Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Average Rating:

    487 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 487

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2013

    • on December 24, 2012

      Just made this to go on recipe 2496 (dark chocolate cake) and it was awesome!!

      I actually made a double batch so that I'd have enough for a middle layer of my two-layer cake and also to frost the cake all over!

      So, I doubled everything and used a full cup of dark cocoa and 4 cups of confectioners sugar and blended it all with an electric mixer for 4-5 mins.

      The consistency was perfect for spreading and the rich chocolate flavor was incredible.

      Can't rate this highly enough, really - loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      This is the way that I've always made frosting, but always guessed at the proportions so it didn't always turn out the same. I only used 2 c. of confectioner's sugar and then the 1/2 c. of cocoa, so it was probably somewhere between the med. and dark, but it was excellent! Had plenty to frost a 9x13 cake...though it can never be thick enough for dh!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      Awesome, Fabulous, delicious - perfect texture, mouth feel and flavor. Keeper recipe! TY Kittencal - post this one prominently on your new site!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      I used the maximum amount of cocoa and while it IS delicious, it's more of a milk chocolate flavor than I had wanted. I whipped mine for over 5 minutes in order to get a lighter consistency. This made more than enough to frost 24 cupcakes. This also has no glossiness to it, but was nonetheless very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      I was very excited about this recipe, since I am always on the lookout for something new to try. I did read a criticism from another baker that this recipe does not make nearly enough frosting for a 9" layer cake. I had to go ahead and make a second batch, and I didn't even need it to fill the middle, just the tops and sides. That being said, the flavor and creaminess were amazing. Remember to beat the frosting in the mixer for a long time - at least 5 minutes. Also, I really like the tips on changing the density of the chocolate. So use this recipe, understand its limits and take if from there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! I just finished making this frosting and it is awesome. Great flavor and texture. It's a pity I can't eat too much of it because I am watching my figure. My son loves it. I use 1/3 cup of cocoa and it turned out great. Do not change a thing a bout this recipe.

      Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2012

      so about an hour before i had to be at work i decided to make cupcakes to bring..so being in a rush i didnt sift anything, just threw it all together and hoped for the best!! this frosting was awesome! the most creamy, chocolatey frosting! a keeper for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      This frosting is ridiculously good. I used the 3/4 cup of cocoa and I used cream instead of half and half. I know I used more than 1/3 of cream. I just added a little until I got the consistency I wanted. It is FANTASTIC. I will never ever use canned frosting again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      Um... yeah... this is the best frosting I have ever had in my life, and I'm not traditionally a big frosting fan. I followed the advice of several reviewers for the dark rich (3/4 C cocoa powder) chocolate frosting by eliminating a bit of sugar to accomodate more chocolate as opposed to just adding a bunch more milk/half & half. I had to add just a touch more milk, and added 2T of vegetable oil to make the frosting more shiny as the original recipe looks like kind of blah dull grayish brown. Also, I don't like a lot of frosting on my cake but still felt this was not nearly enough frosting for a 2-layer cake. I made a ratio of 1.5 and it was perfect, but feel free to double the recipe and save the rest of the frosting for another recipe or eat it right out of the bowl. Yeah, it's that good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      I thought this frosting was delicious. I also used the largest amounts of half and half cream and cocoa powder. This was for my daughter's birthday and she is a chocoholic. Made this with Sue B's Chocolate Cake. She loved it. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I made the dark chocolate version, and thought that it came out great. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Perfect recipe! Thank you very much! I used the medium amount of cocoa which seemed to work for me! Had some leftover but it stored beautifully in the fridge for a few days. Just took it out and let it warm up to room temperature before using. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Great! Great! Great! Had to do two batches to cover a two layer cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Delicious frosting. I used to frost cupcakes - spread very easily and tastes yummy. I had to use a little more than 1/3 cup milk to make it spreadable. This will be my go-to chocolate frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      This was yummy, easy to make for my first homemade frosting. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Thanks again Kittencal - another terrific recipe! Yummy frosting and that is coming from someone who really doesn't care too much for frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This recipe went excellent with my vanilla cupcakes. It took the shape of my piping tip very well but wasn't too thick. I used the 1/2 cup cocoa powder and the frosting wasn't to rich but had the perfect disposition. Overall, I REALLY liked this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I frosted some Baker's One Bowl Brownies with this recipe. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I think it needed just a dash of salt. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      I made this using the super dark amount of cocoa and 1 tsp instand coffee to cut the chocolate flavor. it was easy to make and had excellent flavor. Wll keep this recipe handy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.8
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    43%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 36.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites