Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Average Rating:

    494 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 494

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2011

      Delicious! Made this buttery icing for some chocolate chocolate chip cupcakes for Halloween and it was perfect! I only used 1/3 cup Half & Half and it was very smooth! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

    • on October 20, 2011

      Delicious. I used the whipping cream and I also used crisco instead of butter. It was great and really easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      Thank you Kittencal! One of these days, I've got to sit down in your kitchen! Must be a delicious sight (and taste) since nearly everything you've listed is a winner!

      This IS better than any canned frosting and likely worlds healthier, too. I could eat the whole batch of frosting plain!

      A few words of wisdom...After the first cup of sugar, I was actually okay with the flavor. It was sweet enough for me. I ended up using a little over 2 cups, but I don't think it was necessary, even with the 1/2-3/4 Cups of cocoa powder that I put in it. The other thing is that I kept adding whipping cream to get a fluffier smoother consistancy, because it seemed a bit stiff to me, but in retrospect, I think I added too much. This should be a VERY FIRM frosting, like the kind you do buy canned in stores. It could be thinner if you wish, but the taste of the cream really comes through, in that case. Also, if you are working in a (very) small kitchen with a very hot oven or in a hot climate, expect a bit of melting to occur. All the more reason to have a very stiff frosting, imho. I have a batch that were made in a "cool" environment that turned out absolutely fine but my second batch, made near a hot oven are swimming in frosting. THere are worse things that could happen, of course. :D I just popped them in the fridge so they should be fine.

      I made as directed and just needed to frost a couple of batches of cupcakes so I had PLENTY left over! Glad I didn't double! So I'll be freezing it, probably in some sort of small bowl container with the tupperware type lid and then just defrost in the fridge when I need some Icing post-haste. I've got enough there to cover a cake, if I don't eat it all before it gets to the freezer.

      Thanks again. No need for any other chocolate frosting/icing recipe.
      THIS is the ONE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      I doubled the recipe as others said, glad I did. It came out so creamy. I used the dark chocolate recipe and this is it, I will always use this when I desire chocolate icing. I had just a little left over so I froze it.
      Thank you Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      A truly delicious chocolate frosting! I usually only ever make my mom's frosting recipe, but I couldn't resist making this after reading all of the reviews. This is worth every star! I made the medium chocolate flavor, and iced a chocolate chip cake with it. I am totally going to make this again to put on brownies. Thanks very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      OMG HEAVEN! This was sooo good. It took all the will power I had to pipe the icing on to the cake and not directly in to my mouth. I made the medium recipe and used whipping cream. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks Kittencal I can always count on you for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Fabulous and easy. I used it for cupcakes and there was plenty to go around, even with my husband's fingers digging in the bowl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Fantstic! So smooth and rich, just loved it. I used milk and 3/4 cup of cocoa. I can't imagine it turning out any better made with cream, but I'll try it next time just to be sure. Thanks so much for posting this perfect chocolate frosting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Funny how people's tastes differ. Frosted plain white cupcakes (Duncan Hines mix) with this icing and was told it was not only the best chocolate frosting ever tasted but it beat out the local cupcake place where a single cupcake goes for over $3.00 a shot.

      I used what they call "mi-salé" butter here in Quebec: half-salted; 35% cooking cream and the 3/4 cup Dutch-process cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Love it, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      Just whipped up this delicious concoction, don't even have it on the cake yet, and yet I am confident in giving this five stars based almost solely on how carefully and completely I licked the beaters clean. :) This is really, really good frosting. Probably too good for the boxed cake mix cake it'll be going on. Now if someone will just invent an automatic cake cooler so I can get this dang thing frosted already, I'll be all set! Can't wait to sit down to a big slab of cake and a nice tall glass of milk. FWIW, I made this using real butter, 1/3 cup of table (18%) cream, and 3/4 cup cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      4.5 stars. I don't care much for frosting, but I think this is as good as it gets. I did add too much half and half, so it was more fitting as a filling than a frosting. Before I realized what I did wrong (the weather here is mad hot, so I just figured that was the cause), I added piping gel to attempt to increase stability and found that to give a beautiful smooth consistency to the icing. Now it would be great for writing...Anyways, figure more cocoa will solve my problem. A good recipe and a good learning experience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

    • on May 15, 2011

      Oh wow. You probably don't need another 5-star rating, but I had to express my appreciation for this easy and so, so, so, sooooooo good frosting! I used 1/3 cup cocoa, and it was wonderful. It tasted much like chocolate mousse. Chocolatey, but light AND decadent at the same time. I can't imagine ever buying a store-bought chocolate frosting again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      Excellent frosting and one I will use from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Perfection! I made the light version and added in a bit of Irish whiskey and Bailey's for an added indulgence. It was delightful on Charishma's Chocolate Chip Muffins. Thanks for yet another beaut of a recipe....I'm quickly learning that you can't go wrong with a Kittencal recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Only have one thing to say about this recipe mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Best chocolate frosting recipe ever! Replacing my old stand-by recipe from the back of the hershey's cocoa can. I used this on a chocolate cake I made for a friend's birthday and it disappeared fast. Even my son who isn't a fan of tons of chocolate ate a piece & went back for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      What a wonderful frosting/icing!! I love the fact that you can adjust the chocolate level. After using it on a chocolate cake, I was in chocolate heaven :) Very delicious, I will be using this again and again! Thank you Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.8
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    43%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 36.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites