503 Reviews

Very good, very easy frosting. I couldn't believe how easy it was. I used 1/2 cup cocoa, which I sifted, but I didn't sift the confectioner's sugar and it still was great. Also, I used whole milk. Used the frosting on devil's food cupcakes served to small children and they gobbled them up!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann_marie_kelly October 30, 2010

Quite frankly, I'm flabbergasted that I actually made this delicious frosting myself. What a great recipe. Foolproof. I went with 6 T dutched cocoa powder, and I lightened the calorie load just a smidge by Splenda for baking (1 c) and nonfat dry milk (1/3 c) for a chunk of the powdered sugar. I also used fat free half and half, and went with half butter, half non-hydrogenated shortening. This went together so quickly in my food processor! I now have a beautiful tub of glossy, smooth, thick frosting which will go perfectly with Graybert's Chocolate Zucchini Cake Chocolate Zucchini Cake. Thanks for posting! -- posted Dec 28, 2004 UPDATED: I've now made this a second time and once again it's excellent. I forgot to mention last time that I added 1 T corn syrup in order to achieve a glossy finish. It's so smooth, rich, and creamy, even with fat free milk this time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. May 24, 2005

I made this with the maximum cocoa and whole milk, but it came out tasting rather bland. Also, it's very light in texture. Not quite whipped cream, but not the gooey, fudgy frosting I was looking for. The cake I baked was intensely chocolate, so it was okay overall, but I think I'ill keep looking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchencastaway July 18, 2014

The simplest, most tasty chocolate icing that I've made. I always add just a dash of cinnamon to my chocolate icing to make the flavors come alive.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerNancy April 23, 2012

Flavor was good, but didnt make much. Had to double the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CakesByLova September 10, 2011

Disappointed in the colour, texture and flavour. I made this twice following the directions for dark chocolate exactly. The first time I used unsalted butter and was disappointed in the dull sugary texture, but enjoyed the flavour. I tried again, using salted butter this time. The salt in the butter overpowered the richness of the chocolate. I was also still just as disappointed in the dull colour and texture, though this time it was smoother on the tongue. I was looking for something a with some smooth glossiness to it. I didn't find it in this recipe. I gave it 2 stars for the simplicity of the recipe and its ingredients, but what's the point when the taste, look and texture are not worth the 2 stars? WIll not be saving this one, nor passing it on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hugaluv September 03, 2011

Haven't made this yet but just wanted to let HeyLillie know that I printed the recipe and it was correct. No weird mixup on the measurements. Perhaps your printer had a glitch. That said I am anxious to try this frosting on a ho ho cake. Will post after that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linrutko April 02, 2011

I decorated a bear cake with this icing, using both the medium and dark rich options. In all honesty, the icing was the BEST part of the cake!! It was so easy to work with and a great decorating icing. I did not sift anything- just mixed it up. WONDERFUL!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris November 15, 2010

I used the largest amount of cocoa powder and milk and it turned out fantastic. Don't buy the canned stuff, this is W A Y better! Spreads and pipes great. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickledSeeds September 12, 2010

Fantastic! This is the BEST chocolate frosting hands down. Light, fluffy, and so easy to make! Really loved it! Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbi Brown July 12, 2010
Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing