494 Reviews

My family who are particular eaters loved this! I used low fat cheese, cream cheese & crescent rolls & non-fat milk. I did use regular soup. I had 2c of chopped chicken from baked chicken I had bought @ the grocery store. I thought the dish a tad salty but that may be me. Next time, I will not add the add'l salt. I also used 1/4 cup of cheese for the sauce. I also probably only used 3/4 of a cup of cheese on the top. I grated an 8 oz block of cheese & had left overs.

I will make it again but as there are only 3 of us, I will use 1 can of rolls & do the filling & sauce for the rest. I will put mine on a baked potato as filling. I figure that there is more nutritional bang for my buck that way. :)

Thanks for posting this Kittencal! It is hard for me to find recipes that my family can agree on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plus341 January 22, 2011

Delicious! Made a few changes. I omitted the butter and the salt and the dish still came out a little on the salty side. I also cut down the amount of cheese as it was too much cheese for my liking. Also baked with only a little of the sauce drizzled overtop. Great recipe. TFS

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tymelessnote January 21, 2011

absolutely delicious and good reheated, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abbs <3 January 13, 2011

I made two rectangles out of the crescent rolls. I put the chicken on the bottom rectangle and topped it with the second triangle and sealed the edges, then cooked. They tasted great and was less work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icandoit185 January 05, 2011

With this many positive reviews it pretty much goes without saying, but this is fantastic. I omitted the sauce in the bottom of the dish to avoid sogginess. I did drizzle it over the top before baking and the crescent rolls still came out golden brown and crisped perfectly. The only negative comment was that the onions didn't really cook through; it didn't bother me but I think next time I'll sautee them first and maybe add some hot sauce just to cut the richness a bit. Cooked in 30 mins as stated. Will defintiely make again (and again and again).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dubvanj December 13, 2010

Wow! We loved this recipe! I made with canned chicken and all reduced fat ingredients and it was still very rich and delicious. Also very easy to make the pieces ahead. I'm sure I will make again and again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas November 30, 2010

Delicious- i poached my chicken breasts and it came out a little salty but definately will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staci.spass November 28, 2010

Followed the recipe exactly - ended up with 12 rolls. They came out a little soggy but were still good. I'm not sure I'll make them again, though - they were good, just not quite what I was expecting. *EDIT 11/22/10* I had no intention of making these again but kept seeing all these glowing reviews for them so I gave them another shot. It's been 5 years since my initial review and I had not made them since. I still am not changing my original star review, however, I wanted to say that I halved the recipe this time, which worked very well. And, my 3 year old and 1 year old ate them happily. Enough said - I'll make them again just because of that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL November 22, 2010

This was DELICIOUS! I did substitute some ingredients to make it slightly less guilt-full. I used reduced fat cream cheese, low fat cheddar, reduced fat crescent rolls, and 1% milk instead of whipping cream, and it was still VERY rich! I had a little extra filling left over so i threw it in the sauce to add a bit more creaminess to it in lieu of heavy cream. I'll definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmbrown711 November 21, 2010

One of the few dishes I make that gets my boyfriend's enthusiastic stamp of approval. His only comment was that the cheese topping was too much, since the casserole is rich enough already. I should have followed the reviewer's suggestions of adding the sauce after baking, because I did find the top to be a little soggy. Boyfriend didn't comment on it, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia November 21, 2010
Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole