499 Reviews

BEWARE!!! When you PRINT this recipe, it changes to say, "1/3-2 2/3 cup half-and-half cream (can use unwhipped whipping cream in place of half and half) or 1/3 cup milk (can use unwhipped whipping cream in place of half and half)"

OBVIOUSLY, when you compare this to what the original recipe says, it makes a HUGE difference! I will be making this again following the original recipe and then will come back to rate it for real, but seriously, 1/3 - 2 2/3 is NOT right.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeyLillie August 11, 2010

This recipe is good but I felt it needed a couple of tweaks, which is why I am giving it 4 stars. Next time I make it (and there WILL be a next time!), I'll put the largest amount of cocoa in, but reduce the amount of confectioner's sugar to compensate, rather than increasing the cream. It think that should work better to increase the chocolate flavor. Second, the recipe doesn't make very much. I put it in my KitchenAid and whipped it up with the balloon whisk, which made it nice and fluffy, but it still just barely covered a 2-layer cake spread very thinly. Next time I will double the recipe to make sure I get plenty of frosting to spread around.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neohippie September 11, 2011

This is the simplest, yummiest recipe and makes for an awesome MOCHA BUTTERCREAM!!! Very smooth and I like the options given for increasing or decreasing the chocolate flavor. I've made this with just 2% milk and it still turns out great! When I make the mocha version, I use the "light chocolate" method and add 2-2.5 teaspoons of espresso powder (I used King Arthur Flour brand). The more espresso powder you add the stronger & more bitter the coffee flavor so if it's not sweet enough, compensate by adding more powdered sugar (in small moderations) till you get the taste you prefer. %u2665

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamigls March 14, 2011

Great frosting recipe! Thank you so much. :) I always know if it has your name on it its going to be fabulous. For those who said they didn't have a sifter for the powdered sugar or cocoa, just put them in a bowl and use a wire wisk on them. You don't need a sifter to do that. From now on just wisk the dry ingrediants well and you have sifted them. HTH :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin4twins October 19, 2012

Made this today and while it does not make enough to frost and fill a layer cake, it did make enough to generously frost a 13x9 cake. One thing to be sure to do is to whip it on the highest speed your mixer has for 5 minutes. This will make it light and airy!! Delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb September 03, 2012

I just made the best chocolate cake I ever had, thanks to this frosting recipe and Duncan Hines new Decadent Triple Fudge specialty cake mix. What a combination of delicious chocolate flavors! Everyone raved about it and now I can't wait to make another chocolate cake with chocolate frosting! I used 1/2 c. cocoa and only 2 c. powdered sugar and I loved that percentage of chocolate/sweetness. I'm a dark chocolate lover and I really like my frostings a little less sweet, so that worked great. I also used heavy cream and added an extra 2 T. to make it easy to work with. It spread great and was so easy to pipe borders with. Two days later, without refridgerating, it still looked great, no weepy borders, and leftovers were enjoyed just as much.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a happy homemaker April 06, 2011

This icing was delicious and easy to make. I added a little extra powdered sugar, about a third of a cup to make it thicker. Why buy prepackaged icing ever again? You avoid the trans fat that is currently in ALL brands of shelved icing, too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardeninthepocket January 04, 2011

Yum Yum Yum! I made the dark chocolate version and used it on my Hubby's Birthday cake and we WERE eating it before we could even get it on the cake. We are cocoa lovers and this hit the spot! I think I may even try it darker next time. Thanks for this keeper recipe Kittencal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed December 09, 2010

Kitten, I realize you don't need another 5 star rating for this icing, but you deserve it! This is by far the most chocolaty (is that even a word?) icing. I made the deep chocolate version and everyone who has ever tasted it goes nuts! My go to recipe now...thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws November 17, 2010

Really good frosting. I even made it with water instead of the cream or milk since I used it on cupcakes for my son's class and I didn't know how long they would leave them out and it is still fantastic!! So easy too, I don't know why anyone would buy frosting when this is easy and so much better!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
specialbekah September 01, 2010
Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing