Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttery Flaky Shortbread Pan Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttery Flaky Shortbread Pan Cookies

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2011

      This was my first attempt at a shorbread cookie. The dough was not what I expected, it was less like dough and more like moist crumbs. Super easy to prepare though! Pressing it in the cake pans was a lot like making a graham cracker pie crust. I divided my plain dough in half and added 1/2 cup dried cranberries and the zest of 1 lemon to one half. To the other I added 1/2 cup dried apricots and 1/4 tsp almond extract. The results were fabulous! I used glass pans and let the edges just start to brown before pulling from the oven, about 33 minutes for me. I got 16 cookies per pan and they are soft with a nice chew and hold up very well. I was worried when I first pulled them from the oven as they seemed very delicate but after cooling completely I do believe they will package up nicely for travel. I can confirm the baked cookies freeze well and thaw without any trouble. My favorite was the apricot, while I love cranberry lemon, the more subtle apricot and almond flavoring really complimented the rich butteriness of the cookie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Made it with dried cherries. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      I liked this recipe a lot and the people at work loved it. I added some lemon zest to the dough, and used dried cranberries. Very very easy to make, and I think they would freeze well too. I'll be making these again soon as one of my Christmas cookies. Bagpipestikke is right; it takes only a few minutes to mix these together...thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This recipe is fabulous! I made this to give to my new neighbor who is from Scotland. Thought I'd give her a little piece of home. She loved them! I was so pleased! Baking something new, besides giving it to someone you don't really know, can be stressful. That's why I had a few of them just to calm myself down LOL! Thanks Kitten for sharing and for the best cookies I've had in a long time. I'll be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      I followed directions to the "t" and am an experienced cookie baker, but these did not turn out well at all. They were overly chewy, I tried baking them longer and ended up with greasy, chewy cookies, nothing like shortbread. Not sure what I did wrong, but was very disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      These definately deserve more than 5 stars. Taste, texture and ease of making couldn't be better. Delicious just begins to discribe these gems.... nita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Wow! I loved this recipe. I added some almond flavoring and chopped almonds. It was a great additon. Thanks for posting this, it will be a family favorite for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      My first attempt at a pan cookie. These were truly easy to make, and prep was extremely fast with the food processor. Such buttery, flaky, melt in your mouth layers! We all loved them! Thanks again Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      Preparation time is acutally about 6 minutes, the other 4 are to triple check the ingredients because it's hard to believe a recipe could be this easy! Wonderful cookies! Especially helpful to me because my son likes cookies soft and 'half baked'. This cookie recipe is so safe....he could eat the dough BEFORE I bake it safely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      soooooooooooo easy and buttery, these cookies take hardly any time to make, what a super fantastic cookie recipe, I LOVE THESE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      KittenCal is right! These are the best, easiest butter cookies I have ever made--my family thought so too-the whole batch was gone within about 10 minutes! I made half the batch plain, and added orange zest and a touch of vanilla to the other half. This is a very versatile recipe, it will be easy to add flavors, but it is delicious just as submitted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttery Flaky Shortbread Pan Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (790 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1719.9
     
    Calories from Fat 838
    48%
    Total Fat 93.1 g
    143%
    Saturated Fat 58.4 g
    292%
    Cholesterol 244.0 mg
    81%
    Sodium 962.8 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 215.9 g
    71%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 127.6 g
    510%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites