492 Reviews

This was a delicious and comforting casserole! However, I made a few adjustments. I used cream of mushroom soup and turkey instead of the cream of chicken soup and chicken combo. Also, the lack of vegetables in this dish seemed crazy to me! So I threw in half a bag of frozen mixed veggies into the soup/cream mixture. I think without the veggies, the dish could have easily been way too rich and less healthy. Also, you can cut back on the shredded cheese without it making a big taste difference, which also makes it a little less heavy on the calories. All around great concept, and a recipe you can play around with to make it your own!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julia.l.disney_13166242 February 21, 2011

Kitten, you have done it again!! This recipe was enjoyed by all at our house. I made as writen with the exception of baking without the sauce. I wanted to avoid some of the 'soggy' that other reviewers had commented about. Instead I made the sauce and poured a bit over rolls before they were served. I also think that these would be great cold for a picnic, or for back to school lunches. Thank you so much for sharing!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Griffin_1012 July 16, 2010

Everyone loved it... including my picky teenager ... Like the other reviewer I made according to directions with the exception that I did not put the soup mixture on the rolls before baking. I just put them on a parchment lined cookie sheet and baked separately until golden, then served 2 per plate and drizzled sauce over top. Made for an excellent "gourmet" tasting dinner and everyone had seconds! Next time I will double the sauce, it really set these off! :) Thanks!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnaaskins June 08, 2011

I made this for dinner tonight and it was a big hit. My husband, who is not a fan of chicken or creamed soup, loved it. I only used one chicked breast and one can of rolls, but used the entire can of soup and cheese. Also, I sauted some celery, onions and garlic before adding it to the chicken mixture. I also used cream of onion soup instead of the chicken. It took longer than the 30 minutes to cook (about 45 mins total). I will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sacodeb December 06, 2010

This was SO good. I used a rotisserie chicken from the deli and cream of mushroom soup. Also as I look back at the recipe I accidentally used 8 oz of cream cheese instead of 4! It was perfect for us though. I did make 2 batches, one with the soup topping, and one without. I will do both ways from now on! My crescents weren't soggy at all! I did cook it for maybe 40 min though. The ones without the sauce on the top were great too, I pulled one out this morning and ate it cold!! It was really good this way! I think I will add a tad more onion and some broccoli next time! This is going to be on my menu often, easy and delicious!! Thanks again KittenCal!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kendra in So Cal August 17, 2010

The flavor was great, however the onions were still crunchy which is a major turn off for my family. I will leave them out and use onion powder next time. ***I also used puff pastry because we don't have crescent rolls here in South Africa. They didn't cook through. Next time I will bake them for awhile before topping with the sauce. This part did not change the rating!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaniemay April 02, 2010

I made this and it was a big hit! I took the advice of others and kept the sauce separate while baking and served individual servings with the cheese sauce. The bottoms didn't get a mushy until after it had cooled completely when I was packing them up and it was only slightly mushy. I love Crescent rolls fresh but never been a fan of them reheated so I wasn't sure how the leftovers would taste. The next day instead of reheating them in the microwave I put them in the oven on 350 degrees F. for about 10 minutes and then turned the broiler on high. I broiled both sides until the slightly soggy crust became crusty again 4 - 5 min on each side. They weren't as good as fresh but not bad reheated. Hubby raved about them fresh or reheated. I served them with Creamy Parmesan Rice - from another site and collards with vinegar. It was a big hit. **A word of warning though** I did a quick look over this recipe because I was in a hurry and I saw Totat TIme as 55 minutes, I already had chicken thawed out. That doesn't account for the time it takes to soften the cream cheese and butter. It's easy to soften cream cheese quickly (put the unopened foil wrapped cheese in some warm water) but butter just takes time. And dinner was done much later that night. Also I would recommend keeping the rolls refrigerated until ready to use because they become soft and they tear easily if not cold. I made the mistake of leaving them out while I was waiting on the cheese and butter to soften and it made it more difficult to seperate and roll them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kilyena March 14, 2014

This is ok, BUT the crescent rolls make it too sweet. Next time I am going to use biscuits instead. Nobody in my house liked it except me, because of the sweet flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kearnhardt June 26, 2011

Everyone at my house loved it; even my 2 and 4 year old ate everything on their plates, and that is saying a lot!!! The only complaint I got was that my husband thought there was too much onion in it. I think next time I may saute the onions before adding into the chicken mixture or either add less, so it isn't such a strong flavor. The onions don't soften all the way during the cook time. The way I see it with any recipe, make it as directed in the recipe the first time, then you can always tweak it to fit your own personal taste later after you are familiar with it! All in all I thought it was a great recipe and I will definately make again! Thanks for posting!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robingracejohnson February 17, 2011

Rave reviews from the family! My husband actually said this is the best recipe I have made from Recipezaar and that it will be hard to top. I used reduced fat crescent rolls and lower fat cream cheese. I didn't cook them in the sauce (we like our crescent rolls crispy) and served the sauce on the side. We will probably leave the sauce out next time, as the rolls were delicious by themselves. Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayleighsmom529 May 19, 2010
Kittencal's Chicken Crescent Roll Casserole