Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole

    Average Rating:

    489 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 489

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2011

      This was a delicious and comforting casserole! However, I made a few adjustments. I used cream of mushroom soup and turkey instead of the cream of chicken soup and chicken combo. Also, the lack of vegetables in this dish seemed crazy to me! So I threw in half a bag of frozen mixed veggies into the soup/cream mixture. I think without the veggies, the dish could have easily been way too rich and less healthy. Also, you can cut back on the shredded cheese without it making a big taste difference, which also makes it a little less heavy on the calories. All around great concept, and a recipe you can play around with to make it your own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Kitten, you have done it again!! This recipe was enjoyed by all at our house. I made as writen with the exception of baking without the sauce. I wanted to avoid some of the 'soggy' that other reviewers had commented about. Instead I made the sauce and poured a bit over rolls before they were served. I also think that these would be great cold for a picnic, or for back to school lunches. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      Everyone loved it... including my picky teenager ... Like the other reviewer I made according to directions with the exception that I did not put the soup mixture on the rolls before baking. I just put them on a parchment lined cookie sheet and baked separately until golden, then served 2 per plate and drizzled sauce over top. Made for an excellent "gourmet" tasting dinner and everyone had seconds! Next time I will double the sauce, it really set these off! :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was a big hit. My husband, who is not a fan of chicken or creamed soup, loved it. I only used one chicked breast and one can of rolls, but used the entire can of soup and cheese. Also, I sauted some celery, onions and garlic before adding it to the chicken mixture. I also used cream of onion soup instead of the chicken. It took longer than the 30 minutes to cook (about 45 mins total). I will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      The flavor was great, however the onions were still crunchy which is a major turn off for my family. I will leave them out and use onion powder next time. ***I also used puff pastry because we don't have crescent rolls here in South Africa. They didn't cook through. Next time I will bake them for awhile before topping with the sauce. This part did not change the rating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This is ok, BUT the crescent rolls make it too sweet. Next time I am going to use biscuits instead. Nobody in my house liked it except me, because of the sweet flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      Everyone at my house loved it; even my 2 and 4 year old ate everything on their plates, and that is saying a lot!!! The only complaint I got was that my husband thought there was too much onion in it. I think next time I may saute the onions before adding into the chicken mixture or either add less, so it isn't such a strong flavor. The onions don't soften all the way during the cook time. The way I see it with any recipe, make it as directed in the recipe the first time, then you can always tweak it to fit your own personal taste later after you are familiar with it! All in all I thought it was a great recipe and I will definately make again! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      This was SO good. I used a rotisserie chicken from the deli and cream of mushroom soup. Also as I look back at the recipe I accidentally used 8 oz of cream cheese instead of 4! It was perfect for us though. I did make 2 batches, one with the soup topping, and one without. I will do both ways from now on! My crescents weren't soggy at all! I did cook it for maybe 40 min though. The ones without the sauce on the top were great too, I pulled one out this morning and ate it cold!! It was really good this way! I think I will add a tad more onion and some broccoli next time! This is going to be on my menu often, easy and delicious!! Thanks again KittenCal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Rave reviews from the family! My husband actually said this is the best recipe I have made from Recipezaar and that it will be hard to top. I used reduced fat crescent rolls and lower fat cream cheese. I didn't cook them in the sauce (we like our crescent rolls crispy) and served the sauce on the side. We will probably leave the sauce out next time, as the rolls were delicious by themselves. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      I used a jellyroll pan and did not put sauce on the bottom of the pan. They cooked in about 15 minutes and were perfect - no soggy bottom, no uncooked roll anywhere. Served with the sauce on the side. Also they were great the next day! I plan on making these again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      WAY too salty. Followed the recipe exactly. Wasn't too salty the second time around without the sauce, (had leftover filling, so made for lunch next day) but I won't be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Just finished baking this dish....and it was fabulous!!! I use the extra large crescents which brown nicely and no soggy bottom, and yes, I used just a small amount on the bottom of the baking dish. After I put the filling ingredients together, I tasted it to be sure it was what I liked and it was!!!! Instead of using raw onions, I used minced. I think I'll add mushrooms and some pimento next time. I thinned out the sauce just a little and used the amount of cheese given... I may try adding white wine .....for the adult version!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I really, really wanted to like this since I always love Kittencal's recipes. I am sorry to say it was just OK. I made this for a visiting relative and she said "This is lovely" (she's English so I think this means "so-so"). My husband was silent and did not have seconds. I made as directed but did not put sauce on the bottom. Even after 40 min. the bottoms of the rolls were not done. We ate it anyway as all the sides were ready. It's not that it tasted bad by any means, but with so much cheese, etc. it was hard to tell there was any chicken even though I used a bit more than called for. On the other hand, our one year old grandaughter loved it...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Made this tonight for the family. They absolutely loved it, but it was too salty. Next time, I think I will cut out any salt, the cheese adds enough salt for our tastes. Also, I cooked it for 35 mins and it was just perfect! I did not find it soggy at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Kittencal - this is such a great recipe! I've been wanting to make it ever since I discovered it several months ago... Tonight, I decided I'd try it out for dinner, but I wanted a spicier taste. I usually follow the recipe exactly the first go-round, but did not this time. I used a store bought rotisserie chicken breast, and (as always) I hand shredded the meat. I mixed the meat with some taco seasoning, and then mixed it with cream cheese, butter, garlic powder, shredded cheddar cheese, about 3 tablespoons of mayonnaise, and about the same of salsa. I rolled the mixture up in the crescent rolls and baked them in a greased dish sans any sauce. I did serve some salsa with peach preserves mixed in on the side. The taste was right on the spot!! I made a total of 6 bundles and my DH and I ate 3 on spot, two are packed for his lunch tomorrow, and one is packed for mine. I think that the next time, I will try the original version. Thanks for giving me inspiration for another dinner night! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      fantastic! i've had this saved forever and finally got around to making it! this is a great make ahead dish, which i love! the only changes i made were to add minced garlic, serrano peppers and fresh parsley to the filling, and i used leftover rotisserie chicken. i decided to just bake the crescents and drizzle the sauce on as i served it and served with more sauce on the side. oh and i did play around with the sauce a bit, adding garlic powder, lots of black pepper and fresh parsley. next time i will try the jumbo crescents and bake the rolls in the sauce as written. thanks for another keeper carol!!! the flavors are really outstanding. bravo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Oh, I was so disappointed with these. I should have paid more attention to the reviews, and so I won't make a star rating. This is the first time I've made a Kittencal recipe that just didn't work for me. I used Turkey in the filling (and didn't care for the flavor, should definitely use chicken) but the problem was the sauce/dough. I simply couldn't get it to COOK all the way through. I did put sauce under and over the rolls, and I filled the rolls far too full thinking it would be very casserole-like in texture and would be okay -- but it wasn't. The dough simply would not cook; I ended up burning the top and sides and the middle was still totally, completely raw. I still think this is a great idea, but if I try again it will be with the sauce served on the side, and I will halve (or less) the filling. I filled two cans of crescent rolls very VERY plumply (TOO MUCH) and there was still a lot left over. I'm sure this was my mistake; as I filled the rolls too much and used way too much sauce. I may try again sometime, but we ordered pizza tonight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      Excellent! Thank you Kittencal for submitting this! My kids and the ex-DH gobbled this up like there was no tomorrow! I made it exactly as the recipe says, and it turned out perfect! It's a definite "keeper" in my family from now on! Thanks again! Stacy :) UPDATE: Just made this again, much to the delight and accolades of my kids! Once again, easy, rich, flavorful and just plain yummy! It's one that I've passed on to my sisters and is a regular recipe in my rotation...Thanks again, Kitten! YUM! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      I was excited to try this recipe after all the positive reviews, but the flavors turned out processed and artificial instead of like the home-baked comfort food I had hoped it would be. It tastes like if you dunked an onion-flavored donut into cheese sauce. I didn't think the cream of chicken soup and cheese base tasted good with the sweetness of the Pillsbury crescent rolls, and the chicken/onion/cream cheese filling was a little strong. I felt heavy & unhealthy after eating this. It does bake up beautifully, however, just like the photos! My husband said it was good, though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      This was good, but I didn't like how heavy and rich it was and I didn't even add all the cheese. I had cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of chicken and omited the cheese that was to be added with the soup. I too waited to put the soup on until the 10 or so minutes of baking. I would play around with this recipe some more to make it lighter.<br/>UPDATE: I added mixed veggies to the sauce and did not add cheese to the chicken filling. We enjoyed these much more this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 532.4
     
    Calories from Fat 297
    55%
    Total Fat 33.0 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 17.1 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 127.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 873.6 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 22.9 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites