497 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Kittencal, you Rule!! I made this when we had company for dinner and one friend demanded that I make his birthday cake after having one bite. It was a huge hit with everyone! I made it sort of in between medium and dark using Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa and frosted a 9" x 13" cake. I had quite a bit left over which we used to frost strawberries; Very Decadent. When I want a frosting that is truly over-the-top indulgent, this is where I'm going. Thanks for a recipe that has already made me a legend of dessert. I'll never be the Queen, though; that title remains yours!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chinasmom2000 June 25, 2009

Kittencal is queen in the kitchen! I love all of your recipes. Super easy frosting! I made this for my daughter's slumber party as an emergency! I was making cupcakes, realized I didn't buy frosting and couldn't leave the house full of little girls to go to the store. It was wonderful, no more store bought for me! The girls were begging me for the bowl to lick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jazzchef June 25, 2009

I made this icing a while ago, and thought I had reviewed it. I am not sure how I skipped it. This was a fabulous icing that we were all fighting over the last bites of!! I used the cocoa powder for a medium rich icing but forgot if I used cream or milk or half-and-half. I will definitely re-review this recipe when I make it again and let you know whether i used cream or milk. Thank you for the yummiest chocolate buttercream icing that my whole family loved!!!! This will be used alot from now onwards!! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's June 24, 2009

Absolutely, super duper, and chocolately delicous!!! Very easy to whip up with ingredients in your pantry. A great frosting for Whatever Floats Your Boat Brownies. Thanks for the recipe...we loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stirring the Pot June 22, 2009

For me, I thought it was creamy but not stiff enough for me. I used it to frost a layered cake and it didn't hold up for me. I only put about 1/6 cup of milk and still had to put in extra powdered sugar. It did taste good though, but not one that I would use to frost a cake...maybe cupcakes though. It's not very good for decorating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HM21 June 20, 2009

OMG!!! That was the first thing out of my mouth when I first tried it. It was too easy to come out this good! And it was sooo light!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianneee June 20, 2009

I am considered to be a very good cook, and have made many buttercream frostings over the year, but this one is the best yet (at least as far as chocolate is concerned)! It's very quick to make, and all ingredients are always in my pantry and/or refrigerator. The recipe that I made tonight went on my daughter's 28th birthday cake, and I'm sure she'll be bowled over by it tomorrow evening. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyWal June 19, 2009

perfect! I loved it! it was a little grainy in the beginning but as I mixed that disappeared and out came the most delicious chocolate frosting I have ever had!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy but capable June 11, 2009

How had I not tried this before? Made a perfect icing for Easy Chocolate Snack Cake X Two Easy Chocolate Snack Cake X Two. We enjoyed the leftovers straight out of the bowl too :) My new chocolate icing recipe...can't wait to try it with the coolwhip! Thanks Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht June 08, 2009

Wonderful! I used this to make a teddy bear cake for a baby shower. Used a basting brush to dab at the frosting & it looked just like fur - so cute! This is & will always be my go-to chocolate frosting recipe. Thank you so, so much Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej June 03, 2009
Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing