40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make this a few times a year. I've adapted it for the crock pot when a heatwave comes in during summer. My SO likes it more when cooked in the crock pot. I'm delighted to have found a new favorite. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. This is true comfort food at its' best.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elegance June 27, 2011

Very tasty. I subbed a homemade cream sauce for the canned soup, but otherwise I followed the recipe. I used red potatoes and ground turkey. I also added canned green beans and corn instead of frozen vegetables. It was a hit with everyone! Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allie 1123 August 17, 2010

Verrrry good recipe. It's now one of my husband's most requested meals. I only changed one thing. I only added about 3 tbs of the cheese soup to the mashed potatoes. It was more than enough. Thank you for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill L. "Margaritta Lover" December 20, 2013

Really good! I adapted a few things because I wanted a more vegetarian meal and I was having to use things I had on hand. I put cream of mushroom soup instead of cheese soup in the meat mixture. I replaced the meat with four crumbled thawed Boca Burgers. I cut out the cheese soup in the mashed potatoes and used shredded cheddar cheese, margarine and a little milk. Husband loved it! Yea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RiversideDeb May 30, 2013

Mmmmm, that was so awesome !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna's Cook'in April 25, 2013

We really liked this. One of the best shepherds pies I have made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 20, 2012

It really needs the cheese sauce otherwise there really isn't much flavor. The recipe itself is, in my opinion, a bit scattered as it relies mostly on cooking everything separately and then adding them together in the end. The result is good though. This will be easy to make ahead of time though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeMyztikX January 24, 2011

Excellent meal, even potato hating hubby enjoyed it. I have frozen the leftovers in lunch size portions but haven't yet taken them to work to try. Added to my cookbook. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst April 24, 2010

We really enjoyed this! This makes a lot more than 6 servings, we will get at least 8 out of it. I needed a 9x13 pan to hold everything instead of a 9x9. We did not use any variations and it was great, although next time I may try some corn with it. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway January 23, 2010

I made this on a whim the other night after reading the description. Fantastic! My wife and I both enjoyed the cheddar cheese soup in the potatoes. It is after all Cheesy shepherd's pie. I only used mustard as add-on this time. Next time I will add some beef broth and mabe creamed corn. This was added to my cookbook. Thanks for another great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaddyChef75 December 13, 2009
Kittencal's Cheesy Shepherd's Pie