491 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was super easy and quick perfect for the picky eater too! will definately be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
map339 March 12, 2013

My whole family loved this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valentine0202 February 08, 2013

Excellent comfort food. Think I could use low-fat items and really not sacrifice taste at all. I added 1/2 cup of frozen corn and peas - thawed in warm water and drained - for more of a chicken pot pie taste. I just drizzled the sauce over the top of the rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EppiRN January 17, 2013

This is so good! But when I saw the chef, I knew that I really didn't need to try it before knowing it would be a great and great tasting recipe!! Once again, Hats off to Kittencal. Thanks for sharing it with us. I did add a small can of diced green chilies because my family thinks they go in everything...lol. But that didn't change the recipe much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OceanLuvinGranny January 12, 2013

This rating is really for the filling / crescent roll combination as (like many others) I made a few adjustments.

1) I used neufchatel (1/3 less fat) instead of cream cheese -- it won't make this dish into health food, but every little bit helps.

2) Rather than buttering the casserole dish I threw a piece of parchment paper into the bottom of the casserole and cooked the rolls on it without any sauce -- this worked great and cleanup was a breeze

3) I did not put any sauce on the rolls while cooking, and instead of the soup / cheese I made sauce supreme with sherry (roux, chicken broth, heavy cream, egg yolk, thyme, tarragon, salt/pepper and sherry) and served it in a gravy boat on the side. I can't say for sure since I didn't try it the other way, but I really enjoy the light crust of the crescent rolls and suspect this preserved it better than cooking in sauce, plus my kids always like being able to control the amount of sauce.

Last but not least, I had a LOT of chicken and so I made two batches of filling and froze one -- I thawed it before preparing the recipe the second time, and this was very successful -- tasted just like the first preparation. Based on the general opinion of freezing pre-filled crescent roll items on the internet, I suspect they could even be filled before freezing, making these potentially a good OAMC dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLEAH December 26, 2012

First time I made this I didn't quite care for it, but my mom made this again and it was like eating chicken cheesecake and soo yummy! I would definitely add veggies or extra chicken to give it more substance in the future, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny December 18, 2012

This was an all-around hit! Even my very picky DH told me to make it again (which automatically gets a 20 star from me!) I did make a few changes: I used a vegetarian chicken substitute (Quorn) instead of real chicken, cream of mushroom soup in place of the cream of chicken, half and half in place of the cream, sharp cheddar instead of mild, and tossed in a glorious amount of frozen veggies (cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots) per others' recommendations. I also cooked the rolls seperate and spooned the sauce on when it was served. It kept the crescents crispy, which made my DS happy as he is against soggy textured foods. It was very pot pie-y and completely wonderful! I will be making this over and over. Since I used a 9x9 pan, I cut the recipe in half. It all fit perfect.Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Fam December 18, 2012

Creamy yumminess! A big hit in our family. I used our left over oven roasted chicken in it. It made for an easy dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natural1beauty November 26, 2012

I feel the filling was too rich and didn't like the crunchiness of the onions. I think I over did it on the garlic. I like the concept of doing a filling and rolling it up with a crescent roll. Maybe next time I will use onion powder, easy on the garlic and add more chicken and use condensed chicken soup. Easy on the cheese...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bostonterr05 October 25, 2012

I loved this recipe! I only tweaked it a bit. First, I used grated Colby cheese in place of the cheddar and I added seasoning salt to the sauce too. I also added 1/4c of parmesan cheese to the filling and also to the sauce and sprinkled it over the finished product. I did bake the rolls in a baking pan but without the sauce. I drizzled the sauce over top immediately before serving. I also put the filling in my food processor which made almost a filling pate for the rolls. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kikilem123 October 22, 2012
Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole