Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Average Rating:

    497 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 497

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2012

      Um... yeah... this is the best frosting I have ever had in my life, and I'm not traditionally a big frosting fan. I followed the advice of several reviewers for the dark rich (3/4 C cocoa powder) chocolate frosting by eliminating a bit of sugar to accomodate more chocolate as opposed to just adding a bunch more milk/half & half. I had to add just a touch more milk, and added 2T of vegetable oil to make the frosting more shiny as the original recipe looks like kind of blah dull grayish brown. Also, I don't like a lot of frosting on my cake but still felt this was not nearly enough frosting for a 2-layer cake. I made a ratio of 1.5 and it was perfect, but feel free to double the recipe and save the rest of the frosting for another recipe or eat it right out of the bowl. Yeah, it's that good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      I thought this frosting was delicious. I also used the largest amounts of half and half cream and cocoa powder. This was for my daughter's birthday and she is a chocoholic. Made this with Sue B's Chocolate Cake. She loved it. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I made the dark chocolate version, and thought that it came out great. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Perfect recipe! Thank you very much! I used the medium amount of cocoa which seemed to work for me! Had some leftover but it stored beautifully in the fridge for a few days. Just took it out and let it warm up to room temperature before using. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Great! Great! Great! Had to do two batches to cover a two layer cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Delicious frosting. I used to frost cupcakes - spread very easily and tastes yummy. I had to use a little more than 1/3 cup milk to make it spreadable. This will be my go-to chocolate frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      This was yummy, easy to make for my first homemade frosting. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Thanks again Kittencal - another terrific recipe! Yummy frosting and that is coming from someone who really doesn't care too much for frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This recipe went excellent with my vanilla cupcakes. It took the shape of my piping tip very well but wasn't too thick. I used the 1/2 cup cocoa powder and the frosting wasn't to rich but had the perfect disposition. Overall, I REALLY liked this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I frosted some Baker's One Bowl Brownies with this recipe. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I think it needed just a dash of salt. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      I made this using the super dark amount of cocoa and 1 tsp instand coffee to cut the chocolate flavor. it was easy to make and had excellent flavor. Wll keep this recipe handy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Excellent even without a hand blender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      This is the same recipe I've been using for at least 20 years. I got it off the Hershey's Cocoa can, I think. I am making a cake today and thought maybe I should finally enter the recipe here so I don't keep searching for it and then I found Kittencal's. Thanks for posting it! Best chocolate frosting I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      YUM! Used Earth Balance spread and soy milk as dairy-free subs... I put a little more than 3/4c cocoa in this because DH and I like dark chocolate. Nice consistency and great flavour! I also added a tiny pinch of salt... Delicious on my scratch chocolate cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Just made this frosting and it is fantastic!!!!!! I doubled the recipe for a 2 layer cake. I split the layers and ended up with 4 layers. Doubling was plenty. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

    • on January 08, 2012

      loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      I've made this frosting about 3 times and each time, I get rave reviews. Most can't believe its homemade and I can't believe it's so easy! Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Anytime I see it's a "Kittencal" recipe, I feel confident. That's why I chose this for the Christmas cake for our chocoholic kids, and wasn't let down. I have used this frosting several times, in slightly different configurations, from using a bit of coffee, to cream, to a vanilla milk I had leftover, which really popped. Thanks, Kittencal, your recipes make it seem as if I know what I'm doing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I made this using Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa Powder (3/4 cup), and also added 2 tsp espresso powder. It was the best chocolate frosting I've ever had! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.8
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    43%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 36.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes