Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Cabbage Rolls With Tomato Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Cabbage Rolls With Tomato Sauce

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2010

      WOW! This was very good. I wish I could give it more stars. Yes, the recipe is a little labored but if a few steps are taken ahead of time, this could definitely become a weekday meal. I am a butter fanatic so I did add a couple of tablespoons of butter to the sauce. As always, the steps were very precise (down to the point of putting a jelly roll pan to catch oven spills) and easy to follow. I can always depend on a Kittencal recipe! Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      KITTEN YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!! When my Slovak grandmother passed away she took all her recipes with her. She had alzheimers and not one person in my family sat her down and got her recipes before she couldn't remember them anymore. We miss her terribly and this is her recipe!!! I was so excited to get this recipe and see how you made it, that's EXACTLY how grandma did it! Thanks so much!!! My family will be so excited this Christmas when I show up at dinner!! We will pass this recipe on to my children on day. Thank You again!!! I always say I have NEVER made any of your recipes that I didn't gobble down and have everyone asking me for the recipe. You are the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Another winner of a recipe Kitten. We so enjoyed these, they were absolutely delicious. I used a large savoy cabbage, just my preference. I only used the one head of cabbage and cut the meat mixture in half and it had made 12 rolls with plenty of cabbage left over for the bottom and top of the rolls. I did make the whole amount of sauce but I think next time I would double up on the sauce, only because I love lots of sauce and after the cook time it didn't leave much sauce. But the flavor of this sauce was so tasty, I did add a little bit of dry mustard for a bit of zing instead of the cayenne, and it was great. My rolls were cooked in 2 hours time, I am sure that is because of the type of cabbage. I don't think my teenage DD has figured that cabbage is a vegetable yet cause she licked her plate clean. I like it when she does this. Kitten thanks for your wonderful recipe, I can see why you have used this one for so many years. It is fantastic and I too will use it from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Wonderful recipe that I did in the crockpot! I did make some changes though. I cut the recipe in half as I am only cooking for 3. I used Italian sausage, fresh garlic and brown rice in the meat filling.... added enough tomato sauce just to combine the ingredients. Loved the parmesan cheese...that was a nice touch. In the sauce, I used tomato sauce, 1 tsp sugar, salt and pepper. I layered the bottom of my crockpot with cabbage leaves, layed the rolls and sauce then added the sauerkraut. I topped it with more cabbage leave. I cooked this on low for 6 hours. My only comment regarding these is to watch the salt content...this was borderline salty. Next time, I might try adding some Marinara Sauce to the sauce for a different taste. Overall an excellent recipe....one that I would do again! Thanks, Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Delicious! This was the first time I was brave enough to make my own cabbage rolls and I am so glad to have Kitten's recipe! The directions are precise and make the process go smoothly. The flavor is exactly as I remember from childhood -- yes, my Grammie made them too! Thank you Kitt! This is as always a winner that I will be comfortable making again and again!!! Made for KK's Recipe Tag

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This lady knows how to cook!!! Kittencal delivers only the very best. Her instructions are clear and the food superlative.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I made these for supper last night. They were fantastic! The only thing I did different is add 1/4 cup brown sugar to the tomato sauce. Everyone said they were to best cabbage rolls they ever tasted. Thanks again Kitten for another winner. Deb

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      My first try at cabbage rolls, we were all very pleased with the results! I followed the directions exactly, including freezing the cabbage, I DID find that when it came to forming the rolls my leaves were not as pliant as I had expected, so my rolls were not quite the nice tidy little packages I had expected. However, I packed everything into my casserole, layered with sauce as directed, cooked for about two hours, covered with foil, took out, left to cool overnight, and then froze, as I wanted this dish for later in the week. Dh took it out and let it thaw completely in the course of the day, (its winter here, warm but not hot, takes a while), then put it in a medium oven, still covered with foil, to finish off. It was in there for a little over an hour, I then served it with buttered noodles. WONDERFUL!! Cooked to perfection, the flavours are so rich and satisfying, we loved it, and I'm very pleased with myself! thanks Kitten! DH says thanks too, he'll be enjoying it again for lunch today :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

      can it be made in a crock pop? fred

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      These are very good! But, I'm uping it to 5 stars for it being super easy compared to the traditional method in which I'm used to preparing them. I'll now have cabbage rolls more often! Cabbage rolls are one of my favorite dishes and beyond making them with my mother, we also used to get them from the ladies at the church... so, I know cabbage rolls. I recommend you try these!
      Still awaiting that cookbook KC!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      These were so yummy and hearty! Had the perfect combination of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      I can't believe I forgot to compliment this recipe. I just finished having the rolls for supper. I didn't use sauerkraut as I remember not liking it and have never even seen it sold here in MX. I doubled the sauce and did use the parmesan cheese inside and on top after baking. I cannot wait to have the leftover rolls for lunch tomorrow. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      I have made cabbage rolls many times and never really been disappointed before. However, I am afraid after trying this particular recipe I will no longer be able to eat them any other way. These were fantastic. I used only ground beef as it was all I had. I also steamed my cabbage leaves rather than freezing and thawing because I was too impatient to wait an extra day for that. Next time I will try it your way as my method isn't the best, but it worked well enough that I was able to make them right away. I did use sour kraut but not cheese, which I will try next time. Thank you for an outstanding recipe, this is one of those you try to commit to memory in case it ever gets lost. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      I LOVED these Cabbage Rolls!! They were exactly that tomato/sour taste I was looking for... perfect. My sister came over for dinner and she loved them just as much. I made just as written for the exception of the cabbage, I just simmered in salted water untill softened without a problem. One cup of cooked rice. Also doubled the sauce for these and used close to one cup of sauerkraut. The sauerkraut made the dish for me. Baked for 3 hours in a 13X9 and one smaller pan. This was my frist time making Cabbage Rolls and I'm so glad I chose this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Simply amazing. I have never made cabbage rolls before, but you made this recipe so easy to follow. I used the parmesan cheese option and I think that added tons of flavor. Also added the optional cayenne pepper for heat. We loved these cabbage rolls. I liked the beef and sausage combination. Thank you for posting a other wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Wonderful cabbage rolls Kittencal. YUM around the table. Liked the addition of the bacon and parmesan cheese. I guess that is what makes them special. I made these using chinese cabbage which I prefer as it is easier to work with. Thanks for the great recipe. A Keeper it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I made these for a surprise 80th birthday party for my Polish father-in-law. I tripled the recipe (for 100 guests) and froze them ahead of time. Everyone loved them. My husband said they passed the acid test--they were as good as his Grandmother's. Thanks for a great recipe Kittencal. You made me look sooo good to all the Polish in-laws.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      Great recipe! I cut it in half and still had dinner, a pan for the freezer and layered the cabbage and meatmixture in a loaf pan, froze it for later. DH loves them. I didn't use saurkraut, I actually forgot it until they were in the oven...Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      This is a very tasty cabbage roll recipe. I halved the recipe and altered some of the preparation steps slightly. I learned a trick from my mother-in-law which decreases the preparation and cooking time considerably. Rather than boiling the heads of cabbage, I freeze them. Let the cabbage thaw overnight, cut out the core, peel the leaves off, and follow the remainder of the recipe as listed. When it gets to the cooking part, I put a little water in the bottom of my pressure cooker and arrange the cabbage rolls on the little rack that came with the cooker. I then pour the sauce over the cabbage rolls and close up the pressure cooker. Once the "rocker" starts gently rocking, reduce the heat to medium and cook for 10 to 15 minutes. Cool immediately by running the pot under cold water until the vent closes. Open the lid and serve immediately. Thank you, Kittencal, for a really good recipe! I hope my suggestions are helpful. I make cabbage rolls much more frequently now that I have these time-saving tricks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Nora Marie gave some of this recipe for my husband to try. I don't care for cabbage rolls, so he's the one rating. He says it's delicious, however he would have prefered a little less seasoning. Maybe it had something to do with the spaghetti sauce she used. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Cabbage Rolls With Tomato Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (4502 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.4
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    46%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 42.4 mg
    14%
    Sodium 344.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes