Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole

    Average Rating:

    488 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 488

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2014

      OMG...yummooooo. Love this. creamy, moist and delicious. Make ahead and freeze. Leftovers get better. Make a double batch and freeze a pan full.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2014

      I made this and it was a big hit! I took the advice of others and kept the sauce separate while baking and served individual servings with the cheese sauce. The bottoms didn't get a mushy until after it had cooled completely when I was packing them up and it was only slightly mushy. I love Crescent rolls fresh but never been a fan of them reheated so I wasn't sure how the leftovers would taste. The next day instead of reheating them in the microwave I put them in the oven on 350 degrees F. for about 10 minutes and then turned the broiler on high. I broiled both sides until the slightly soggy crust became crusty again 4 - 5 min on each side. They weren't as good as fresh but not bad reheated. Hubby raved about them fresh or reheated. I served them with Creamy Parmesan Rice - from another site and collards with vinegar. It was a big hit. **A word of warning though** I did a quick look over this recipe because I was in a hurry and I saw Totat TIme as 55 minutes, I already had chicken thawed out. That doesn't account for the time it takes to soften the cream cheese and butter. It's easy to soften cream cheese quickly (put the unopened foil wrapped cheese in some warm water) but butter just takes time. And dinner was done much later that night. Also I would recommend keeping the rolls refrigerated until ready to use because they become soft and they tear easily if not cold. I made the mistake of leaving them out while I was waiting on the cheese and butter to soften and it made it more difficult to seperate and roll them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      I was so excited to eat this that I forgot to take a photo! I want to say right off that I know some people complained that the rolls were soggy when they drizzled them with sauce ahead of time. I did that and after 40 minutes they were perfectly crisp, but you could not really tell that there was ever sauce on them since it dried after baking. I will try it that way again, though, but maybe experiment with different cheeses for fun. This had to be the best comfort food since learning to make my own chicken croquettes last year. As for some reviews saying the flavors were too mixed, I found otherwise - when savoring my first few bites I could immediately distinguish the cream and cheddar cheeses. I used a 10 inch or so old Corningware deep dish that contained the 8 crescents perfectly, but they were touching after baking - so if you want them totally separated, use a larger dish or put fewer in the dish. I may add some carrot bits to the mixture for color and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

    • on September 13, 2013

      This was good, but I didn't like how heavy and rich it was and I didn't even add all the cheese. I had cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of chicken and omited the cheese that was to be added with the soup. I too waited to put the soup on until the 10 or so minutes of baking. I would play around with this recipe some more to make it lighter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

    • on August 06, 2013

      I made this in a stoneware dish and it came out wonderful! This recipe was an instant hit with my family. I will definitely make again! However, in my opinion, the flavor of the ingredients blended together too much, thus only giving it 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      this was super easy and quick perfect for the picky eater too! will definately be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      My whole family loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      Excellent comfort food. Think I could use low-fat items and really not sacrifice taste at all. I added 1/2 cup of frozen corn and peas - thawed in warm water and drained - for more of a chicken pot pie taste. I just drizzled the sauce over the top of the rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      This is so good! But when I saw the chef, I knew that I really didn't need to try it before knowing it would be a great and great tasting recipe!! Once again, Hats off to Kittencal. Thanks for sharing it with us. I did add a small can of diced green chilies because my family thinks they go in everything...lol. But that didn't change the recipe much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      This rating is really for the filling / crescent roll combination as (like many others) I made a few adjustments.

      1) I used neufchatel (1/3 less fat) instead of cream cheese -- it won't make this dish into health food, but every little bit helps.

      2) Rather than buttering the casserole dish I threw a piece of parchment paper into the bottom of the casserole and cooked the rolls on it without any sauce -- this worked great and cleanup was a breeze

      3) I did not put any sauce on the rolls while cooking, and instead of the soup / cheese I made sauce supreme with sherry (roux, chicken broth, heavy cream, egg yolk, thyme, tarragon, salt/pepper and sherry) and served it in a gravy boat on the side. I can't say for sure since I didn't try it the other way, but I really enjoy the light crust of the crescent rolls and suspect this preserved it better than cooking in sauce, plus my kids always like being able to control the amount of sauce.

      Last but not least, I had a LOT of chicken and so I made two batches of filling and froze one -- I thawed it before preparing the recipe the second time, and this was very successful -- tasted just like the first preparation. Based on the general opinion of freezing pre-filled crescent roll items on the internet, I suspect they could even be filled before freezing, making these potentially a good OAMC dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      First time I made this I didn't quite care for it, but my mom made this again and it was like eating chicken cheesecake and soo yummy! I would definitely add veggies or extra chicken to give it more substance in the future, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      This was an all-around hit! Even my very picky DH told me to make it again (which automatically gets a 20 star from me!) I did make a few changes: I used a vegetarian chicken substitute (Quorn) instead of real chicken, cream of mushroom soup in place of the cream of chicken, half and half in place of the cream, sharp cheddar instead of mild, and tossed in a glorious amount of frozen veggies (cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots) per others' recommendations. I also cooked the rolls seperate and spooned the sauce on when it was served. It kept the crescents crispy, which made my DS happy as he is against soggy textured foods. It was very pot pie-y and completely wonderful! I will be making this over and over. Since I used a 9x9 pan, I cut the recipe in half. It all fit perfect.Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Creamy yumminess! A big hit in our family. I used our left over oven roasted chicken in it. It made for an easy dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      I feel the filling was too rich and didn't like the crunchiness of the onions. I think I over did it on the garlic. I like the concept of doing a filling and rolling it up with a crescent roll. Maybe next time I will use onion powder, easy on the garlic and add more chicken and use condensed chicken soup. Easy on the cheese...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      I loved this recipe! I only tweaked it a bit. First, I used grated Colby cheese in place of the cheddar and I added seasoning salt to the sauce too. I also added 1/4c of parmesan cheese to the filling and also to the sauce and sprinkled it over the finished product. I did bake the rolls in a baking pan but without the sauce. I drizzled the sauce over top immediately before serving. I also put the filling in my food processor which made almost a filling pate for the rolls. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Amazing, delicious dish. Every time I make this the kids all gobble it up and ask for more. When I have prepared it for entertaining, I always get asked for the recipe by everyone I serve it to. Kittencal, your recipes are the very best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

    • on June 27, 2012

      This was easy and fun to make. It turned out very well and is quite a filling dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 532.4
     
    Calories from Fat 297
    55%
    Total Fat 33.0 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 17.1 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 127.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 873.6 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 22.9 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites