497 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfection! I used the "medium" quantity of cocoa. My husband travels and has had amazing food all over the world. Needless to say, I've had to become a great cook to compete - using recipes I've researched, hundreds of reviews I've combed over, and hours of food TV I've logged. I've found some AMAZING recipes my husband loves, but the bar is so high, it's still rare his eyes roll back in his head at the first taste of something. This frosting, made exactly as directed for "medium" cocoa flavor, did it. His eyes rolled back the minute he tasted it. Our kids and neighbors were over for cake later and everyone RAVED. This is the only chocolate frosting I'll ever make! Not to mention it's EASY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole S. May 26, 2014

I made this to frost some lamb cakes for Easter. Something is very wrong with this recipe. I didn't print it, I wrote it down and triple checked what I wrote down. One third cup of half and half is way too much! I must have added close to 2 cups of powdered sugar before it was icing consistency. Maybe this should have been 1-3 tablespoons of half and half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm April 19, 2014

OMG this was THE BEST frosting I have EVER had!! Very light and fluffy. I used the 1/2 cup and fat free half and half. It was wonderful just as is. No need to tweek anything. I don't have a hand mixer(mine died) so I did everything by hand and it was still nice and fluffy! I am trying to give it 5 starts but it wont let me!! You deserve 10 stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki_Z March 29, 2014

I wanted a recipe to make frosting for some brownies and this was the easiest one I found. I found the batch was going to be way too much so I only used about half the sugar and cream ( I used 18%) but I was already after using the full amount of butter, vanilla and cocoa but it was a wonderful result. I loved the texture and taste. A new go-to recipe. Also 4 year old approved :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leighannemary February 24, 2014

Truly divine! Such a light and creamy frosting! Used 1/3 cup of cocoa...so delish!!! Thanks :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AudioLovingFemme November 30, 2013

Kitten,I made your chocolate frosting this evening to frost a pan of Mounds Bar Brownies for our church Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow.<br/>I followed the recipe to the letter and used the 3/4 cup of coco powder .<br/>After adding the half and half to the recipe it was somewhat thin so I ended up having to add another 1/4 cup of confectioner's sugar to thicken it a little.<br/>The frosting taste very good and rich my hubby licked the mixer beaters clean ! <br/>I will defiantly make it again now that I know to adjust either the liquid or confectioner's sugar. <br/>Thank you for a great recipe ~Wilma~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Grammaw November 24, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I made this to top my son's birthday cake Quick Yellow Cake . I had to use regular whole milk as I had no half-and-half and I only used 1/3 cup of chocolate (forgetting to sift that). Even with the changes it was far superior to any store bought frosting. My son told me that it tastes like fudge, and I think so too. A go to recipe for me when I need chocolate icing. Thanks for the recipe Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker November 15, 2013

I have made this frosting so many times!! It is wonderful. I use the 3/4 cup cocoa power for the dark frosting. No modifications necessary!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suewatrous_12050355 September 07, 2013

Delicious and so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kooky Jen July 30, 2013

I used 3/4 cup cocao powder and it came out perfect, and I'm not big on chocolate frosting. However, I will try using a little less milk next time, since I like my frosting a little thicker and easier to pipe. Nonetheless, great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elisa1019 July 27, 2013
Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing