so im sure it will make the cake awesome. I'll defintely be making this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Very good frosting. Made it for my son's birthday on light peanut butter cake. Recipe made plenty of frosting to generously frost a 2 layer 8" round cake. I use 1/2 c. cocoa for medium chocolate and I think next time I will use more. Very creamy, fluffy and delicious. Wish I had doubled the batch as suggested and had some to freeze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      This recipe was sooooooo good!!!!! It's my new favorite Chocolate Frosting! I used this for cupcakes, and someone said it was better than sprinkles. Thank you it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      Normally I make my usual cream cheese frosting, but I thought I'd switch it up a little and make this for my hubby's birthday cake.The cake itself is really rich so I went with 1/2 cup of cocoa powder to make it a light chocolate frosting. This is amazing! You never let me down. I can't wait for our guests to get here and tell me how great it is. Thanks AGAIN for another perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Fantastic Frosting! Surprisingly so light and fluffy. I followed the instructions exactly. It came out perfect. Thank you so much Kittencal for this perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Yummy frosting! I made it to top your brownies that I made. This really tasted great and I will use it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Yummo! I made this as a topping for some low fat brownies and had a tough time not eating half of it! Super light and fluffy. Great topping for a chewy brownie! I used 1/2 cup of cocoa powder and it was perfect! Thank you Kittencal! Sandy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Fantastic! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This was so awesome. The only thing I did diffrent, I didn't sift any of the sugar and still came out smooth and creamy. This is my new chocolate frosting recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Amazing! Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Easy, delicious and smooth. Perfect chocolate frosting for a variety of cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Delicious, Easy, Quick! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Yum! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Fantastic! Easy to make and wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      I made this icing last night and I love it!! You are right, it is better than the canned icing. I have never liked any frosting I make and I have raved about this all day!! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      AMAZING! I am so glad I read the other reviews and doubled the recipe. Kittencal, you have never disappointed me. Thanks for sharing another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This recipe make the best frosting! I used 1/2 cup of Penzy's Dark Cocoa. On the suggestion of another poster, I added 1 TBSP of corn syrup for a glossy finish. Be sure to sift the dry ingredients. I made a double batch for a 9" 2 layer cake. I've received many requests for this recipe and everyone is always amazed by how simple it is to make. Plus, it freezes beautifully! Thanks for sharing! Be sure to check out picture #31 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 25

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.8
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    43%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 36.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites