383 Reviews

I'm so glad I found this recipe! It's a great recipe for me and my 4-year-old son to bake together! The dough is easy to work with, and the cookies come out delicious, not too sweet, so my son can decorate with icing however he likes:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
treble_clef November 13, 2011

These cookies & the icing are amazing! The dough is great to work with and the icing is sweet, but not overly so. It's the perfect compliment to the cookies. Thank you for finally making my sugar cookie baking "easy" again! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Chelle in PA December 30, 2010

Amazing cookies ... best ever! Will be using this every holiday! Brought a plate to my parents for Christmas Eve dinner ... pretty sure my dad had 4 cookies in one sitting!! Amazing !!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rajah5 December 27, 2010

Another great recipe by Kittencal. These are better than the iced sugar cookies I pay $1 for at my local bakery. I won't by them any more. My kids have eaten almost the whole batch in less than a day. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo December 21, 2010

I made these cookies for a cookie exchange. They loved them! My husband even loved them and he is a picky cookie person. I loved how easy the dough was to roll. Definitely a keeper!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jstdee523 December 16, 2010

Loved the icing. Worked well for gingerbread cookies also.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sarita in Austin Texas December 12, 2010

These turned out great!! I loved the detailed directions =). It looks like professionals made these cookies. I can't wait to show them off tomorrow! The glaze consistency reminds me of circus animal cookies (though these are a lot better). I never knew how to accomplish that texture. They definitely need to fully harden overnight but the recipe is very straightforward. I recommend highly!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicamwilliams61006_12491869 November 13, 2010

The dough held its shape nicely, but they had no flavor!! I had a few people try them and they were tasteless!! I am really dissapointed! I ended up throwing them in the trash.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crystal_ingor October 19, 2009

This was the worst recipe I've ever had the displeasure to work with. If I could give it ZERO stars, I would! I followed the directions to the tee and could not roll it out without turning it into a buttery mess. I tried refrigerating the batter overnight and I still got a mess after 5 minutes of working with it. I tried rolling in in-between wax paper, then with the wax paper floured. I have a silpat rolling pin and it even stuck to that with it floured. This was the WORST!! Never again food network!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
md.kenney October 31, 2014

I didn't think this was special. The taste was ordinary and the cookies puffed enough that I had to outline them with icing so you could see the original topping. Note: The cookies in the photo show green frosting with swirls made by a knife or spatula. The frosting with the recipe is brushed on and it's smooth and shiny.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay v. October 21, 2014
Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens