Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Cheesy Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Cheesy Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2011

      I make this a few times a year. I've adapted it for the crock pot when a heatwave comes in during summer. My SO likes it more when cooked in the crock pot. I'm delighted to have found a new favorite. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. This is true comfort food at its' best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Very tasty. I subbed a homemade cream sauce for the canned soup, but otherwise I followed the recipe. I used red potatoes and ground turkey. I also added canned green beans and corn instead of frozen vegetables. It was a hit with everyone! Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Verrrry good recipe. It's now one of my husband's most requested meals. I only changed one thing. I only added about 3 tbs of the cheese soup to the mashed potatoes. It was more than enough. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      Really good! I adapted a few things because I wanted a more vegetarian meal and I was having to use things I had on hand. I put cream of mushroom soup instead of cheese soup in the meat mixture. I replaced the meat with four crumbled thawed Boca Burgers. I cut out the cheese soup in the mashed potatoes and used shredded cheddar cheese, margarine and a little milk. Husband loved it! Yea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      Mmmmm, that was so awesome !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      We really liked this. One of the best shepherds pies I have made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      It really needs the cheese sauce otherwise there really isn't much flavor. The recipe itself is, in my opinion, a bit scattered as it relies mostly on cooking everything separately and then adding them together in the end. The result is good though. This will be easy to make ahead of time though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Excellent meal, even potato hating hubby enjoyed it. I have frozen the leftovers in lunch size portions but haven't yet taken them to work to try. Added to my cookbook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      We really enjoyed this! This makes a lot more than 6 servings, we will get at least 8 out of it. I needed a 9x13 pan to hold everything instead of a 9x9. We did not use any variations and it was great, although next time I may try some corn with it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I made this on a whim the other night after reading the description. Fantastic! My wife and I both enjoyed the cheddar cheese soup in the potatoes. It is after all Cheesy shepherd's pie. I only used mustard as add-on this time. Next time I will add some beef broth and mabe creamed corn. This was added to my cookbook. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      We chose the beef broth and flour chili sauce for our add-ins. This had a different, yummy flavor. I did feel that it was too runny, even with the flour, so we'll adjust that next time. It also needed more potatoes. I cheated and used boxed potatoes and already cooked ground beef. Nice and easy meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      I wasn't going to review this recipe until I tried to make it again. My fault for a boo boo. I cooked it a tad too long so some parts of the beef got extra cooked. As well I would use a smaller casserole dish than what I did use. The 11" was too large, the 9" would make the layers thicker. For my taste I found the mashed potatoes too cheesy with the soup, I would just put in some cheddar cheese on top only. I added the cream corn and Dijon mustard to the mixture. The meat mixture had a delicious flavor. I will have to attempt this one again with my boo boo's fixed to get a much better taste of it. I have loved all of your recipes Kittencal I am sure this one will be another as well. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Easy and good. My 12 year old loved this. The only thing I did differently was that I used some leftover mashed red potatoes to top it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      This was easy, tasty, and inexpensive. We added canned mushrooms, ketchup, and some corn, and we used boxed instant potatoes because we were in a hurry. It turned out great, and we enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I thought that this would be one of those recipes that I would like more than my wife, but no! She loved it, too. I made it as written and the only extra was ketchup. I'll add more extras next time to see how it comes out. Thanks for providing what is going to become a regularly made, family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      My first time making this, I forgot to drain the fat from the beef mixture and my potatoes ended up on the runny side -- my fault entirely. That said, it was still VERY tasty. I'll definitely be trying this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

    • on January 15, 2008

      Love this one! i make alot because my husbands friends come over and it's so easy to make, and reheat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      My DH had never had Shepherd's pie and he loved this recipe. He said that it had that Grandma taste. Very east to make. I added step 12 and 13 to my pie. Tasted even better the second night we had it. Thanks Kittencal for another terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      This was very yummy! both my DH and my toddler loved it. I didn't have cheddar cheese soup so I used cream of celery (all I had) and it was still yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Cheesy Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 546.8
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    47%
    Total Fat 28.7 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 113.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1118.7 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 36.4 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites