Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Average Rating:

    358 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 358

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2013

      I was looking for a sugar cookie that tasted like the Lofthouse brand cookie. The photo of AZ Meg looked like Lofthouse, so I thought I would try. As far as the cookie, the dough was easy to work with and didn't spread after baking. I did not think the taste was very good though, kind of bland. The frosting was shiny which I liked, but mine was not thick like AZ Meg's frosting on her cookies. I maybe added too much milk. My frosting ran off the cookie. I would say overall this cookie recipe is so, so. I will keep looking for a Lofthouse sugar cookie recipe. Will not make this cookie recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Amazing!!!!! I will use this recipe every time I make cookies!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      This recipe is the best ever. I've tried a lot of sugar cookie recipes over the years, but have been disappointed in one aspect or another. This dough handles nicely, even when slightly chilled. I rolled it out in my silicone pie-crust bag, and used powdered sugar instead of flour to keep it from sticking. Several reviewers mentioned that the cookies weren't sweet enough, but the small amount added sugar from the powdered sugar gave the dough just a tiny extra bit of sweetness, and a perfect balance of buttery and sweet flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      I made these tonight. Added 1/4 brown sugar to the dough, otherwise no changes. Easy to make, easy to roll, delicious to eat! After you refrigerate the dough, work quickly and don't roll out all of the dough at one time. Do it in quarters and leave what you are not working with in the fridge. The icing is similar to gingerbread house icing. Sets up nicely. This recipe is a keeper and I will use it every year from now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      These cookies are wonderful! The dough rolls out beautifully and is super easy to work with, it's very easy to cook them for the right amount of time without burning them and the almond extract (spring for the real stuff, trust me!) gives the cookies such a great taste. The frosting is fantastic as well; the consistency is easy to work with and since you're painting it on, you have so much control and can add lots of lovely details...plus it has such a beautiful glossy look! Five stars all the way!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Great recipe! Buttery and delicious not too sweet. I used it to make thumbprint cookies (my boys favorite ) and it turned out better than expected.The icing dried beautifully I added a tsp of butter flavor to it and it was delicious. This is the only sugar cookie recipe I will use going forward!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      This is by far a great cookie to make. One batch made 96 2-4 inch Christmas cutouts with very little left over dough. The dough was easy to work with. Flavorful. Not bland, not to sweet. I used all vanilla. It will be my go to recipe for all my cut outs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

    • on December 19, 2013

      Since I have retired, I have done more baking than I used to. This the first time making these cookies since I was a kid helping my mother. They came out great! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      What can I say that hasn't been said already. Delicious!!. Easy to make. The dough is wonderful to work with. It is a beautiful dough. I will always use this recipe. Thanks for sharing such a top-shelf recipe.I have theses many times and I put the icing in squeeze bottles. A different color for each color. I thin out the icing a little more than what the recipe calls for but it does make much easier and faster to decorate. This is really such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      Hi. I'm what I considered a seasoned home cook. But was never able to make a sugar cookie dough that worked. This is by far THE BEST COOKIE DOUGH I've ever worked with in a good 15-20 years!!! Really, try this if you think you don't know how to boil water. It's easy and the flavor.... OOOlaaalaaa!!! <br/>Revision: I decided to tweak these for a change, and added orange zest and a little juice and OMG! Awesome and a half! People beg me for these now! Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      I found the dough to be fickle to work with and the cookies floury and bland.<br/>I followed the instructions and found the dough to be sticky. After overnight in the refrigerator, I split it into two batches and rolled it out between parchment papers. It stuck to the paper. I then scrapped it off the paper, tossed it on a lightly floured counter, and lightly kneaded it and the dough became very pliable easy to work with and reroll. <br/><br/>Taste wise, they are slightly sweet and flour tasting, like fine dough biscuits. <br/><br/>To me they are not worth the extra effort just to get a below average tasting cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Perfect sugar cookie. Soft and chewy if you make them on on the thick side and don't over bake. The flavor is fantastic! This will be our go to sugar cookie recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      I don't usually like sugar cookies. Usually they are too sweet and it gives them a sour aftertaste. However, these cookies were wonderful. They have a buttery flavor and are very soft. The frosting is the perfect compliment to the cookie. The DH also loved them and we will defiantly be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Great sugar cookie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I have had a hard time finding a cut out sugar cookie recipe that I didn't mess up. I finally found one with this recipe. This is definitely going in my recipe box. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      I have made these cookies several times now. They work great with cookie sticks. The frosting allows them to be individually wrapping without the frosting being squished. Everyone has commented on how wonderful they look and taste. I have had numerous request for the recipe.In addition to the dough being easy to work with, they are very quick to make. I made over 100 cookies in about 6 hours. That is cooking, decorating and bagging. (I did make the dough the night before.) My husband was Santa this year and he gave one to each child from Mrs. Santa. For those with lactose problems, I made a batch with Earth Balance vegan "butter" sticks and they came out wonderful. The almond extract is a must for flavor in the cookie. I used only vanilla in the frosting but I added a lot more milk so it gave a thin coating on the cookie. For the lactose free people I used almond milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I usually love kittencals recipes, but unfortunately this one was a flop for me. The ingredients became like bread crumbs when mixing. I tried the recipe twice thinking I had done something wrong. Both times the dough did not turn out. If I try this recipe again, I might try it with less flour; say 2 3/4 cup. In the meantime I made my mom's recipe for sugar cookies. The icing kittencal posted however was really nice. I did have to add more milk and corn syrup to get a paint brush texture. We decorated cookies last night and not only was icing glossy but also hardened onto cookie. They look fantastic. Thanks kittencal. Sorry the cookies didn't turn out but your icing was great. I still love your other recipes!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      The best. I had no almond extract so had to use vanilla for both..still fabulous. The frosting will be our go to sugar cookie frosting. The best consistency ever! We rolled cookies a so they were crunchy but delicious. For the past 20 years we have a family tradition of making Christmas cookies after Thanksgiving dinner...and now this recipe will be part of the tradition..best looking cookies ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      The best cut out cookies ever. The icing is perfect. Have made my wedding favours using this recipe. Thanks for sharing Kittencal - your recipes are so reliable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Buttery Cut-Out Sugar Cookies W/ Icing That Hardens

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 35

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.1
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    35%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 24.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 107.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites