11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My son, who eats NOTHING, had two big helpings. He and my husband requested this be put in the regular dinner rotation. I'm all for it! Easy and tasty. Winner! Winner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary42 March 29, 2010

very yummy! I will say that I made this about 2 yrs ago & it was not very good but I know it was something I did wrong..decided to finally give it another try as ive gotten more experience with cooking real food :) ..glad I did, we loved it! Will add it to my dinner rotation! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr_kaley March 20, 2011

This was very good. Used onion powder instead of actual onions and put fat free sour cream on it to serve. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade-Angel July 10, 2009

Thanks Kittencal I can't say I knew what a potato kugel was or is but this was very tasty. Working shift work its hard to find recipes that can be done in advance and still taste good. I'm so sick of the same old stand byes. You did it again, as always many thanks,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.a.c.k. February 06, 2009

This recipe was amazing! Loved it! Easy to make as well. The only thing I did to this recipe was do 2 lbs of beef and instead of 6 potatoes i did 12. I mainly doubled the recipe. The only thing i would do the next time is add some more spice. I love spice so I'm going to try it again and play a little with some spice! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindzayM September 02, 2008

I could easily give this another 5 stars, or more! What a delightful recipe. My son, who is 11, never eats casserole-type dishes. Well, he ate TWO big plates of this recipe. He absolutely loved it. So, in my books, when my son eats like that, it awesome! I doubled the recipe and used the frozen hash browns as suggested by the lovely SusyQ! There is an extra in my freezer for another night. Thanks Kittencal! Wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Duncan Mahogany January 17, 2008

I really hate to rate this, because I'm sure that it's quite tasty when it works. However, mine didn't. I don't know if we grow our large potatoes larger here, but after more than an hour, only the ends of the casserole were cooked - the rest of the potatoes were still semi-raw, and I ended up having to toss it. The only thing I can think of is that I had too much potato. Oh, well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP February 28, 2007

Love Kittencal's Recipes, but, this came out way too dry and hard.... to ME, kugel is sweet also growing up in a Jewish family..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco May 05, 2014

This was pretty easy to make and freezes very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyLin June 26, 2012
Kittencal's Cheesy Ground Beef Potato Kugel