Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Average Rating:

    363 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 363

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2014

      My husband said these were hands-down the best sugar cookies he's ever tasted! I especially love how the icing had a nice gloss to it but hardened completely so I could package them into plastic bags for gifts! Perfect cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      OMG. After reading some of the posts saying that the cookies were a little bland, I doubled the vanilla and almond flavor. I could eat the dough all by itself. I will post more once the cookies are made. The dough was really easy to make. I am making the cookies in a couple days so I wrapped the dough tightly and put it in the fridge. <br/><br/>They came out wonderful. Light, fluffy, and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      I think I rolled mine too thin but the flavor and icing turned out great. Made half a recipe and got 8 of the large 7 inch snowflake cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Very good for sure. Thanks for posting it so I could find it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      This is my new "go to" cut out cookie recipe. The dough was so easy to work with and made cutting out cookies fun for me again! The icing is also wonderful to work with. I baked them on parchment paper so they came off the pan easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      Made these for Santa. They were easily mixed with the KitchenAid, I did use vanilla in place of the almond flavoring. I didn't bother with the frosting because they were that good, but thinking about making them again and using the frosting...maybe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      This sugar cookie recipe was easy to work with and DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe as written. I made a butter cream frosting recipe from the powdered sugar box. The next day after frosting them they were soft and wonderful. This is my new go to sugar cookie recipe. Thank you and Merry Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      I was looking for a sugar cookie that tasted like the Lofthouse brand cookie. The photo of AZ Meg looked like Lofthouse, so I thought I would try. As far as the cookie, the dough was easy to work with and didn't spread after baking. I did not think the taste was very good though, kind of bland. The frosting was shiny which I liked, but mine was not thick like AZ Meg's frosting on her cookies. I maybe added too much milk. My frosting ran off the cookie. I would say overall this cookie recipe is so, so. I will keep looking for a Lofthouse sugar cookie recipe. Will not make this cookie recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Amazing!!!!! I will use this recipe every time I make cookies!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      This recipe is the best ever. I've tried a lot of sugar cookie recipes over the years, but have been disappointed in one aspect or another. This dough handles nicely, even when slightly chilled. I rolled it out in my silicone pie-crust bag, and used powdered sugar instead of flour to keep it from sticking. Several reviewers mentioned that the cookies weren't sweet enough, but the small amount added sugar from the powdered sugar gave the dough just a tiny extra bit of sweetness, and a perfect balance of buttery and sweet flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      I made these tonight. Added 1/4 brown sugar to the dough, otherwise no changes. Easy to make, easy to roll, delicious to eat! After you refrigerate the dough, work quickly and don't roll out all of the dough at one time. Do it in quarters and leave what you are not working with in the fridge. The icing is similar to gingerbread house icing. Sets up nicely. This recipe is a keeper and I will use it every year from now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      These cookies are wonderful! The dough rolls out beautifully and is super easy to work with, it's very easy to cook them for the right amount of time without burning them and the almond extract (spring for the real stuff, trust me!) gives the cookies such a great taste. The frosting is fantastic as well; the consistency is easy to work with and since you're painting it on, you have so much control and can add lots of lovely details...plus it has such a beautiful glossy look! Five stars all the way!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      This is by far a great cookie to make. One batch made 96 2-4 inch Christmas cutouts with very little left over dough. The dough was easy to work with. Flavorful. Not bland, not to sweet. I used all vanilla. It will be my go to recipe for all my cut outs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

    • on December 19, 2013

      Since I have retired, I have done more baking than I used to. This the first time making these cookies since I was a kid helping my mother. They came out great! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      What can I say that hasn't been said already. Delicious!!. Easy to make. The dough is wonderful to work with. It is a beautiful dough. I will always use this recipe. Thanks for sharing such a top-shelf recipe.I have theses many times and I put the icing in squeeze bottles. A different color for each color. I thin out the icing a little more than what the recipe calls for but it does make much easier and faster to decorate. This is really such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      Hi. I'm what I considered a seasoned home cook. But was never able to make a sugar cookie dough that worked. This is by far THE BEST COOKIE DOUGH I've ever worked with in a good 15-20 years!!! Really, try this if you think you don't know how to boil water. It's easy and the flavor.... OOOlaaalaaa!!! <br/>Revision: I decided to tweak these for a change, and added orange zest and a little juice and OMG! Awesome and a half! People beg me for these now! Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      I found the dough to be fickle to work with and the cookies floury and bland.<br/>I followed the instructions and found the dough to be sticky. After overnight in the refrigerator, I split it into two batches and rolled it out between parchment papers. It stuck to the paper. I then scrapped it off the paper, tossed it on a lightly floured counter, and lightly kneaded it and the dough became very pliable easy to work with and reroll. <br/><br/>Taste wise, they are slightly sweet and flour tasting, like fine dough biscuits. <br/><br/>To me they are not worth the extra effort just to get a below average tasting cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Perfect sugar cookie. Soft and chewy if you make them on on the thick side and don't over bake. The flavor is fantastic! This will be our go to sugar cookie recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      I don't usually like sugar cookies. Usually they are too sweet and it gives them a sour aftertaste. However, these cookies were wonderful. They have a buttery flavor and are very soft. The frosting is the perfect compliment to the cookie. The DH also loved them and we will defiantly be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 35

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.1
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    35%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 107.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes