373 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm so glad I found this recipe! It's a great recipe for me and my 4-year-old son to bake together! The dough is easy to work with, and the cookies come out delicious, not too sweet, so my son can decorate with icing however he likes:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
treble_clef November 13, 2011

These cookies & the icing are amazing! The dough is great to work with and the icing is sweet, but not overly so. It's the perfect compliment to the cookies. Thank you for finally making my sugar cookie baking "easy" again! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Chelle in PA December 30, 2010

Amazing cookies ... best ever! Will be using this every holiday! Brought a plate to my parents for Christmas Eve dinner ... pretty sure my dad had 4 cookies in one sitting!! Amazing !!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rajah5 December 27, 2010

Another great recipe by Kittencal. These are better than the iced sugar cookies I pay $1 for at my local bakery. I won't by them any more. My kids have eaten almost the whole batch in less than a day. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo December 21, 2010

I made these cookies for a cookie exchange. They loved them! My husband even loved them and he is a picky cookie person. I loved how easy the dough was to roll. Definitely a keeper!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jstdee523 December 16, 2010

Loved the icing. Worked well for gingerbread cookies also.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sarita in Austin Texas December 12, 2010

These turned out great!! I loved the detailed directions =). It looks like professionals made these cookies. I can't wait to show them off tomorrow! The glaze consistency reminds me of circus animal cookies (though these are a lot better). I never knew how to accomplish that texture. They definitely need to fully harden overnight but the recipe is very straightforward. I recommend highly!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicamwilliams61006_12491869 November 13, 2010

The dough held its shape nicely, but they had no flavor!! I had a few people try them and they were tasteless!! I am really dissapointed! I ended up throwing them in the trash.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crystal_ingor October 19, 2009

Great recipe! Buttery and delicious not too sweet. I used it to make thumbprint cookies (my boys favorite ) and it turned out better than expected.The icing dried beautifully I added a tsp of butter flavor to it and it was delicious. This is the only sugar cookie recipe I will use going forward!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef CCE December 20, 2013

I have made these cookies several times now. They work great with cookie sticks. The frosting allows them to be individually wrapping without the frosting being squished. Everyone has commented on how wonderful they look and taste. I have had numerous request for the recipe.In addition to the dough being easy to work with, they are very quick to make. I made over 100 cookies in about 6 hours. That is cooking, decorating and bagging. (I did make the dough the night before.) My husband was Santa this year and he gave one to each child from Mrs. Santa. For those with lactose problems, I made a batch with Earth Balance vegan "butter" sticks and they came out wonderful. The almond extract is a must for flavor in the cookie. I used only vanilla in the frosting but I added a lot more milk so it gave a thin coating on the cookie. For the lactose free people I used almond milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryann o. December 11, 2013
Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens