185 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had to add more water than the recipe called for to make the batter manageable, and it took almost twice as long to make as the recipe says, but that could be because it was my first time. This was absolutely delicious and worth the extra work.

I Cooked three pounds of chicken breasts and there was still batter left, so I mused aloud that I should have halved it. "NOOOO!" yell the kids, as I chase them out of the kitchen with my chopsticks...

P.S., A can of pineapple had just about the right amount of juice for the sauce; the pineapple went into the sauce with a sliced green pepper.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Circuit7 Z November 01, 2011

Amazing! I had to alter the recipe to make it grain-free, but I don't think anyone would really be able to tell the difference.

In the sauce I used Ketchup w/out corn syrup, cider vinegar, and orange juice because I too like juice but can't have pineapple. Also used knox gelatin to thicken. YUM!

For the chicken dough, I used almond flour in place of the wheat flour, coconut flour in place of the starch, and added a tablespoon of ground flax meal to make it a tad bit healthier. Also used gluten-free baking powder.

Fried in vegetable oil (soybean) using an asparagus steamer that we got for our wedding. Worked amazingly!!

After going about 4 years without tasting the deliciousness that is American Chinese food, I can now say that I was almost in tears from this wonderful recipe. Thank you so much KittenCal!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PardenMe247 February 19, 2011

This is a great recipe--well, great two recipes! I've used the batter for onion rings and shrimp and the sauce is amazing (used pineapple juice). I made the full recipe and cut the white sugar to 1/2 c and it was perfect to my tastes--if the amount of sugar is an issue start with less and keep track of your own preference as you adjust/add more to suit your tastes.

I know the takeout sauce is clearer but the flavor is right so I usually double it up and freeze some for when I make egg rolls and fried rice. Going to use the batter for Sweet and Sour Pork also. My friends mom used to make it and with her dish in mind I will add sliced blanched carrots, chopped green bell pepper, chopped sweet onion and pineapple tidbits to the sauce and it will be like her dish:)

I season the chicken before battering it w/ Paula Deen's House Seasoning (salt, pepper and garlic powder).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 December 29, 2010

This was just as good as an Asian restaurant--a big hit with the family! It is a tad time-consuming but the process was fun & the end result was quite satisfying. To decrease prep time, I mixed up the dry batter ingredients in a bag, chopped up the chicken, and made (& refrigerated) the sauce the night before. This does make a lot! I used 4 whole chicken breasts cut in bite-sized pieces, about 20 large (precooked/thawed, frozen) shrimp, & about 10 lg onion rings. I bet the batter would be good for fish fillets & hush puppies too! Served it with white rice & "Kellys creamy cheddar pea salad" #125195. Since there are only 3 of us here, I froze portion-sizes in ziplock bags. They re-crisped up very well in a 360F oven after about 15 mins. Thanks for another fab recipe Kittencal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Almond July 27, 2010

Love it! Makes a ton, though, so I only do 1/2 batches. Also makes good onion rings and english chips!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom April 23, 2010

my honest opinion after seeing the images and reading all these great reviews i thought i had found it! fallowed the recipe to the T and i dont taste it. thought that i had done it wrong so i redid the sauce and still it just taste like ketchup to me.. decided to go ahead and finish the recipe and honestly all it came out to be is fried chicken balls with ketchup sauce. tasted nothing like sweet and sour at all

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Farley925 December 19, 2012

The 4 stars is for the sauce since I didn't have time to make the chicken balls. I felt that the sauce was going to be too sweet so I cut the white sugar down to 1/2 cup. Even then it was too sweet. Also, I used pineapple juice so that may have added to the sweetness. I will probably just use only brown sugar next time. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueGrapes November 13, 2012

Amazing!!!!! I make this all the time. Better than take out!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy_mom45 November 11, 2011

This was wonderful! My husband is obsessed with eating from a local chinese restaurant and even liked this better than getting takeout and that is high praise from him! The chicken stuck to the basket while I was deep frying it so I followed another reviewers suggestion and dipped it in flour before putting it in the deep fryer and that worked pretty well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicia.cooksey January 31, 2011

Kittencal, you nailed this dish and the sweet and sour sauce is absolutely the best ever, blush, I wanted to eat the sauce solo, LOL. I only changed one tiny thing in the method. Mixing the batter in a plastic bag really helped out. I tossed the bite-sized chicken in the batter, zipped it up and put it in the refrigerator. When I was ready to fry them I poured the lot out onto a cooling rack with something underneath to catch the batter. This made preparation and clean up a breeze. I did add the garlic and onion powder you suggested to the batter to pump up the flavor. What a great recipe! Our company raved. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Can_D_Cane June 24, 2010
Kittencal's Chinese Chicken Balls With Sweet and Sour Sauce