13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

KITTEN Your description is right on target. Nothing I can say would describe it better . I've given this recipe to friends and family and they totally agree this recipe CANNOT be beat. My only regret is I didnt make it sooner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl March 16, 2010

This is the best cheesecake I have ever made. Everyone loved it. This cheesecake is worth the wait. It is rich and creamy and melts in your mouth.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycampbellfarm November 22, 2008

This cheesecake has the perfect texture for me, creamy but still firm. I made it for Thanksgiving and family members were arguing over the last piece. Thanks Kittencal for another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maymie November 27, 2011

Simply delicious! I followed the ingredients of the recipe exactly and was able to fill up 2 store-bought graham cracker crusts. I topped each one with different baking chips and toppings and they were a huge hit! The only changes I made were in the process, I added 1 egg at a time and beat for 2 minutes in between each addition, which I know adds more time but really makes a creamier finished product. I also stuck a pan of water in the oven below the baking cheesecakes, had no problems with cracking at all! My baking time was reduced to 45 minutes instead of an hour. Great basic cheesecake recipe to add to your book, can be dressed up in so many ways!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amsedlacek November 25, 2011

An incredible recipe. Lots of parts that take some time to bring together, but not at all hard and definitely worth it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teleidoscope June 24, 2011

Top-notch recipe. I took it to a friend's house for New Year's Day dinner, and it was a hit--smooth, creamy, and delicious! I topped it with cherry pie filling (which covered the crack nicely), and decorated it with fresh holly. It looked as good as it tasted! I don't know why it cracked, because I followed the recipe exactly and put a pan of water in the oven, but I don't really care. The taste is the main thing, and that was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raquelmcfetridge January 03, 2015

Ohhh...yumm.....best cheesecake ever!!!! Made last Christmas, and again this year. Everyone raved and fought over the last piece. This year, the top did crack, but with homemade raspberry topping, no one noticed! Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtnmel December 29, 2012

I have always tried to steer towards Kittens recipes because they have never failed me and have been outstanding. However, this cheesecake, which happened to be my first cheesecake, kinda let me down. I followed the recipe to the T. The center of the cheesecake was not cooked thoroughly. It was quite soft and pudding like. It was only the size of a gulf ball in the center and the rest of the cake was absolutely perfect in texture. I put it in the fridge about 9 last night and I cut into it at 11 this morning. I am hoping that if it sits in there longer it may thicken up some more. There is nothing wrong with my oven either. It is a brand new oven that is right on the nose with temperature. I will make this again because it is very easy but I think I will bake it at 350 instead. I posted pictures. I also think it needs alittle more flavor. I did not use any topping. In my opinion, a true cheese cake does not need toppings to make it taste good. If it stands on it's own in taste then it is a winner. This needs something and my guess is maybe more lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnee50 December 17, 2012

The flavor and texture were absolutely fabulous. However, this was my very first cracked cheesecake. :-( My guess is oven temperature variation, humidity, or some variation thereof. Not as pretty as I would have liked, but sliced through the crack? Perfection on a plate...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuAnn_Mason November 21, 2012

Oh my. I made the cheesecake this weekend and it was by far the BEST cheesecake I've ever had. It was sooo creamy. I added a homemade strawberry topping and it was delicious! If I could give it more than five stars, I would. This is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy1954 November 12, 2012
Kittencal's Cheesecake