Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Chinese Chicken Balls With Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Chinese Chicken Balls With Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Average Rating:

    183 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 183

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2011

      I had to add more water than the recipe called for to make the batter manageable, and it took almost twice as long to make as the recipe says, but that could be because it was my first time. This was absolutely delicious and worth the extra work.

      I Cooked three pounds of chicken breasts and there was still batter left, so I mused aloud that I should have halved it. "NOOOO!" yell the kids, as I chase them out of the kitchen with my chopsticks...

      P.S., A can of pineapple had just about the right amount of juice for the sauce; the pineapple went into the sauce with a sliced green pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Amazing! I had to alter the recipe to make it grain-free, but I don't think anyone would really be able to tell the difference.

      In the sauce I used Ketchup w/out corn syrup, cider vinegar, and orange juice because I too like juice but can't have pineapple. Also used knox gelatin to thicken. YUM!

      For the chicken dough, I used almond flour in place of the wheat flour, coconut flour in place of the starch, and added a tablespoon of ground flax meal to make it a tad bit healthier. Also used gluten-free baking powder.

      Fried in vegetable oil (soybean) using an asparagus steamer that we got for our wedding. Worked amazingly!!

      After going about 4 years without tasting the deliciousness that is American Chinese food, I can now say that I was almost in tears from this wonderful recipe. Thank you so much KittenCal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      This is a great recipe--well, great two recipes! I've used the batter for onion rings and shrimp and the sauce is amazing (used pineapple juice). I made the full recipe and cut the white sugar to 1/2 c and it was perfect to my tastes--if the amount of sugar is an issue start with less and keep track of your own preference as you adjust/add more to suit your tastes.

      I know the takeout sauce is clearer but the flavor is right so I usually double it up and freeze some for when I make egg rolls and fried rice. Going to use the batter for Sweet and Sour Pork also. My friends mom used to make it and with her dish in mind I will add sliced blanched carrots, chopped green bell pepper, chopped sweet onion and pineapple tidbits to the sauce and it will be like her dish:)

      I season the chicken before battering it w/ Paula Deen's House Seasoning (salt, pepper and garlic powder).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      This was just as good as an Asian restaurant--a big hit with the family! It is a tad time-consuming but the process was fun & the end result was quite satisfying. To decrease prep time, I mixed up the dry batter ingredients in a bag, chopped up the chicken, and made (& refrigerated) the sauce the night before. This does make a lot! I used 4 whole chicken breasts cut in bite-sized pieces, about 20 large (precooked/thawed, frozen) shrimp, & about 10 lg onion rings. I bet the batter would be good for fish fillets & hush puppies too! Served it with white rice & "Kellys creamy cheddar pea salad" #125195. Since there are only 3 of us here, I froze portion-sizes in ziplock bags. They re-crisped up very well in a 360F oven after about 15 mins. Thanks for another fab recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Love it! Makes a ton, though, so I only do 1/2 batches. Also makes good onion rings and english chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      my honest opinion after seeing the images and reading all these great reviews i thought i had found it! fallowed the recipe to the T and i dont taste it. thought that i had done it wrong so i redid the sauce and still it just taste like ketchup to me.. decided to go ahead and finish the recipe and honestly all it came out to be is fried chicken balls with ketchup sauce. tasted nothing like sweet and sour at all

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      The 4 stars is for the sauce since I didn't have time to make the chicken balls. I felt that the sauce was going to be too sweet so I cut the white sugar down to 1/2 cup. Even then it was too sweet. Also, I used pineapple juice so that may have added to the sweetness. I will probably just use only brown sugar next time. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      Amazing!!!!! I make this all the time. Better than take out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      This was wonderful! My husband is obsessed with eating from a local chinese restaurant and even liked this better than getting takeout and that is high praise from him! The chicken stuck to the basket while I was deep frying it so I followed another reviewers suggestion and dipped it in flour before putting it in the deep fryer and that worked pretty well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Kittencal, you nailed this dish and the sweet and sour sauce is absolutely the best ever, blush, I wanted to eat the sauce solo, LOL. I only changed one tiny thing in the method. Mixing the batter in a plastic bag really helped out. I tossed the bite-sized chicken in the batter, zipped it up and put it in the refrigerator. When I was ready to fry them I poured the lot out onto a cooling rack with something underneath to catch the batter. This made preparation and clean up a breeze. I did add the garlic and onion powder you suggested to the batter to pump up the flavor. What a great recipe! Our company raved. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Kittencal, Another winner! I can only speak for the sauce, but this was delicious thanks! After grilling some chicken breasts cut into 1" cubes, I added half a yellow onion, a couple green onions, half a red bell pepper (just using up some veggies I had), a dash of ginger, and a few shakes of garlic mix. After letting cook a bit, I poured the sauce over, brought to a boil, and simmered, stirring constantly. Served over rice, the end result was a sweet and sour chicken dish comparable to any American-Chinese restaurant! Delicious! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2014

      I've used this recipe so many times now. I love it. And so does everyone else who gets to try them. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      I found the sauce to be rather awful..I was doing a quick batch of bought chicken balls that did not include sauce so I ran to the computer and fell upon this recipe and was happy I had all ingredients in house..found it gritty and way to sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      Loved this. I only used 1 large chicken breast cut into pieces and it made enough for 2 people 2 days. Served with white rice as well. It was delicious. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

    • on October 09, 2013

      Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Wow - We loved the sauce & the way the batter crisped up made the chicken just so perfectly delicious. I made 1/2 the batter recipe, but the full sauce recipe to have extra left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      Just by reading the recipe, I knew that the sauce will be very sweet but I still gave it the benefit of the doubt and followed it. I should have trusted my gut, I am sorry but this is certainly not Chinese or Asian at all. If you are looking for a Westernized version of Chinese sweet & sour sauce, then perhaps you may like it, but if you are Chinese or Asian, this is certainly not for you. I grew up eating Chinese food, not here in the US, but in a real authentic Chinese community from my Asian birth country. This is why I know. I still gave two stars for the batter, though, which was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      This is a great recipe. I made it for Father's Day at my boyfriend's request. He wanted me to grind the chicken. I wanted to make it as written. I compromised and ground half the chicken the way he wanted it and left the other half diced. It was so good!!! This recipe makes a ton. The next day we actually ate the balls cold without sauce right out of the fridge as a snack. They were just that good lol. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      This batter is incredible! When I made this for my family - they said it tastes, 'Just like take-out! So good!!' Thank you so very much for sharing - I will make this often! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Chinese Chicken Balls With Sweet and Sour Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.0
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    23%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 714.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 42.8 g
    171%
    Protein 32.2 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites