Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Average Rating:

    497 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 497

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2010

      BEWARE!!! When you PRINT this recipe, it changes to say, "1/3-2 2/3 cup half-and-half cream (can use unwhipped whipping cream in place of half and half) or 1/3 cup milk (can use unwhipped whipping cream in place of half and half)"

      OBVIOUSLY, when you compare this to what the original recipe says, it makes a HUGE difference! I will be making this again following the original recipe and then will come back to rate it for real, but seriously, 1/3 - 2 2/3 is NOT right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      This recipe is good but I felt it needed a couple of tweaks, which is why I am giving it 4 stars. Next time I make it (and there WILL be a next time!), I'll put the largest amount of cocoa in, but reduce the amount of confectioner's sugar to compensate, rather than increasing the cream. It think that should work better to increase the chocolate flavor. Second, the recipe doesn't make very much. I put it in my KitchenAid and whipped it up with the balloon whisk, which made it nice and fluffy, but it still just barely covered a 2-layer cake spread very thinly. Next time I will double the recipe to make sure I get plenty of frosting to spread around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This is the simplest, yummiest recipe and makes for an awesome MOCHA BUTTERCREAM!!! Very smooth and I like the options given for increasing or decreasing the chocolate flavor. I've made this with just 2% milk and it still turns out great! When I make the mocha version, I use the "light chocolate" method and add 2-2.5 teaspoons of espresso powder (I used King Arthur Flour brand). The more espresso powder you add the stronger & more bitter the coffee flavor so if it's not sweet enough, compensate by adding more powdered sugar (in small moderations) till you get the taste you prefer. %u2665

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      Great frosting recipe! Thank you so much. :) I always know if it has your name on it its going to be fabulous. For those who said they didn't have a sifter for the powdered sugar or cocoa, just put them in a bowl and use a wire wisk on them. You don't need a sifter to do that. From now on just wisk the dry ingrediants well and you have sifted them. HTH :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      Made this today and while it does not make enough to frost and fill a layer cake, it did make enough to generously frost a 13x9 cake. One thing to be sure to do is to whip it on the highest speed your mixer has for 5 minutes. This will make it light and airy!! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      I just made the best chocolate cake I ever had, thanks to this frosting recipe and Duncan Hines new Decadent Triple Fudge specialty cake mix. What a combination of delicious chocolate flavors! Everyone raved about it and now I can't wait to make another chocolate cake with chocolate frosting! I used 1/2 c. cocoa and only 2 c. powdered sugar and I loved that percentage of chocolate/sweetness. I'm a dark chocolate lover and I really like my frostings a little less sweet, so that worked great. I also used heavy cream and added an extra 2 T. to make it easy to work with. It spread great and was so easy to pipe borders with. Two days later, without refridgerating, it still looked great, no weepy borders, and leftovers were enjoyed just as much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      This icing was delicious and easy to make. I added a little extra powdered sugar, about a third of a cup to make it thicker. Why buy prepackaged icing ever again? You avoid the trans fat that is currently in ALL brands of shelved icing, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      Yum Yum Yum! I made the dark chocolate version and used it on my Hubby's Birthday cake and we WERE eating it before we could even get it on the cake. We are cocoa lovers and this hit the spot! I think I may even try it darker next time. Thanks for this keeper recipe Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Kitten, I realize you don't need another 5 star rating for this icing, but you deserve it! This is by far the most chocolaty (is that even a word?) icing. I made the deep chocolate version and everyone who has ever tasted it goes nuts! My go to recipe now...thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Really good frosting. I even made it with water instead of the cream or milk since I used it on cupcakes for my son's class and I didn't know how long they would leave them out and it is still fantastic!! So easy too, I don't know why anyone would buy frosting when this is easy and so much better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      Quite frankly, I'm flabbergasted that I actually made this delicious frosting myself. What a great recipe. Foolproof. I went with 6 T dutched cocoa powder, and I lightened the calorie load just a smidge by Splenda for baking (1 c) and nonfat dry milk (1/3 c) for a chunk of the powdered sugar. I also used fat free half and half, and went with half butter, half non-hydrogenated shortening. This went together so quickly in my food processor! I now have a beautiful tub of glossy, smooth, thick frosting which will go perfectly with Graybert's Chocolate Zucchini Cake Chocolate Zucchini Cake. Thanks for posting! -- posted Dec 28, 2004 UPDATED: I've now made this a second time and once again it's excellent. I forgot to mention last time that I added 1 T corn syrup in order to achieve a glossy finish. It's so smooth, rich, and creamy, even with fat free milk this time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      The simplest, most tasty chocolate icing that I've made. I always add just a dash of cinnamon to my chocolate icing to make the flavors come alive.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      Flavor was good, but didnt make much. Had to double the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      Disappointed in the colour, texture and flavour. I made this twice following the directions for dark chocolate exactly. The first time I used unsalted butter and was disappointed in the dull sugary texture, but enjoyed the flavour. I tried again, using salted butter this time. The salt in the butter overpowered the richness of the chocolate. I was also still just as disappointed in the dull colour and texture, though this time it was smoother on the tongue. I was looking for something a with some smooth glossiness to it. I didn't find it in this recipe. I gave it 2 stars for the simplicity of the recipe and its ingredients, but what's the point when the taste, look and texture are not worth the 2 stars? WIll not be saving this one, nor passing it on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      Haven't made this yet but just wanted to let HeyLillie know that I printed the recipe and it was correct. No weird mixup on the measurements. Perhaps your printer had a glitch. That said I am anxious to try this frosting on a ho ho cake. Will post after that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      I decorated a bear cake with this icing, using both the medium and dark rich options. In all honesty, the icing was the BEST part of the cake!! It was so easy to work with and a great decorating icing. I did not sift anything- just mixed it up. WONDERFUL!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Very good, very easy frosting. I couldn't believe how easy it was. I used 1/2 cup cocoa, which I sifted, but I didn't sift the confectioner's sugar and it still was great. Also, I used whole milk. Used the frosting on devil's food cupcakes served to small children and they gobbled them up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      I used the largest amount of cocoa powder and milk and it turned out fantastic. Don't buy the canned stuff, this is W A Y better! Spreads and pipes great. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Fantastic! This is the BEST chocolate frosting hands down. Light, fluffy, and so easy to make! Really loved it! Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I normally hate frosting but this is the best frosting I have ever tasted and the only frosting recipe I will use from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.8
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    43%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 36.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes