503 Reviews

This frosting is tasty and creamy, but it is also exceptionally sweet! I had to add 1/2 cup more cocoa and a large dollop of sour cream to make it edible. If I make it again, I would use less than 2 cups powdered sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awilliams234 September 28, 2014

(Med chocolate one) Used 18% cream. Doubled the recipe, and used margarine. I like a little stiffer frosting when working with it, so I didn't add extra cream when making it. It was a coolish morning and after creaming my margarine, switched to my whisk attachment. Pretty much just added the liquids after that to the margarine, then slowly added the dry. (almost pulsing on low speed until almost all of the dry was moist to prevent it poofing all over, before putting on a higher speed). Only mixed it until it was well incorporated and looked smooth whipped as I didn't want it to separate. This is a great and easy recipe. I love that this recipe wasn't so sweet. I am not a huge frosting lover, but I fear my cake that is waiting to cool doesn't stand a chance with this on top! Thanks again Kitten, as always, a great recipe!<br/><br/>Update: Just used the rest of this frosting that I made from this review, (I had frozen the rest.) And I just want to say that I use it on a Chiffon cake I did up for my son's birthday, and This frosting really does freeze well. I brought it out to sit in the fridge for at least 24 hours, but I don't think I had to. If anyone knows what it is like to frost a cake that is fresh fresh, it can be a pill, but this frosting really worked well even in that situation. EDIT: 23/07/2014 Used this recipe again.. I just have to say I still love this recipe. This time however, I didn't have any milk or cream in the house, I still tried to make this with just water, and was pleased to say that it turned out fine! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandesnow July 23, 2014

Made the dark version, and doubled for a thicker frosting on my 9x13 cake. This is fantastic; rich and creamy. It makes you understand what your parents and grandparents mean when they say the canned icing doesn't taste like the things their parents made when they were kids. Kittencal's recipes are awesome. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie July 06, 2014

This was simple and delicious. I used all the cocoa, and doubled the recipe. Enough to frost a layer cake and have some left over. So nice to have a good recipe that doesn't require cooking, especially in the summer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacya100 July 04, 2014

This was the first time I have ever made chocolate frosting...I usually get store-bought. This was so much better! I made it to go on yellow cupcakes my husband requested for his birthday. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea June 24, 2014

This frosting is the best that I have ever made! Easy and Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissDelilah May 26, 2014

Perfection! I used the "medium" quantity of cocoa. My husband travels and has had amazing food all over the world. Needless to say, I've had to become a great cook to compete - using recipes I've researched, hundreds of reviews I've combed over, and hours of food TV I've logged. I've found some AMAZING recipes my husband loves, but the bar is so high, it's still rare his eyes roll back in his head at the first taste of something. This frosting, made exactly as directed for "medium" cocoa flavor, did it. His eyes rolled back the minute he tasted it. Our kids and neighbors were over for cake later and everyone RAVED. This is the only chocolate frosting I'll ever make! Not to mention it's EASY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole S. May 26, 2014

I made this to frost some lamb cakes for Easter. Something is very wrong with this recipe. I didn't print it, I wrote it down and triple checked what I wrote down. One third cup of half and half is way too much! I must have added close to 2 cups of powdered sugar before it was icing consistency. Maybe this should have been 1-3 tablespoons of half and half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm April 19, 2014

OMG this was THE BEST frosting I have EVER had!! Very light and fluffy. I used the 1/2 cup and fat free half and half. It was wonderful just as is. No need to tweek anything. I don't have a hand mixer(mine died) so I did everything by hand and it was still nice and fluffy! I am trying to give it 5 starts but it wont let me!! You deserve 10 stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki_Z March 29, 2014

I wanted a recipe to make frosting for some brownies and this was the easiest one I found. I found the batch was going to be way too much so I only used about half the sugar and cream ( I used 18%) but I was already after using the full amount of butter, vanilla and cocoa but it was a wonderful result. I loved the texture and taste. A new go-to recipe. Also 4 year old approved :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leighannemary February 24, 2014
Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing