Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Cheddar Cheese & Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Cheddar Cheese & Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2013

      This soup was wonderful! My kids loved it. I used 1/2 medium cheddar cheese and 1/2 sharp cheddar cheese. I also used more potatoes. I will be making this again soon. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      Perfect soup. Exactly what I was looking for. Used extra sharp cheddar, canned potatoes, and 2% milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      Simple, tasty and fun to customize.
      A great recipe for beginning cooks.
      Did not use 3cups cups of cheese, maybe about half that, BUT had plenty on hand to add as garnish. No parmesan used, but did add crumbled bacon as garnish, daughter also added dollop of sour cream to hers.
      I did stick blend the heck out of the veggies (I'm soo picky)-before the potatoes were added, then a little more to break up the bigger pieces of potato. Thanks for helping me eat my vegetables!
      Plan on experimenting and adding broccoli to see if my sister will like it, may use the full 3 cups cheese for that. She loves broccoli cheese soup. (I actually like broccoli o.k.-I won't have to puree the heck out of those.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      This was wonderful kittencal! I doubled this recipe and modified just a few things when I made your soup by adding a little more celery than the recipe called for and I also substituted a gluten free flour for the regular flour so my daughter could have it. I transferred it to a crock pot and brought it to a Superbowl party last February, everyone loved it. I have made it several times since then..it's always a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      Wow !! This is the recipe I have been looking for !!
      I wanted a good cheese/potato soup recipe to build on and duplicate one of the best soups I've ever eaten in a restaurant.
      The soup was described as "cheesy potato soup with california blend veggies".
      So I made this recipe (my own chicken broth too) and added some cooked cauliflower and broccoli.
      It turned out PERFECTLY.......I am so happy. This recipe is probably open to many other ideas too, it is a good one to experiment with.
      I was a little skeptical until the cheese was added....it seemed to lack something, but the cheese really pulled it all together. The flavors were just perfect.
      Thank you so very much.....(been trying to do this on my own for about 3 yrs. and just couldn't get it right). Now it seems so simple, but the right basic recipe was the key.
      Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      Great recipe came out perfect. Didn't have chicken broth, so used 1 packet pork seasoning (think it came from a Top Ramen pack) and 2 beef bouillon cubes (hey, I needed soup and used what I had on hand)
      Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      Wonderful soup to warm up with on a chilly evening! I used 1 cup skim milk and 1 cup half and half, and the soup was not too thick for me. I think it would have been too rich for my tastes with all half and half. Used crumbled beef bacon on top. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

    • on May 10, 2009

      Very thick soup. I used 3 cups of broth to make it less thick. I mashed half of the potatoes, and others cubed. Turned out very yummy. Also added 2 tsp of lime juice to make it a little tangy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This was only okay for me... I only used milk because even with milk, it was a bit thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Perfect soup Kit!! Took it to a "Soup Party" and it was the hit of the night! Not a drop was leftover and I doubled the recipe! A nice smooth texture of the cream base and not overly cheesy. I chunked the pototoes a bit larger than a dice. I used the combo of half-n-half & milk to cut back a bit on fat calories and you still get a wonderfully creamy soup! I did add the optional bacon to the soup and had a small dish of crumbled bacon and one of cheese on the side for topping. Makes a great presentation for such an economical dish! :) Tagged your recipe in Zaar Stars! This one definitely is a STAR!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This was awesome! I did make a couple of changes though. I took half of the potatoes and slightly mashed them with butter and a little half and half. Also only used 2 1/2 cups of the chedder and a 1/2 cup of pepper jack and all I can say is WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This was awesome! We didn't have potatoes to put in but it was so full of flavor and creamy! 5 stars even without potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      I made this soup tonight, to go with some leftover stromboli. I made it exactly as written and I would not change a thing. It was perfect and we loved it. A great creamy soup for a cold and rainy night. Very easy to put together. Thx so much Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

    • on February 06, 2006

      Very good soup! Creamy and flavorful even without adding bacon. I prepared it as written, somthing which ended up taking WAY less time than stated ;) I'll be making this soup again and give it 5-stars for delicious simplicity and wholesomeness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      Really good soup Kitty, rich and cheesy. I did add in bacon. We loved this. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      a very nice soup recipe i made my rue in a pot so i could skip washing one extra pan but te flavor of this soup is great and very cheesey nice one kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2003

      This was good. I followed the recipe except I used Velvetta instead of the chedder cheese. That's what I had on hand. It also takes more that 5 min to cook. More like 20-25 mins. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Cheddar Cheese & Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 826.3
     
    Calories from Fat 545
    66%
    Total Fat 60.6 g
    93%
    Saturated Fat 34.4 g
    172%
    Cholesterol 163.9 mg
    54%
    Sodium 1316.1 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 35.5 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites