497 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Um... yeah... this is the best frosting I have ever had in my life, and I'm not traditionally a big frosting fan. I followed the advice of several reviewers for the dark rich (3/4 C cocoa powder) chocolate frosting by eliminating a bit of sugar to accomodate more chocolate as opposed to just adding a bunch more milk/half & half. I had to add just a touch more milk, and added 2T of vegetable oil to make the frosting more shiny as the original recipe looks like kind of blah dull grayish brown. Also, I don't like a lot of frosting on my cake but still felt this was not nearly enough frosting for a 2-layer cake. I made a ratio of 1.5 and it was perfect, but feel free to double the recipe and save the rest of the frosting for another recipe or eat it right out of the bowl. Yeah, it's that good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
971256 June 03, 2012

I thought this frosting was delicious. I also used the largest amounts of half and half cream and cocoa powder. This was for my daughter's birthday and she is a chocoholic. Made this with Sue B's Chocolate Cake. She loved it. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelamarie5613 May 10, 2012

Excellent recipe! I made the dark chocolate version, and thought that it came out great. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsLizze May 06, 2012

Perfect recipe! Thank you very much! I used the medium amount of cocoa which seemed to work for me! Had some leftover but it stored beautifully in the fridge for a few days. Just took it out and let it warm up to room temperature before using. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouE April 14, 2012

Great! Great! Great! Had to do two batches to cover a two layer cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunebuggy8 March 27, 2012

Delicious frosting. I used to frost cupcakes - spread very easily and tastes yummy. I had to use a little more than 1/3 cup milk to make it spreadable. This will be my go-to chocolate frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WellsBells March 19, 2012

This was yummy, easy to make for my first homemade frosting. Thanks for another great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mish1nyc March 11, 2012

Thanks again Kittencal - another terrific recipe! Yummy frosting and that is coming from someone who really doesn't care too much for frosting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowpeas March 04, 2012

This recipe went excellent with my vanilla cupcakes. It took the shape of my piping tip very well but wasn't too thick. I used the 1/2 cup cocoa powder and the frosting wasn't to rich but had the perfect disposition. Overall, I REALLY liked this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bestcookintheworld February 25, 2012

I frosted some Baker's One Bowl Brownies with this recipe. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I think it needed just a dash of salt. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds February 19, 2012
Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing