Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Caramelized Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Caramelized Onions

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2010

      Excellent! Kittencal does it again! I make these as directed and use them on panini sandwiches but last night I did something different. I used 4 large onions, 1/2 cup butter (will use less next time), no oil, brown sugar, salt and pepper and put all ingredients in the crock pot overnight until they were nicely carmelized. THEN I MADE THEM INTO SOUP! I added 4 cups veggie broth, 2 veg-chicken bouillon cubes, 1/4 cup sherry, few dashes or Worcestershire, 1-2 tsp minced garlic, big pinch of thyme and a bay leaf - cooked on low for 1 more hour and served. Everyone LOVED the soup!!! I will make this again and again, with less butter of course! Toasted half a multi=grain sandwich thin with a piece of havarti cheese on top, slapped it in my bowl of soup and VOWALAH!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      These onions turned out great! I made them for chicken patty melts tonight and my whole family loved them. They were so easy and good. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      This recipe is AMAZING! Used it over pan-fried kielbasa slices, a bit of mustard with it on a sub roll and it was sandwich HEAVEN.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Another home run from Kittencal! Made this to put inside an omelet. We were having breakfast for dinner so made omelets with caramelized onions, mushrooms, ham and cheese. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Oh these are so good. We had steaks tonight and I made these to go along with them. The little bit of brown sugar makes them so good. We all loved them and I can't wait for the leftovers with our omelets in the morning. Thank you for sharing yet another fantastic recipe from your collection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Excellent! Prepared this dish to serve on a vegetarian sandwich. I did not use sweet onions and did add the brown sugar. Made with two onions and cut back on the butter and oil, this came together nicely in a non-stick skillet. Mine came out browner than the other pictures. Who doesn't love caramelized onions anyway?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Perfect is the word. My brother asked at the last minute for caramelized onions with our brats tonight. I scaled the recipe down for one onion and it came out great. I know we'll be making the full recipe again soon. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      These onions are a great addition to sandwiches for an extra sweet crunch, they also work great added to cooked rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      Tremendous caramelized onions. Highly recommend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      I had four cups of frozen sliced Vidalias from the past summer's bounty (the local market's, not my own crop)---and tried this recipe today. I could have happily eaten the entire skillet! The soup idea from LilMsBritches below is inspired. I'm trying that next, and expect great things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      What a great recipe!! Even my son who will not eat onions ate them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Wow, this was great! I did four medium-to-large yellow onions in my large stockpot, and replaced the sugar with agave syrup (for those of you who want to try this, use about 1/2 the amount called for, because my agave came out slightly too sweet... and don't worry... you can put the agave in at the time that the sugar is called for in the recipe). I also cut down on the salt.

      Fantastic! I will use this again and again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Fantastic onions!....We recently had appetizers at some friends' house and when we entered the house there was this marvelous smell of onions being caramelized. They added them to a simple packaged onion dip, and it took it to a whole new level of deliciousness. Everyone loved it.. Thanks for teaching me how to caramelize my own onions, Kitten! I will be looking for more ideas of how to use them because they're just so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Wonderful! Mine took about an hour to get them caramelized but let them cook on 3 until they were at the color I wanted. Used them in a pasta dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Perfect! Perfect! Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Great go-to recipe! I always make the mistake of trying to not follow this when making carmalized onions and slowly but surely over a few months my onions become less and less perfect. I always end up coming back to this recipe and am appaled that I hadn't been following it the whole time! No fail!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      I don't know how I forgot to review these onions- I make them several times a month! The Gold Standard is using Vidalias, but they aren't available year-round. So any sweet onion will turn out yummy... This is a winner, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Fantastic! Another winner! My first attempt at making these gems. I made a batch ahead of time to take to a Burger Bash BBQ later this afternoon. This recipe couldn't be simpler. Thanks a bunch Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      looking good - going to serve them up on some pulled pork (I saw restaurant sign up tonight after work and I already had some leftover pulled pork iin the fridge so voila!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      I only used one big onion, but we ate so many straight from the pan, there was hardly enough for our hamburgers! Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Caramelized Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (504 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.6
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    61%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 462.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites